Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
336 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • demosthenes
    demosthenesFriday, August 18, 2017 at 8:26 am55 stars
    Brilliantly Brian Selznick tells the plot of an interesting boy through his(Brain's) illustrations. This is a thick novel, but don't let that intimidate you! About 80 % of the story is told in pictures. not just any pictures, but beautifully drawn masterpieces! Brain Selznick has an amazing talent in his art and showing the emotion inside of it. this story is about a boy named Hugo who works in a clocktower. he is a theif and a brat but by the end of the story he understands what it means to care for others and be forgiving. WONDERFUL novel that i urge you all to read.
    • georgiasilver
      georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 8:25 pm55 stars
      Very enlightening and entertaining, this bittersweet and illustrative book shows the side of a young boy and his travels. A very memorable and enriching story.
      • cobrazeus10
        cobrazeus10Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 2:40 pm22 stars
        I liked the story a lot, but I thought that it was missing a lot to the story. There were to many pictures as well. It was simple too short and didn't give me time to really enjoy the book.
        • bobelly
          bobellyMonday, August 7, 2017 at 1:46 pm55 stars
          I read it quickly because it had a lot of pictures but I thought it was cool how the pictures helped to tell the story. I thought the illustrations were very good and the story was exciting. I liked how he fixed the machine after it was in the fire in the museum.
          • s_mcmasters
            s_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
            I loved reading The Invention of Hugo Cabret a 12 year old orphan, clock keeper, and thief. He has been keeping the clocks turning in the walls of a busy Paris train station. Hugo depends on secrecy to survive, until he interlocks with a mysterious toy seller and his goddaughter.
            • m_mcmasters
              m_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 10:32 am55 stars
              I loved this fun and adventurous story. Hugo a 12 year old orphan, clock keeper, and thief has been keeping the clocks running in the walls of a busy Paris train station. His survival depends on secrecy, until he interlocks with a mysterious Toy Seller and his Goddaughter.
              • m1lk3y_w4y
                m1lk3y_w4yMonday, July 31, 2017 at 8:54 am55 stars
                An orphan boy, living with his uncle and working inside the walls of train station located in Paris. Hugo Cabret’s job in the station is to maintain the clocks, but that is not his only job. To Hugo, his most important job is to protect the notebook and automan of his late father. Everything in his life is going great until he meets this curious girl and a toy booth owner. When the girl shows Hugo a key that turns on the automan, a mysterious drawing comes out. What will Hugo do? Will Hugo find out new things he has never known before? To find out, you have to read The Invention of Hugo Cabret, which I give 5 stars.
                • lilibelle
                  lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:30 pm44 stars
                  This was a great book about how the art of film and motion pictures had started. The author gives many wonderful illustrations and tell the story as if it were a movie; a truly unique and fun read.
                  • thekid1
                    thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 10:38 am
                    Hugo Cabret, is an 11 year old boy who lives alone in a train station in Paris where he fixes clocks. Before his dad died he invented a robot but died before it was finished. Hugo then secretly steals from a toy booth to get parts to finish his father's unfinished invention. It's a great story with beautiful illustrations. Highly recommend it. The movie is pretty good too.
                    • sadier
                      sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:15 pm55 stars
                      It is a very long book but has an amazing story. I watched the movie first then read the book and loved the book more than the movie. If you can survive reading big books you should really read this book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      Ok so this book was ok so what p...
                      Old School (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      isaiahbird wrote:

                      i love it
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      isaiahbird wrote:

                      i love puppyyyyyyyyyyy
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      demosthenes

                      Not exactly my style of book. BU...
                      The 13-Story Treehouse (The Tree...