The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 4)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.228990

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

I hope, for your sake, that you have not chosen to read this book because you are in the mood for a pleasant experience. If this is the case, I advise you to put this book down instantaneously, because of all the books describing the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, The Miserable Mill might be the unhappiest yet. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumber mill, and they find disaster and misfortune lurking behind every log. The pages of this book, I'm sorry to inform you, contain such unpleasantries as a giant pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke where his head should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident resulting in injury, and coupons. I have promised to write down the entire history of these three poor children, but you haven't, so if you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on April 1, 2000 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064407691
ISBN-13: 9780064407694
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lady_ofthe_jury
    lady_ofthe_juryTuesday, August 20, 2019 at 3:45 pm44 stars
    for people wondering, the ar levl of this book is 6.2and is worth 5 points
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:06 pm55 stars
      9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
      • hedgeguin2
        hedgeguin2Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:20 am55 stars
        This book is about the Baudelaire orphans who travel to the Lucky Smells Lumbermill to work for their new guardian. The building next door, however, is shaped like Count Olaf’s tattoo of his eye, and the Baudelaire children aren’t feeling safe by it. So when someone trips Klaus and makes him go next door, and he comes back hypnotized, Violet and Sunny are going to stop it. Count Olaf manages to escape, but the Baudelaire children are ready for when he comes back!
        • greenlamb8Saturday, April 27, 2019 at 5:40 am
          I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! I've read most of the books and watched the rest on Netflix. I highly recommend it to ages 7-101. You will really love it. WARNING: this book is sad and some-what depressing
          • bookfan2008
            bookfan2008Sunday, September 8, 2019 at 6:02 am
            Same! I have read the whole series and watched $4 books on Netflix also!
          • hogwartsexpress
            hogwartsexpressWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 9:20 am44 stars
            I have read the whole series it is pretty good but they do not tell you all the secrets.
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:21 pm55 stars
              This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
              • 23unicorncat
                23unicorncatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:07 am55 stars
                just read!
                • gracekae
                  gracekaeTuesday, February 20, 2018 at 6:38 pm
                  I have all the Lemony Snicket books at home, up to #13. I've read them ALL. They're ALL good!
                  • cugitinoma
                    cugitinomaFriday, December 15, 2017 at 7:56 am55 stars
                    This is a great book with hypnosis.
                    • 23pulidoa
                      23pulidoaFriday, December 16, 2016 at 9:59 am55 stars
                      5 stars! awesome series