The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141381477
ISBN-13: 9780141381473
1368 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JurrytheHumanThursday, October 10, 2019 at 10:24 am
    This entire series is amazing. I've loved reading it over and over again since I was in the 4th grade. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who wants a great read that'll keep you turning pages until the sun comes up.
    • piggie101
      piggie101Friday, September 27, 2019 at 8:12 am55 stars
      I just finished this book and it was awesome, how it was written and the story telling also the characters were all awesome I would absolutely read it again and try the next book in the series Percy Jackson and the sea of monsters.Also I would put 4 and a half stars but I can't so I just put 5 stars.
      • unicornmasterzWednesday, September 25, 2019 at 6:32 pm
        BEST BOOK IN THE EVERS!!!!!!!!
        • jimnmmmmmmmy
          jimnmmmmmmmyTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 7:06 am55 stars
          read the hole series in 5 days
          • books_forever1
            books_forever1Tuesday, September 17, 2019 at 6:25 am55 stars
            I Love this book me and my class are reading it and other students think it is boring but i LOVE this book.
            • iamfanofbears
              iamfanofbearsSunday, September 15, 2019 at 10:49 am55 stars
              This is a really fun book. Everybody should read it.
              • dory2003
                dory2003Friday, September 13, 2019 at 4:54 pm
                I like the book its going to be a great book
                • straitk2
                  straitk2Monday, September 9, 2019 at 5:58 am55 stars
                  great book. its so awesome. it has treachery, courage, determination, and all out craziness. it has my like! i recommend this book.
                  • thatpersonMonday, September 2, 2019 at 6:33 pm
                    #HAVETOREADITOVERANDOVER!!! This was the best book ever!! Amazing for Harry Potter Lovers!! I just found it in the library at school and I FELL IN LOVE!! I read it OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER (100 more over and overs) AGAIN!! (just being dramatic btw did not actually read it that many times,) AMAZING BOOK!
                    • 13iamgroot
                      13iamgrootSaturday, August 24, 2019 at 1:48 pm55 stars
                      This is an awesome book for fans of Harry Potter, I loved it so much and I couldn't put it down. In this fast-paced novel weird things keep happening to the main character, Percy Jackson , that he can't explain. His best friend Grover and his mom seem to know something he doesn't, so when a monster starts chasing them, Percy can't say that he is surprised. He finds himself at a very unusual summer camp for half-bloods, or demigods. Percy still doesn't know who his long lost father is, but an unusual game of capture the flag will reveal the truth. The chapter titles are hilarious, as well as the whole book. I can't wait to read the rest of the series, and all of the companion series also. I definitely want this book in my collection .