Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
339 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • samzl
    samzlWednesday, November 22, 2017 at 8:06 am
    The details of the drawings make it realistic. The way he describes the story makes me feel like watching a movie.
    • sanchita123
      sanchita123Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 12:06 pm11 star
      I did not like this book at all. I started to read it because I had heard good things about it, but it was so boring i struggled to finish it. It was very slow paced and hard to understand. I would not recommend this book to anybody.
      • 30057
        30057Sunday, August 27, 2017 at 7:40 am44 stars
        I want to read this book because it seems really interesting. I watched the movie and it was so good. It was about this boy that is an orphan that lives on a clock tower. The movie is awesome so I am looking forward into reading the book.
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesFriday, August 18, 2017 at 8:26 am55 stars
          Brilliantly Brian Selznick tells the plot of an interesting boy through his(Brain's) illustrations. This is a thick novel, but don't let that intimidate you! About 80 % of the story is told in pictures. not just any pictures, but beautifully drawn masterpieces! Brain Selznick has an amazing talent in his art and showing the emotion inside of it. this story is about a boy named Hugo who works in a clocktower. he is a theif and a brat but by the end of the story he understands what it means to care for others and be forgiving. WONDERFUL novel that i urge you all to read.
          • georgiasilver
            georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 8:25 pm55 stars
            Very enlightening and entertaining, this bittersweet and illustrative book shows the side of a young boy and his travels. A very memorable and enriching story.
            • cobrazeus10
              cobrazeus10Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 2:40 pm22 stars
              I liked the story a lot, but I thought that it was missing a lot to the story. There were to many pictures as well. It was simple too short and didn't give me time to really enjoy the book.
              • bobelly
                bobellyMonday, August 7, 2017 at 1:46 pm55 stars
                I read it quickly because it had a lot of pictures but I thought it was cool how the pictures helped to tell the story. I thought the illustrations were very good and the story was exciting. I liked how he fixed the machine after it was in the fire in the museum.
                • s_mcmasters
                  s_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
                  I loved reading The Invention of Hugo Cabret a 12 year old orphan, clock keeper, and thief. He has been keeping the clocks turning in the walls of a busy Paris train station. Hugo depends on secrecy to survive, until he interlocks with a mysterious toy seller and his goddaughter.
                  • m_mcmasters
                    m_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 10:32 am55 stars
                    I loved this fun and adventurous story. Hugo a 12 year old orphan, clock keeper, and thief has been keeping the clocks running in the walls of a busy Paris train station. His survival depends on secrecy, until he interlocks with a mysterious Toy Seller and his Goddaughter.
                    • m1lk3y_w4y
                      m1lk3y_w4yMonday, July 31, 2017 at 8:54 am55 stars
                      An orphan boy, living with his uncle and working inside the walls of train station located in Paris. Hugo Cabret’s job in the station is to maintain the clocks, but that is not his only job. To Hugo, his most important job is to protect the notebook and automan of his late father. Everything in his life is going great until he meets this curious girl and a toy booth owner. When the girl shows Hugo a key that turns on the automan, a mysterious drawing comes out. What will Hugo do? Will Hugo find out new things he has never known before? To find out, you have to read The Invention of Hugo Cabret, which I give 5 stars.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      orangey2011

                      I have not read this book but i ...
                      Super Mario Adventures

                      evelyn21
                      evelyn21 wrote:

                      You should toatally read it!!!!!...
                      Fallout

                      evelyn21
                      evelyn21 wrote:

                      Super good!!!
                      Fallout