The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2102 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • JohnyTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 12:54 pm
    Hope you read this book May the odds ever be in your favour
    • IEM MPATuesday, February 21, 2017 at 8:47 am
      hate peeta he's too nice like katniss's attitude though.
      • gaiTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:02 am
        i looove this book
        • cheetaracer5000
          cheetaracer5000Monday, February 20, 2017 at 7:15 pm55 stars
          STAY CALM AND READ THIS OP AWSOME BOOK.
          • cheetaracer5000
            cheetaracer5000Monday, February 20, 2017 at 7:11 pm55 stars
            NOTE:READ NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • cheetaracer5000
              cheetaracer5000Monday, February 20, 2017 at 7:03 pm55 stars
              I think it was the best book ever (my opinoin) I could not stop reading this book but of course you don't get to read for long at school. It is violent but very entertaining. When I finished it I felt great it is very long and cool. I recommend to 8-2000000000000000000000000 ages. Just read it. Note: it may be boring at first but then it's awesome!
              • ntrocksFriday, February 17, 2017 at 5:22 pm
                I LOVED this book and the whole story! The Hunger Games is about a 16/17 year old girl who is forced to fight for her life. It is kind of like the Olympics, but instead of winning medals, you survive! Everyone who saw this post, take the advice, READ IT!!!
                • funkyfish2696
                  funkyfish2696Friday, February 17, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
                  The Hunger games inspierd me when i was 7 in a minecraft video .the hunger games also inspierd me to make a youtube chanel. i love the hunger games expeshily the book. i wish i could be in the hunger games.
                  • jesaannsomdahl
                    jesaannsomdahlTuesday, February 14, 2017 at 9:04 am
                    The hunger games is a good so far
                    • lollipoplily
                      lollipoplilyThursday, February 9, 2017 at 2:59 pm55 starsFeatured
                      The Hunger Games is an amazing book about this terrible place where children from the age 12/18 are forced to sign up for a drawing. There are districts, Katniss lives in District 12. She lives with her mom and her sister Prim and are very poor. To survive Katniss must hunt illegally for her family to stay alive. When the day came one boy and one girl from each district to play the Hunger Games. Both Katniss and Prim are in the drawing. Katniss hoping she doesn't get drawn, gets surprised when her sister Prim gets drawn. Without thinking Katniss volunteers for her sister. Then a boy gets drawn. His name is Peeta. Now Katniss and Peeta go on a train to the Capitol where the arena is. There is food, showers, clean cloths. But the day they get interviewed Peeta says he has a crush on her. Now everybody believes their in love. What is she going to do now? The day of the Hunger Games came. The Hunger Games is a place where 24 people fight to the death. Starving and getting sick. Its the Capitols way for entertainment. Katniss is pretty good with a bow and arrows, and a knife. But she has never killed anybody. She either wins or dies. The rules change has the game goes along. Strange and bad things happen. How will it turn out? If you like Gregory the Overlander then you will likes the Hunger Games Series.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      joe wrote:

                      i really love the feel and the ...
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      it was veryyyyyyyyyyy cool
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      i really like it
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      wobblepenguin12

                      i dont think its for grades 9-12...
                      Boy in the Striped Pyjamas