Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2445 Book Reviews
  • mockingjay1
    mockingjay1Sunday, March 28, 2021 at 2:43 pm55 stars
    This book is amazing! The story is so fast and entertaining. If you like Harry Potter, you will love this book! I highly recommend it. you won't stop turning the pages! I love the characters and all the storyline. Suzzane Collins is a genius and so clever to write such an amazing story that is loved throughout the world! Please read!
    • mockingjay11
      mockingjay11Monday, March 22, 2021 at 2:27 pm55 stars
      While this book is very gruesome and the subject is dark, the story and characters are amazing and the book is hard to put down. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Harry Potter or Wingfeather Saga. Also, the way Collins writes makes you want to read more and when you say one more chapter, you will end up on chapter 20 when you were on 3. Trust me! Please read!
      • polochicken
        polochickenThursday, March 18, 2021 at 1:57 pm55 stars
        Oh my word, where do I start! This is the best book in the world! I starting to stop reading books that are past my age group. And this was the second series I chose. I honestly love how in the second book, her "Wedding Dress" turns into a Mockingjay.
        • wolfsong7254
          wolfsong7254Tuesday, March 2, 2021 at 12:13 pm55 stars
          The book was awesome, very descriptive and the plot made sense. I found it very interesting and would like tor read more about Katniss and her life.
          • yc428498
            yc428498Monday, February 22, 2021 at 3:37 pm55 stars
            One of the best dystopian books I have read. Ever. You gotta try it. :)
            • dream_beyond
              dream_beyondSunday, February 21, 2021 at 7:07 am55 stars
              This is a really good book!
              • mercury_dust
                mercury_dustFriday, February 19, 2021 at 3:01 pm55 stars
                I totally recommend this to anyone in 6th grade or up, l have read it multiple times and it's still just as interesting. if you like action packed books with a lot of adventure, l really suggest reading it.
                • catnip_everdeen
                  catnip_everdeenTuesday, February 16, 2021 at 11:39 am55 stars
                  I love Hunger Games, the books can be very, er, scary, depressing and graphic, it is very good.
                  • go_pottah_1980
                    go_pottah_1980Tuesday, February 16, 2021 at 11:27 am55 stars
                    I love this book!!
                    • Mia Tuesday, February 9, 2021 at 2:52 pm
                      i really like it its scary for some parts but its a really good book like- Im in love with it im still trying to finish the series but yea i love it!