The Heroes of Olympus, Book One The Lost Hero (new cover)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.5127859
Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god.

Rick Riordan, the best-selling author of the Percy Jackson series, pumps up the action and suspense in The Lost Hero, the first book in The Heroes of Olympus series. Fans of demi-gods, prophesies, and quests will be left breathless--and panting in anticipation for Book Two. The accessible and dramatic cover art by graphic novelist Nilah Magruder will attract a new generation of readers.
Paperback, 592 pages
Published on September 24, 2019 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 136805143X
ISBN-13: 9781368051439
463 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kzoo Sunday, July 12, 2020 at 11:08 am
    i love percy jackson plz make more books about him
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 9:36 am55 stars
      Jason Grace wakes up on a school bus, supposedly headed for a field trip, completely disoriented. He has no memory of Leo Valdez, claiming to be his best friend, or Piper McLean, who appears to be his girlfriend. And when they arrive at the field trip destination, deadly winds and sudden flying powers further confuse Jason's mind. Is this all a dream, after all? But then Annabeth Chase arrives at the scene, wild-eyed and rambling, which confirms that all of this is very real. She drags Jason, Leo, and Piper to the mysterious Camp Half-Blood, where more danger - if that's possible - awaits. Now, the new demigod trio must save Hera and figure out the cause of Jason's loss of memory, but death may be patiently waiting on the other side. This earthshaking first book in the Heroes of Olympus sequel series will bring readers back to the mythical world of Percy Jackson, and leave them vying for more.
      • sue-zhp
        sue-zhpMonday, June 29, 2020 at 11:22 am55 stars
        I really like all the the Rick Riordan books they are really interesting and I never get bored of them
        • undertaleundyne
          undertaleundyneThursday, June 18, 2020 at 3:34 pm55 stars
          I LOVED this book because it had lots of suspense and adventure. I liked how the author made things strange to make the book more better. The part I liked in this book is that when Piper has a fight with the Aphrodite counselor, Drew. And of course, Piper now became the head counselor. Thank you so much Mr. Riordan!
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolMonday, June 15, 2020 at 1:19 pm55 stars
            Jason Grace does not remember anything. He has appeared at a school and apparently his best friend is Leo Valdez and his girlfriend is Piper McLean. However, Coach Hedge is not fooled. He knows Jason has appeared from out of nowhere, and he tells him that he is watching him and two others who are demigods. The bullies turn out to be monsters, and one gets away with Coach Hedge. They get rescued by Butch and Annabeth. Annabeth is frustrated because she was expecting to find her boyfriend, Percy Jackson. They go to Camp Halfblood, where their future awaits them. Overall, I thought this book was a great start to the Heroes of Olympus series. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, or people who like reading about greek mythology. I rate this 5/5.
            • nac
              nacWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 11:00 am55 stars
              In this fast paced adventure by Rick Riordan, three demigods must journey across the globe to fulfill a prophecy and search for the missing Percy Jackson. But will the team be torn apart by enemies? Or will they be able to stop whoever is behind everything? This book was really cool. I like how you read it from three different viewpoints. Rick Riordan did a fantastic job.
              • theodd1sout1
                theodd1sout1Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:16 am55 stars
                Boom jason dosent know who he is and percy dissapears now a trio of demigods must free Hera. all because Hera took Jasons memories. a great book for anyone who likes a good book.
                • fozzybear402
                  fozzybear402Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 9:45 am55 stars
                  I suggest this to antone who likes a good story. Rick is the storyteller of the gods!
                  • kotlcgirl
                    kotlcgirlSunday, May 3, 2020 at 10:00 am55 stars
                    Imagine waking up in a school bus holding hands with a girl and not even knowing who you are, where you are, not remembering anything! That's what happened to Jason Grace. He apparently has a girlfriend named Piper and a best friend called Leo,and attends Wilderness School in Nevada, but the only thing he knows is that he isn't supposed to be here. They then get attacked on a skywalk on the Grand Canyon by venti and their coach,Hedge,gets taken and Annabeth Chase and Butch find them and take them to Camp Half-Blood, learning that they are demigods... This is a great book, action-packed and perfect, definitely read it!
                    • 4usa
                      4usaFriday, May 1, 2020 at 5:34 am55 stars
                      This is the first book in a great series that I hope you'll enjoy like I did! It is about the adventure of Jason, Leo, and Piper! When Percy goes missing his girlfriend goes to look for him and finds the trio instead!