Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Kindle Edition, 387 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2400 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aaa57
    aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:19 am55 stars
    Plus you might want to know that I read this book in two days! TWO DAYS! That’s how good it is!
    • aaa57
      aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:18 am55 stars
      This is officially my FAVE series of ALL TIME! Last year I read Wings of Fire and Warriors, these are Waaaaay better! Now I’m reading Percy Jackson and other Riordan books and they are the closest I’ve found on the awesome-o-meter to The Hunger Games! Love the whole series definitely a must read but I would say 7th grade and up.
      • rio91021
        rio91021Monday, August 24, 2020 at 3:23 pm55 stars
        The Hunger Games is one of the best series I have ever read. All of the books in the series have that magical power that makes you not want to put it down. I spent many countless hours getting sucked into the book. The characters are all well made and make you feel like they're just your normal people and the setting of the story is perfectly described. The plot of the story make you bite on to your nails and never stop reading. Katniss Everdeen takes her sister's place for the Hunger Games and has to fight to the death. This series is a must-read for any 11-13 year olds.
        • lilabug
          lilabugSaturday, August 22, 2020 at 6:18 pm55 stars
          i love this book so much! i have read it about 20 times since this year began and love it so much!! I also watched the movie. In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen year old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sisters place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 1:21 pm55 stars
            i really enjoyed this book! the first time i read it, i felt like katniss should end up with gale, but when i reread it this year, i could see that she had chemistry with peeta. they were so good together because they worked together and helped each other.
            • lilabug
              lilabugSaturday, August 22, 2020 at 5:45 pm55 stars
              yeah me too
            • jojo424
              jojo424Sunday, August 9, 2020 at 3:06 pm55 stars
              This is probably my favorite book series/Trilogy of all time! I've read all three books three times and I'm still not tired of it. It continues to satisfy my mind (as in like, when I'm bored I'll read Hunger Games and be set for the rest of the week) endlessly. Now, I am going to say that most people think Hunger Games isn't completely appropriate for younger kids, but I don't agree. You read at your own pace. So if feel ready for Hunger Games, go ahead and read it! Though there are definitely nightmare worthy scenarios, I think it is still something anyone can read if they feel like they can. This book is about a sixteen-year-old girl named Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) and her fight for survival. Every year, as punishment for the thirteen districts who rebelled against the Capitol, the Capitol destroyed the last one (District Thirteen) and forced two kids (girl and boy) from each district from the age 12-18 to participate in a fight to the death game called the Hunger Games. Katniss Everdeen, an illegal hunter of District 12 hunts with her hunting partner Gale Hawthorne (Liam Hemsworth) for food. They work together to keep their family alive and are natural survivors. Now, Katniss's younger sister Prim, it's her first time in the reaping (how they choose who goes in). She has a tiny-insy-bitsy chance of becoming a tribute to the games. When Prim is chosen, Katniss bravely volunteers to take hers sisters spot. To protect her. The two tributes chosen: Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark. Katniss is a born surviver, and she knows that she has a chance of winning (ish). But how 'bout Peeta? As they take together the strategy of lovers, they earn the nickname The Star-Crossed Lovers (Of District 12!!!!) But we all know, only one can survive. Who will win? And what will happen then? That, everyone, is the reason why you have got to read all three books. The first one ends without a cliffhanger, but you still wonder, what happens next? Read The Hunger Games, and when you finish? Read Catching Fire, the second book!
              • powergirl2
                powergirl2Monday, July 27, 2020 at 1:50 am55 stars
                It amazing how much that this book is so great alot I am almost finished with it omg lol I'm loving it so much lol
                • hockey_dude77
                  hockey_dude77Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 4:55 am55 stars
                  This book is about Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark and their adventures in the "Games." This book describes how Peeta and Katniss survive in "The Hunger Games." I loved this book.
                  • bballbookkid
                    bballbookkidTuesday, July 14, 2020 at 12:11 pm55 stars
                    I could not put this book down. My mom was hesitant to let me read this book because of parts of the game. I'm glad she let me read it because it was one of the best books I've ever read. We watched the movie shortly after I finished reading and it was not nearly as good as the book. I can't wait to read the next one to see how the story unfolds.
                    • dolbit07
                      dolbit07Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 10:07 am55 stars
                      This is one of the best books I have ever read. Katniss is a normal girl and her dad died in a coal mine. This has very highly complicated thinking skills and the beginning of this book to the end will make you not stop to look away from the book. I rate this a five star...