Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R4.19533
Phil is on a mission. His absentminded little brother forgot his lunch money. All kinds of thoughts are running through Phil's mind as he searches for Jimmy in the throngs of fourth and fifth graders crowding the school hallway:...if I'm late for math today, then I might not be allowed to take the test -- and then I could flunk math! I might even flunk sixth grade and get left back!
Then Phil spots Jimmy's one-of-a-kind jacket and rushes to the corner of the hallway. Except the person wearing it isn't his brother; it's some black kid Phil's never seen before -- wearing Jimmy's jacket! Phil makes an accusation, tempers flare, and both kids wind up in the principal's office.
How will Phil react when he finds out how Daniel came to be the owner of this unique jacket? Will Daniel be able to forgive Phil for an accusation that was based on racial prejudice? What will each boy learn about the other, and most important, about himself?
Paperback
Published on January 1, 2009 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0545152992
ISBN-13: 9780545152990
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • midnight_wolf
    midnight_wolfThursday, September 13, 2018 at 3:03 pm
    I havent read this book so I dont know
    • catslovewaffles
      catslovewafflesThursday, November 30, 2017 at 7:11 am44 stars
      This book is about a 6th grader named Phil who sees a boy wearing his brothers jacket. He trying to figure out the mystery and he thinks it has something to do with his skin color.
      • memoiloveit
        memoiloveitThursday, June 2, 2016 at 2:19 pm44 stars
        this book shows that you can't always blame something on someone else if you don't know what actually happened
        • wilty10
          wilty10Wednesday, February 20, 2013 at 4:29 pm55 stars
          awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • 20jkeating
            20jkeatingMonday, October 1, 2012 at 4:12 pm
            This is a great book, it's not to long and very interesting phil sees another kid wearing his brothers jacket so he thinks he stole his brothers jacket.
            • 20amerheb
              20amerhebMonday, October 1, 2012 at 3:45 pm44 stars
              the book the jacket is about a kid named phil that is in 6th grade.he is always late for classes but if is late 1 last time he will have detention.his little brotherjimmy forgot his lunch money so he hasto give them it . he notices a kid named danny is wearing his brothers jacket. but,how do you know it might be the same !then they both get in a big fight .the story is mostly about a kid that misunderstood and turns to become diferent.i hope you or anyone might like to read it.if you will read it i beat you will like it.
              • 20tmessine
                20tmessineMonday, October 1, 2012 at 12:35 pm
                A kid phil sees another kid wearing his brothers jacket. phil asumes that the kid took the jacket from his brother. Phil soon regreted that asumtion.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                ashton wrote:

                i have read that book and it is ...
                Wonder

                jeff wrote:

                I have unlimited wins
                FoRtNiTe: 100+ Funny Fortnite me...

                WINGS OF FIRE F wrote:

                This is awesome I’ve read this b...
                Wings of Fire Book Three: The Hi...

                Our Apps and Plugins