The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 4)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.228990

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

I hope, for your sake, that you have not chosen to read this book because you are in the mood for a pleasant experience. If this is the case, I advise you to put this book down instantaneously, because of all the books describing the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, The Miserable Mill might be the unhappiest yet. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumber mill, and they find disaster and misfortune lurking behind every log. The pages of this book, I'm sorry to inform you, contain such unpleasantries as a giant pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke where his head should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident resulting in injury, and coupons. I have promised to write down the entire history of these three poor children, but you haven't, so if you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on April 1, 2000 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064407691
ISBN-13: 9780064407694
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nac
    nacMonday, July 6, 2020 at 9:55 am55 stars
    The Baudelaire children are now being sent to their newest guardian, the owner of the Lucky Smells Lumber Mill to live, and apparently, to work. The Baudelaire have to hope that the treacherous Count Olaf has lost their trail. But when he shows up once more the Baudelaires will have to try their very best to reveal him to the mill owner while dealing with a docter who practices hypnotism. Will the Violet, Klaus, and Sunny ever escaper Count Olaf's clutches?
    • ghost_dk_diemx
      ghost_dk_diemxSunday, November 10, 2019 at 8:59 pm55 stars
      (warning This book has many large words) This book honestly makes me ache because when it nears the end one of the very optimistic characters loses a limb. That doesn't mean I don't like this book though. I thought this book was amazing and it's one of my favorites. In this book out of the 13 Klaus, Sunny and Violet are sent to a lumber mill to live there lives and work. But they only get paid in coupons and have to eat gum for breakfast lunch in dinner. They pretty much live off it. But count Olaf is hiding. One of his minions are hidden as one of the top workers there and break Klaus's glasses. Olaf and hypnotist is acting as optometrist and hypnotize Klaus and fix his glasses. So Klaus (since he got hypnotized) turned on one of the machines and accidently got one of the workers Phil (in grim grotto they call him Cookie) to lose a limb. They then escaped and as we all know Mr. Poe brings them to another horrible place for them to live a orphans. (I didn't add to much detail for anyone who as not read this book) Keep reading!
      • lady_ofthe_jury
        lady_ofthe_juryTuesday, August 20, 2019 at 3:45 pm44 stars
        for people wondering, the ar levl of this book is 6.2and is worth 5 points
        • wolfchildren
          wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:06 pm55 stars
          9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
          • hedgeguin2
            hedgeguin2Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:20 am55 stars
            This book is about the Baudelaire orphans who travel to the Lucky Smells Lumbermill to work for their new guardian. The building next door, however, is shaped like Count Olaf’s tattoo of his eye, and the Baudelaire children aren’t feeling safe by it. So when someone trips Klaus and makes him go next door, and he comes back hypnotized, Violet and Sunny are going to stop it. Count Olaf manages to escape, but the Baudelaire children are ready for when he comes back!
            • greenlamb8Saturday, April 27, 2019 at 5:40 am
              I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! I've read most of the books and watched the rest on Netflix. I highly recommend it to ages 7-101. You will really love it. WARNING: this book is sad and some-what depressing
              • bookfan2008
                bookfan2008Sunday, September 8, 2019 at 6:02 am55 stars
                Same! I have read the whole series and watched $4 books on Netflix also!
              • hogwartsexpress
                hogwartsexpressWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 9:20 am44 stars
                I have read the whole series it is pretty good but they do not tell you all the secrets.
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:21 pm55 stars
                  This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
                  • 23unicorncat
                    23unicorncatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:07 am55 stars
                    just read!
                    • gracekae
                      gracekaeTuesday, February 20, 2018 at 6:38 pm
                      I have all the Lemony Snicket books at home, up to #13. I've read them ALL. They're ALL good!