Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.125083
Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.
Hardcover, 533 pages
Published on January 30, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407103482
ISBN-13: 9781407105048
343 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:49 pm55 stars
    There is something awesome feeling about getting through 400 pages of a book on an hour lunch break, and still have time to use the bathroom and punch in three minutes early. So what if the book has lots of illustrations and it's written for children, it's still a real sense of Herculean reading, even if it's not that impressive. I liked this book a lot.
    • wolfiethewolf
      wolfiethewolfWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 7:47 am55 stars
      This is a really great book. It has some of the stories told in words and some of the story told in pictures.
      • cucusuvufypefy
        cucusuvufypefyTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 10:36 am55 stars
        I give The Invention of Hugo Cabret five stars because it was so good! I have read Hugo at least three times and plan to keep reading it over and over again in the future.
        • simemixysebawa
          simemixysebawaMonday, December 18, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
          This book is fantastic.It teaches you about living on your own, and having to fend for your self for survival.I bet you will love this book.
          • samzl
            samzlWednesday, November 22, 2017 at 8:06 am
            The details of the drawings make it realistic. The way he describes the story makes me feel like watching a movie.
            • sanchita123
              sanchita123Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 12:06 pm11 star
              I did not like this book at all. I started to read it because I had heard good things about it, but it was so boring i struggled to finish it. It was very slow paced and hard to understand. I would not recommend this book to anybody.
              • 30057
                30057Sunday, August 27, 2017 at 7:40 am44 stars
                I want to read this book because it seems really interesting. I watched the movie and it was so good. It was about this boy that is an orphan that lives on a clock tower. The movie is awesome so I am looking forward into reading the book.
                • demosthenes
                  demosthenesFriday, August 18, 2017 at 8:26 am55 stars
                  Brilliantly Brian Selznick tells the plot of an interesting boy through his(Brain's) illustrations. This is a thick novel, but don't let that intimidate you! About 80 % of the story is told in pictures. not just any pictures, but beautifully drawn masterpieces! Brain Selznick has an amazing talent in his art and showing the emotion inside of it. this story is about a boy named Hugo who works in a clocktower. he is a theif and a brat but by the end of the story he understands what it means to care for others and be forgiving. WONDERFUL novel that i urge you all to read.
                  • georgiasilver
                    georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 8:25 pm55 stars
                    Very enlightening and entertaining, this bittersweet and illustrative book shows the side of a young boy and his travels. A very memorable and enriching story.
                    • cobrazeus10
                      cobrazeus10Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 2:40 pm22 stars
                      I liked the story a lot, but I thought that it was missing a lot to the story. There were to many pictures as well. It was simple too short and didn't give me time to really enjoy the book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ilikebunnies

                      So far this is a good book. i li...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...

                      ilikebunnies

                      This is a good book and I like a...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...

                      Karenpopo wrote:

                      It was really nice book. I crie...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      snicker9
                      snicker9 wrote:

                      Grumbolt is a mismatched stuffed...
                      Toy Academy: Some Assembly Requi...

                      Our Apps and Plugins