The Kill Order (Maze Runner)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grade 6n/a5.791996

The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series.

Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.
Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next.
Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.
Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on August 14, 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 9780385742887
ISBN-13: 9780385742887
28 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • Mister. DudeFriday, May 19, 2017 at 9:47 am
    This book was horrible. I loved the first 3 but this one was absolute garbage I didn't even finish it.
    • 42mineturtles
      42mineturtlesFriday, February 26, 2016 at 2:42 pm55 stars
      I loved this series. Though I prefer the other 3 books. this one was still amazing though and was really interesting.
      • seanw
        seanwThursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:26 am44 stars
        I think this book is not bad but comparing to the 3 other 3 books I don't think it is as good. I think the story line was not as strong and as interesting as the 3 other book maybe because there is less pages to tell the story. I think the fighting things and the detail in the story is not bad. I think they can make the story better by add more information about the back ground which will make the story line stronger.
        • megank
          megankThursday, February 25, 2016 at 5:25 am55 stars
          Kill Order is the 4th book in the Maze Runner series of what happened 13 years before the Maze and I love it! The story starts with New York City being attacked by solar flares, where Mark, Trina, Alec and Lana form an alliance. Together, along with a little girl named Deedee, they try to figure out what is happening to Earth and whether they can save the day. One of my favourite scenes in this book is when Mark and Trina send Deedee into WCKD headquarters. They also put a small note in her pocket saying that she's immune and asks them to take good use of her, I think it's really touching because it shows that Mark and Trina truly care about her and the world. Overall, this is an amazing book and if you love the Maze Runner Series and want to find out about more, definitely read this!
          • oliverc
            olivercSunday, December 6, 2015 at 11:27 pm55 stars
            This book is about the survivors trying to find a safe place that has no infected people for them to live. “The Flare” is a virus that is spread by sun flares, and it will mess with people’s mind, and make people crazy. The main characters are Mark, Alec, Trina, and Deedee. Alec is a soldier before the Flare, starts killing people. Mark, Trina, and Deedee are the people that live in small towns before the Flare. My favorite character is Alec because he knows how to fight, and he shows bravery when fighting. In contrast, I felt very frustrated when Mark is hiding like a little wimp during a fight. I really like this book because the parts where Mark and Alec are facing their enemies are very intense. Therefore, I will recommend this book to my friends because I want them to read the fighting parts in the story.
            • may_c
              may_cThursday, December 3, 2015 at 11:13 am
              I didn't like this book as much as other 3 books. It was interesting to know the life of Thomas and Teresa before the maze and how they met. This book included a lot of killings which I don't like a lot, even though I like books with some violence and conflict, but reading this book feels like the whole book is just they killing a lot of peoples. But I still like how they introduce the character and explain their background. I can't wait till 2016 for the 2 prequel is out, even though I'm don't like this book that much, but I still want to know more about what they did before they went to the maze. I suggest people who is interested in how Thomas and Teresa met and who they really are before going to the maze to read this book.
              • milkshake378Monday, November 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm
                I CANT WAIT TILL THE MOVIE
                • milkshake378Monday, November 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm
                  This...is...the...best book I have ever read...THANK YOU JAMES DASHER!!!
                  • angelay
                    angelayMonday, October 5, 2015 at 2:20 am33 stars
                    Unfortunately, I didn't really like this prequel to the trilogy which I really loved, but I guess The Kill Order just wasn't for me. I really loved the first two books because they were action packed and made me eager to turn the page for more (I couldn't stop reading), but I disliked the ending of the third book and read the prequel to see if it was better than The Death Cure, but I really don't need a lot of violence in a book. I think this book was just too violent for me, but there were several points that I liked: one, Alec, the old soldier in the book. He was all hero-like and a father figure to the group, and two, the book introduced me to more characters and history of how the Flares broke out. Still, I think the first two books were way better than this one.
                    • crazyreal
                      crazyrealWednesday, September 9, 2015 at 1:52 pm55 stars
                      nice book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ajg14
                      ajg14 wrote:

                      Wow!!! Great review @dictionary ...
                      Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not...

                      princesspower2

                      This book was amazing. From the...
                      The Unwanteds