The Heroes of Olympus, Book One The Lost Hero (new cover)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.5127859
Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god.

Rick Riordan, the best-selling author of the Percy Jackson series, pumps up the action and suspense in The Lost Hero, the first book in The Heroes of Olympus series. Fans of demi-gods, prophesies, and quests will be left breathless--and panting in anticipation for Book Two. The accessible and dramatic cover art by graphic novelist Nilah Magruder will attract a new generation of readers.
Paperback, 592 pages
Published on September 24, 2019 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 136805143X
ISBN-13: 9781368051439
477 Book Reviews
  • m0ns3r3n3rgy420
    m0ns3r3n3rgy420Saturday, April 10, 2021 at 6:31 pm55 stars
    The lost hero is an amazing book, the final battle is written out well. Leo, Piper, and Jason are an amazing team
    • aoa123
      aoa123Tuesday, April 6, 2021 at 8:28 am55 stars
      An amazing read!!! Rick Rodrian’s done it again!
      • gecyjilu-161720596035
        gecyjilu-161720596035Wednesday, March 31, 2021 at 9:07 am55 stars
        I love this book because it is full of mystery and excitement. Jason woke up on the bus without any of his memory. Apparently he had a girlfriend named Pipper. He also had a best friend named Leo. Then the coach figured out that Jason spoke Latin instead of Greek. The storm spirit named D the Wolf House. When he got to the Wolf House he found Hera trapped in Dylan showed himself when Jason showed up because he knew that he was a son of Zeus (Jupiter). After destroying two more storm spirits (venti) the coach tells Jason, Leo, and Pipper that they are demigods before Dylan took him away. Then a helicopter took them to camp half-blood. Jason, Leo, and Pipper were chosen to go on a quest to save Hera. While they were on the quest Jason found his sister Thalia and she found out that Hera was being held captive in a tiny cage so Leo cut the cage while Pipper made the ground slow down it’s pace and Jason of course was fighting a giant. If you like the Percy Jackson series you would like this book.
        • penguinpop
          penguinpopMonday, January 11, 2021 at 9:35 am55 stars
          I love Clovis, and I love Leo. But where was PERCYYY. Also percabeth forever.
          • harrypfangirl
            harrypfangirlWednesday, January 6, 2021 at 8:14 am55 stars
            I love this book SO much! I got it for my birthday in December and I have read it three times this month! Rick Riordan is one of my all-time favorite authors!
            • cr4td4l
              cr4td4lTuesday, December 8, 2020 at 12:35 am55 stars
              A really nice book. Jason wakes up on a school bus. He apparently doesn't know who he is. He has a girlfriend named Piper McLean, and his friend is Leo Valdez. He doesn't even know his last name. After an attack by storm spirits named venti, Jason, Piper, and Leo get whisked away to a place named Camp Half-Blood. They meet a girl from the Athena Cabin named Annabeth Chase. She's looking for her boyfriend, Percy Jackson, who vanished mysteriously from the camp. Soon, Piper discovers that her relationship with Jason was actually part of the Mist, meaning it didn't exist at all. Soon they all get claimed. Leo gets claimed by Hephaestus, the Greek god of fire and forges. Piper gets claimed by Aphrodite, goddess of beauty and love. And Jason gets claimed by Zeus, Greek god of lightning. They soon go on a quest to save Hera, Zeus's wife. Okay, I'm not gonna spoil anymore.
              • chloele
                chloeleThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:53 pm55 stars
                awesome!
                • daniellee
                  danielleeWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:20 pm55 stars
                  The best book ever!
                  • soup_can11
                    soup_can11Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at 7:37 am55 stars
                    If you love action, romance, drama, comedy, and or mythology, then this is the book for you! I loved the way that Rick Riordan wrote the plot. Sometimes he wrote it so well so I could tell exactly what was going t happen next, and other times he wrote it so well that I had no idea what was coming next. Anyway, I just want to say that this is a great book, in a great series. #Leo is the best!
                    • crunchyrainbow
                      crunchyrainbowTuesday, September 29, 2020 at 11:04 pm44 stars
                      This book was an amazing continuation to the famous Percy Jackson series! It starts off with a ton of questions, and ends in a huge cliffhanger, leaving us with even more questions than before! Overall, this book was a complete joy to read, and introduces the readers to a complete new set of characters (Of course, Annabeth and a few other older favourites are still there) and takes us on a wonderful journey! I would whole-heartedly recommend this to someone who has read the Percy Jackson series and enjoyed it.