The Lemonade War (The Lemonade War Series)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Lemonade War Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.127392

For a full hour, he poured lemonade. The world is a thirsty place, he thought as he nearly emptied his fourth pitcher of the day. And I am the Lemonade King.

Fourth-grader Evan Treski is people-smart. He’s good at talking with people, even grownups. His younger sister, Jessie, on the other hand, is math-smart, but not especially good with people. So when the siblings’ lemonade stand war begins, there really is no telling who will win—or even if their fight will ever end. Brimming with savvy marketing tips for making money at any business, definitions of business terms, charts, diagrams, and even math problems, this fresh, funny, emotionally charged novel subtly explores how arguments can escalate beyond anyone’s intent.

Awards: 2009 Rhode Island Children's Book Award, 2007 New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, North Carolina Children’s Book Award 2011, 2011 Nutmeg Award (Connecticut)

Check out www.lemonadewar.com for more information on The Lemonade War Series, including sequels The Lemonade Crime, The Bell Bandit, and The Candy Smash.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on April 23, 2007 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0618750436
ISBN-13: 9780618750436
429 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • babyyodafan1
    babyyodafan1Thursday, January 7, 2021 at 5:29 pm55 stars
    This book is like sooooooo funny. I read 2/3 of it today! I would read it again.
    • gemluvssoccer37
      gemluvssoccer37Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:52 pm55 stars
      I've read THIS book. I think I'm going to buy the other ones cause its SO GOOD!🤣
      • loony_lovegood4
        loony_lovegood4Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 10:59 am55 stars
        We read this in class and it is awesome. it describes a relationship between angry siblings and does it in a funny way. i would recommend reading all of Jacueline's books.😀gf
        • unisgirl
          unisgirlTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 4:54 pm55 stars
          I am at least half way through this book and so far I really like it. It has quite a few twists and getting exciting now. This book is making me want to have a lemonade stand!
          • sweet-readlover
            sweet-readloverMonday, July 27, 2020 at 11:05 pm55 stars
            This book is great. It is about how it is important about family more than money. Also, about friendships.
            • the-odd1sout
              the-odd1soutMonday, July 27, 2020 at 9:58 am33 stars
              Neat. I really want to read it. Like alot. I think that it would be cool to read.
              • zojo456
                zojo456Sunday, July 5, 2020 at 7:39 am55 stars
                This book is a fantastic realistic-fiction novel by Jacqueline Davies, about a brother and a sister, named Jessie and Evan, who made a bet of who can make 100 dollars by the fourth of July, and the winner takes all, and the loser gets nothing. I own this book, and i could read it over, and over, and over again.
                • cupcake_kate
                  cupcake_kateThursday, June 11, 2020 at 10:22 am22 stars
                  I thought that this book was an ok book. It was good but it just was not what I really liked to read. My mom chose it so I had to read it. It was an ok book I guess.
                  • sylvie55555
                    sylvie55555Thursday, June 11, 2020 at 5:49 am44 stars
                    Jessica and Evan have always been good siblings. But when Evan finds out that Jessi is going to skip a grade and be in his 5th grade class, he isn't happy. He doesn't want anyone to know that his sister is smarter than him! Plus, Jessi is now hanging out with Megan, who is his friend. His friend! So, when Jessi makes a lemonade stand with Megan after Evan says she can't do it with him, Evan is angry. Now, it's war. Read the book if you want to find out more! Happy Reading!
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 10:26 am55 stars
                      "The Lemonade War" is a fun, fresh, and truly zesty book about two twins competing to sell lemonade. They're polar opposites: Evan is good at talking to people but bad in school, while Jessie is introverted and skipped a grade due to her intelligence. Their differences become so distinct that the two decide to host a lemonade war - the one who earns the most money will win. As a normal competition soon spirals into hostility and deceit, however, the two siblings find themselves completely demoralized. This book is definitely a bop and I'd recommend it for all ages, including YA and young children.