Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.94103

For generations and generations, the women of Grunhilda’s family have stirred up trouble in a big, black pot. Grunhilda inherits her famous ancestors’ recipes and cauldron, but no one believes in magic anymore. Despite the fact that Grunhilda’s only useful skill is cooking up potfuls of foul brew, she finds a job listing that might suit her: lunch lady. She delights in scaring the kids until she meets Madison, a girl with thick glasses and unfinished homework who doesn’t fit in. The two outsiders recognize each other. Madison needs help at school and at home, but helping people goes against everything Grunhilda’s believes in as a witch! Will this girl be able to thaw the Lunch Witch’s icy heart? Or will Grunhilda turn her back on a kindred spirit?

Paperback, 180 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Papercutz
ISBN-10: 1629911623
ISBN-13: 9781629911625
69 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • loveme14Friday, February 3, 2017 at 7:52 am
    i love it
    • habug
      habugFriday, February 3, 2017 at 7:15 am
      I love this book it is so amazing it gives me chills about my school lunch now. But this other makes great books. I love every book ever maid by this aouther
      • lemonpie101
        lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 3:48 pm55 stars
        im so excited to read this in the future!
        • isared1617
          isared1617Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 7:13 am
          Are witches real or are they not? In the book The Lunch Witch By Deb Lucke, There is a witch- the lunch witch- the protagonist - looking for a job in the newspaper. She found a job as a lunch lady at a school. There's a girl that wears thick glasses and every day she’s late for school and doesn’t get her work done. So the principal said ,“ if you don’t get all your missing work done i’m going to send you back a grade.” So she goes to the lunch lady and asks her to make a potion to make me smart. So the lunch lady makes the potion. One conflict is when the girl took the potion it turned her into a frog. Another conflict is the lunch lady had to make a potion to turn her back to human. The antagonist in the story is the other witches because they don’t want the lunch witch to make potions for the girl. The turning point is at the end when the girl becomes smarter and and gets to move up a grade. I would recommend this book for people who like witchcraft.
          • supersid
            supersidSunday, September 18, 2016 at 9:19 am55 stars
            This sounds like a very interesting book. I predict it will be about a mean lunch lady that hates all of the kids and has no life.
            • grannybob
              grannybobSaturday, September 10, 2016 at 12:47 pm22 stars
              I didn't really like this book because it was really weird. The lunch witch was kind of creepy and so were the pictures. I don't think kids younger than 10 should read it. I think it might scare them and give them nightmares.
              • frahay123
                frahay123Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 3:00 pm55 stars
                This is a very interesting book about a lunch lady who is witch. She turns one of the students in the school to toad. This book is great you should read it.
                • penguin313
                  penguin313Wednesday, August 17, 2016 at 7:21 pm55 stars
                  This is a short, funny comic about an unemployed witch who decides to become a lunch lady. After being blackmailed by a student who knew she was a witch, things go haywire.
                  • penguin313
                    penguin313Wednesday, August 17, 2016 at 7:19 pm55 stars
                    This is a short, funny comic about an unemployed witch who decides to become a lunch lady. After being blackmailed by a student who knew she was a witch, things go haywire.
                    • strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 4:46 pm44 stars
                      I liked this book it was funny i read at least 2 times i think if they did a little better i would give full stars