Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 4 - 10T5.421084
Middle-schooler Greg Heffley nimbly sidesteps his father's attempts to change Greg's wimpy ways until his father threatens to send him to military school.
Hardcover
Published on January 31, 2009 by Amulet Books
223 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • warriorsgirl11
    warriorsgirl11Tuesday, August 4, 2020 at 4:53 pm55 stars
    Let's face it: Greg Heffley will never change his wimpy ways. Somebody just needs to explain that to Greg's father. You see, Frank Heffley actually thinks he can get his son to toughen up, and he enlists Greg in organized sports and other "manly" endeavors. This book cracked me up!
    • ravenclaw12321
      ravenclaw12321Sunday, July 5, 2020 at 9:19 am55 stars
      Frank Heffley, Greg's dad wants Greg to change his wimpy ways. He threatens to send him to boarding school. Frank thinks his son can toughen up especially after seeing his boss' three boys. Greg finally ends up going to boy scouts!
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolFriday, June 5, 2020 at 12:23 pm55 stars
        Greg is on the last straw. His dad is not being easy on him. He keeps trying to toughen Greg up, with multiple strategies however none of these seem to do any change. This book was hilarious, and I really liked the illustrations. I recommend this book to people who enjoy other books in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, or people who enjoy books in the Dork Diaries series. I rate this book 5/5.
        • cherry-blossom
          cherry-blossomTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:48 pm44 stars
          Fitted straight into my library with my complete collection of the DOAWK set, the ones that I've read anyway, and it just makes me want to pick it up and start reading it again and again and again!
          • toodorky
            toodorkyTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 11:38 am44 stars
            I really liked this book because it was funny! Greg will always be wimpy, but his dad doesn't know it. He signed Greg up for manly things that people do. The thing is, Greg is and always will be bad at them. How will he tell his father? Oh, this book was so funny!!!!
            • 4usa
              4usaTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:13 am44 stars
              This is a great book where the humor never ends! The time capsule scene was hilarious and his children's book had me laughing! The wimpy kid books are shorter than the ones that I usually read but I still enjoyed it!
              • ksbenn19
                ksbenn19Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 4:17 pm
                I think this book is a good book because it shows a funny view of life as a kid. The ending was also funny because a bunch of things happened to make Greg embarrassed at the end. I think all kids should read this book.
                • k2kd8
                  k2kd8Friday, June 7, 2019 at 4:07 pm
                  The last straw is really funny and it is a good chapter book to read.
                  • c2004
                    c2004Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 3:46 pm55 stars
                    This book was humorous........Laugh Out Loud.... I recommend this book ( and the whole series) to middle-schoolers... ( of course because Greg, the main character, is a middle-schooler.)
                    • braydenmlm
                      braydenmlmThursday, January 10, 2019 at 12:56 pm
                      It's a really good book for kid's . It's just a fun book for kid's with a good imagination and sense of humor. I really liked this book.