Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2184 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • israelz19999999Friday, October 20, 2017 at 11:21 am
    sade but funny
    • lazanovedo
      lazanovedoFriday, October 20, 2017 at 7:58 am
      I really like this book. The main character, Katniss is very creative and smart. Sometimes I would get annoyed at her because she was a very slow thinker and very moody and sad. I really liked this book because all the action and story in the arena is great! If you like realistic fiction and action this book/series is for you.
      • annabel
        annabelMonday, October 16, 2017 at 5:01 pm55 stars
        I read the triology in like, only one week!
        • annabel
          annabelMonday, October 16, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
          I love these books. And because it was such a big movie event before I read them, I knew the looks of all the actors and actresses which made it super easy to visualize! I LOVE CATNIP, AND YOU WILL TOO!
          • penz
            penzMonday, October 16, 2017 at 2:04 pm55 stars
            I read it , I thought that I could never stop. when I was finished with it I went right in to the second one. I did not like it as much but I still liked it. I also watched all the movies they where as good as the books in my opinion.
            • kittylover8786
              kittylover8786Monday, September 25, 2017 at 1:17 pm55 stars
              I loved this book when I read it I emediatly fell in love with it I would recomend it to anybody who loves adventure
              • roonies
                rooniesSaturday, September 23, 2017 at 9:06 am55 stars
                I read this book because my brother bought it a few years ago and I wanted to find out what the craze was about. I absolutely love this book. It deserves 7 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • book-4-life
                  book-4-lifeFriday, September 15, 2017 at 11:56 am55 stars
                  I do not recommend reading if you get sick easily there is lots of blood and fights and sad stuff R.I.P Rue
                  • haylee_potter
                    haylee_potterThursday, September 14, 2017 at 11:32 am55 stars
                    Great Book :D Amazing Story about a young woman being put in the hunger games, Love the book and the movie :D
                    • chy2004Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 3:27 pm
                      i love this book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Lilly wrote:

                      I love the books by Raina telini...
                      Smile

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book is my favorite book! T...
                      Wonder

                      mirsoftball8

                      Another great book in the 'Diary...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      callie_b
                      callie_b wrote:

                      11-year-old Morrigan Crow has al...
                      Nevermoor: The Trials of Morriga...