Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.127392

For a full hour, he poured lemonade. The world is a thirsty place, he thought as he nearly emptied his fourth pitcher of the day. And I am the Lemonade King.

Fourth-grader Evan Treski is people-smart. He’s good at talking with people, even grownups. His younger sister, Jessie, on the other hand, is math-smart, but not especially good with people. So when the siblings’ lemonade stand war begins, there really is no telling who will win—or even if their fight will ever end. Brimming with savvy marketing tips for making money at any business, definitions of business terms, charts, diagrams, and even math problems, this fresh, funny, emotionally charged novel subtly explores how arguments can escalate beyond anyone’s intent.

Awards: 2009 Rhode Island Children's Book Award, 2007 New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, North Carolina Children’s Book Award 2011, 2011 Nutmeg Award (Connecticut)

Check out www.lemonadewar.com for more information on The Lemonade War Series, including sequels The Lemonade Crime, The Bell Bandit, and The Candy Smash.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on April 23, 2007 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0618750436
ISBN-13: 9780618750436
413 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ayanochan3212
    ayanochan3212Sunday, June 30, 2019 at 6:10 am55 stars
    It is truly amazing
    • ayanochan3212
      ayanochan3212Sunday, June 30, 2019 at 6:09 am55 stars
      I read all three books because I got all three in one. They are so funny and they take you in and don't let you out until you are done
      • jini0710
        jini0710Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 2:43 pm
        This is the book that I was always mentioning. This book is the first book in the series. You get to know about the economy and how you earn money. If you are interested in earning money by selling lemonade, read this book!
        • sweetcheese
          sweetcheeseThursday, June 27, 2019 at 5:49 pm55 stars
          it was awesome!!I had to read it for both school and a book club.There are a few stupids in their but other than that it's for all ages.
          • AbbySaturday, June 1, 2019 at 11:01 am
            Probably I guess it's fine I'm only in third grade I think it's kind of for lower grade I don't know if I want to read it I think it's kind of for the littler kids I guess you could go to you can Elementary I guess it's fine I don't think central has it I'm kind of like the major kind of bookworm if you put kind of like a book in my face I would take it away and read it that's me I would kind of get this book what kind of given four and a half but I can't read it so what's the point of the book you can't read it you can't read it you can't find it and what's the point think it's kind of going to be a good book probably not be a bookworm kindness if you bring me to Florida I guess because I only been on one family vacation
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprFriday, May 31, 2019 at 1:23 pm44 stars
              So i guess i was late to read this book because i think i was a bit rather old for it. But it was pretty good and really fun to read. I liked how at the beginning of each chapter they had a definition of a word and that how they both had a weakness and a strong part. The ages of the children were not really felt though. They felt much older then their true age. I would recommend it to grades 3-5.
              • selo4
                selo4Friday, May 17, 2019 at 11:10 am55 stars
                This book is freaking great! This is book is about a boy named Evan, he has always been great at being socially active but not with math so much. On the other hand that's the opposite with his sister Jessie. Between them there begins a war about who can make the most money in a week by just selling lemonade. Read and find out who wins :)
                • sweetcheese
                  sweetcheeseFriday, April 19, 2019 at 9:34 am55 stars
                  it was awesome
                  • love;)Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 9:51 am
                    i love this book i just read it in 6th grade its awsome:)))
                    • MomFriday, February 15, 2019 at 4:56 am
                      I haven't read it, but my 3rd grade daughter is reading it now as part of a book club in school. It may be a wonderful book but I am angry that the author felt it necessary in the first chapter to spoil E.B. White's Charlotte's Web for kids everywhere by telling what the ending is. My daughter said the book "flunked (spoiled) Charlotte's Web" for her and I am so disappointed as that classic is one of the best reads of all time.