Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.127392

For a full hour, he poured lemonade. The world is a thirsty place, he thought as he nearly emptied his fourth pitcher of the day. And I am the Lemonade King.

Fourth-grader Evan Treski is people-smart. He’s good at talking with people, even grownups. His younger sister, Jessie, on the other hand, is math-smart, but not especially good with people. So when the siblings’ lemonade stand war begins, there really is no telling who will win—or even if their fight will ever end. Brimming with savvy marketing tips for making money at any business, definitions of business terms, charts, diagrams, and even math problems, this fresh, funny, emotionally charged novel subtly explores how arguments can escalate beyond anyone’s intent.

Awards: 2009 Rhode Island Children's Book Award, 2007 New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, North Carolina Children’s Book Award 2011, 2011 Nutmeg Award (Connecticut)

Check out www.lemonadewar.com for more information on The Lemonade War Series, including sequels The Lemonade Crime, The Bell Bandit, and The Candy Smash.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on April 23, 2007 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0618750436
ISBN-13: 9780618750436
419 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inspirationanna
    inspirationannaWednesday, October 9, 2019 at 1:14 pm33 stars
    i really like the book accept alot of arguing. and i did not like the ending.
    • rachorse11
      rachorse11Saturday, September 28, 2019 at 1:45 pm55 stars
      This book is so AMAZING!!!We were reading it in our class, and when we got to the end of it, everybody was so upset!!!
      • 112Friday, September 6, 2019 at 9:34 pm
        I am reading this book in my class and it is such a good book☺
        • shayshaygirl25
          shayshaygirl25Monday, August 12, 2019 at 7:02 am11 star
          I read to page ten then I got bored. I do not usually hate books, !!! It was boring and really bad and I would never want to finish it!!! If you do not hate It , then like or reply to this comment how you feel about this message.
          • birdsong
            birdsongWednesday, July 24, 2019 at 8:51 am55 stars
            Evan Treski and Jessie Treski are having a lemonade war to see who can raise the most money, and whoever raises the most money gets to keep all the money that they raise. Evan is good at talking to people, and Jessie is good at math. Who will win??????????(Not telling!)😁😁😁
            • BobTuesday, July 16, 2019 at 9:11 pm
              It has an amazing ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ premise, but the terrible execution. The plot is a simple battle between siblings, except with educational segments on business. The big ending obviously being, the brother (marketing) and the sister (management) need to work together to succeed. The problem is in the execution. 1. The sister is a Mary Sue. She supposedly can’t talk (advertise) like her brother, as the book repeats it in every paragraph, but whenever she advertises, she does better than her brother! She makes hundreds more than the brother, making me not believe they need each other, but the brother needs the sister so he can take her cash. 2. The brother’s ark is incomplete. The brother is jealous of his sister, because she is perfect in every way, and bullies her. I thought this could be interesting, a kid finding he has something special that no one else has (which would force the sister to need to work with him and solve most of problem 1). This would make him special, teaching children that everyone has something special. There is no conclusion. Obviously it’s supposed to be his amazing people skills, but problem 1 makes this conclusion depressing. The one thing you’re good at is talking, while your sister is extremely shy and is still better than you. Basically, the sister is overly amazing, and the brother is just bad at everything, making the conclusion feel forced. This book has a five star plot, but I can only give it three stars for execution. This author is extremely talented and I believe she had great passion and a lovely story idea, I hope she keep writing and improving her work!!
              • ayanochan3212
                ayanochan3212Sunday, June 30, 2019 at 6:10 am55 stars
                It is truly amazing
                • ayanochan3212
                  ayanochan3212Sunday, June 30, 2019 at 6:09 am55 stars
                  I read all three books because I got all three in one. They are so funny and they take you in and don't let you out until you are done
                  • jini0710
                    jini0710Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 2:43 pm
                    This is the book that I was always mentioning. This book is the first book in the series. You get to know about the economy and how you earn money. If you are interested in earning money by selling lemonade, read this book!
                    • sweetcheese
                      sweetcheeseThursday, June 27, 2019 at 5:49 pm55 stars
                      it was awesome!!I had to read it for both school and a book club.There are a few stupids in their but other than that it's for all ages.