Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.656772

The book club
is about to get
a makeover....


Even if Megan would rather be at the mall, Cassidy is late for hockey practice, Emma's already read every book in existence, and Jess is missing her mother too much to care, the new book club is scheduled to meet every month.

But what begins as a mom-imposed ritual of reading Little Women soon helps four unlikely friends navigate the drama of middle school. From stolen journals, to secret crushes, to a fashion-fiasco first dance, the girls are up to their Wellie boots in drama. They can't help but wonder: What would Jo March do?

Acclaimed author Heather Vogel Frederick will delight daughters of all ages in a novel about the fabulousness of fiction, family, and friendship.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on April 24, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689864124
ISBN-13: 9780689864124
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lulubelle
    lulubelleWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 1:39 pm
    It was really good!
    • hummingbird1
      hummingbird1Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 5:15 pm55 starsFeatured
      Emma Hawthorne, Jessica (Jess) Delaney, Cassidy Sloan, and Megan Wong are four very different girls. When their mothers decide to start a mother daughter book club reading Little Women, none of them is thrilled with the idea. Emma has already read Little Women, Jess's mom is away in New York acting for a TV show, Cassidy would rather be playing Hockey, and Megan wants to be at the mall with her popular friends. As the girls and their moms start reading Little Women, they start to realize how much they have in common and start to become friends and get along, even Megan. In this novel, the four girls learn more about friendship and family. This book is one of my favorite books in the world. After reading this book, I was inspired to read Little Women, which is good. I recommend this book to girls ages 10+.
      • wisedog09Saturday, September 24, 2016 at 12:21 pm
        ok!
        • casgirl
          casgirlSaturday, September 24, 2016 at 9:43 am44 stars
          if you liked the 'Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants' then you'll really like this book . it had sort of the same feel to it.
          • nerdyrkewl
            nerdyrkewlTuesday, November 8, 2016 at 3:29 pm
            ^̮^I LOVED the 'Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants'! Thanks for saying that I think I will read this.(Once I get my hands on a copy anyway...)^̮^
          • bunnyzhang
            bunnyzhangWednesday, September 7, 2016 at 4:20 pm33 stars
            This book is a little boring to me. I know most people might love this book but I don’t really like it, not really my taste. (If you know what I mean.) I probably don’t like it just because I don’t get it too much. The book is about some girls, Megan, Cassidy, Emma and Jess, that are in the Mother-Daughter Book Club. They have different opinions, different friends, and diverse personalities. Some aren’t even friends with each other! (Their mothers are friends though.) Like I said, this book is just not my type.
            • bluehorse3
              bluehorse3Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
              As the sequel to an amazing book, this will not disappoint! Things get a bit rocky when Cassidy's mom decides to start dating again. It doesn't get any better when Becca Chadwick and her mother are invited to join the club! As Megan starts to drift away from Emma, Jess, and Cassidy and Half Moon Farm may be no more, all of the girls need to work together to save the farm! With Anne Shirley as the inspiration for it all! This book was so much fun to read and I can't wait to read the next book. :)
              • tbugsoccer67
                tbugsoccer67Saturday, August 27, 2016 at 1:03 pm44 stars
                Four girls join a book club called the Mother-Daughter Book Club and are nervous. Will it be cool? Weird? Awkward? Read to find out. YAY
                • annabethluna
                  annabethlunaSaturday, August 27, 2016 at 7:19 am44 stars
                  Megan, Cassidy, Emma, and Jess are friends. Their moms start a book club and they have to participate in it. Instead of getting bored the girls actually learn interesting things about middle school.
                  • memoiloveit
                    memoiloveitMonday, August 22, 2016 at 6:14 pm44 stars
                    This book is good because it helps girls become closer to their moms. It reminds me of another good book I've read about 4 people who aren't like each other at all but become friends.
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Tuesday, August 2, 2016 at 5:40 pm44 stars
                      Megan, Cassidy, Jess and Emma are less than thrilled when their mothers start a mother-daughter book club. Meghan would rather be hanging out with her popular friends, Cassidy would rather be playing Hockey, Jess feels awkward with her mother away, and Emma wants to avoid Megan. But even though they started out by being forced to read Little Women, they soon find their book club is where they can escape middle school life but at the same time figure out how to handle the drama. And through all that happens, they can't help but ask: What would Jo March do? This is a wonderful book about friends, family, and navigating middle school. I recommend this book to middle school girls. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.