Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.125083
Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
344 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • MalTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:56 pm
    My teacher read this book in grade 2 and I was extremely fascinated. I loved it. I was waiting for the day for me to read it again! I’m going to try and find it in my library! Very good story!
    • wiccanbat666
      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:49 pm55 stars
      There is something awesome feeling about getting through 400 pages of a book on an hour lunch break, and still have time to use the bathroom and punch in three minutes early. So what if the book has lots of illustrations and it's written for children, it's still a real sense of Herculean reading, even if it's not that impressive. I liked this book a lot.
      • wolfiethewolf
        wolfiethewolfWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 7:47 am55 stars
        This is a really great book. It has some of the stories told in words and some of the story told in pictures.
        • cucusuvufypefy
          cucusuvufypefyTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 10:36 am55 stars
          I give The Invention of Hugo Cabret five stars because it was so good! I have read Hugo at least three times and plan to keep reading it over and over again in the future.
          • simemixysebawa
            simemixysebawaMonday, December 18, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
            This book is fantastic.It teaches you about living on your own, and having to fend for your self for survival.I bet you will love this book.
            • samzl
              samzlWednesday, November 22, 2017 at 8:06 am
              The details of the drawings make it realistic. The way he describes the story makes me feel like watching a movie.
              • sanchita123
                sanchita123Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 12:06 pm11 star
                I did not like this book at all. I started to read it because I had heard good things about it, but it was so boring i struggled to finish it. It was very slow paced and hard to understand. I would not recommend this book to anybody.
                • 30057
                  30057Sunday, August 27, 2017 at 7:40 am44 stars
                  I want to read this book because it seems really interesting. I watched the movie and it was so good. It was about this boy that is an orphan that lives on a clock tower. The movie is awesome so I am looking forward into reading the book.
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesFriday, August 18, 2017 at 8:26 am55 stars
                    Brilliantly Brian Selznick tells the plot of an interesting boy through his(Brain's) illustrations. This is a thick novel, but don't let that intimidate you! About 80 % of the story is told in pictures. not just any pictures, but beautifully drawn masterpieces! Brain Selznick has an amazing talent in his art and showing the emotion inside of it. this story is about a boy named Hugo who works in a clocktower. he is a theif and a brat but by the end of the story he understands what it means to care for others and be forgiving. WONDERFUL novel that i urge you all to read.
                    • georgiasilver
                      georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 8:25 pm55 stars
                      Very enlightening and entertaining, this bittersweet and illustrative book shows the side of a young boy and his travels. A very memorable and enriching story.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Ash wrote:

                      Love this whole book series
                      Divergent (Divergent Series)

                      xxmystical_lady

                      this book is so good. j.k. rowl...
                      Who is J.K. Rowling?

                      littttqueen

                      ya it hasn't came out
                      The Terrible Two Go Wild

                      xxmystical_lady

                      the book is so good. it is mayb...
                      What Was the Great Depression?

                      Our Apps and Plugins