The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2127 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • llamaThursday, April 27, 2017 at 5:18 pm
    Favorite book series!!!
    • wuollet
      wuolletFriday, April 21, 2017 at 9:35 am55 stars
      I loved this book so much, it had action and was filled with mysterious things. I could not stop reading, the suspense was real.
      • gasmonkey1234
        gasmonkey1234Monday, April 17, 2017 at 9:42 am
        this is the best book ever
        • katnissforever4Monday, April 17, 2017 at 8:47 am
          Iloveit
          • katniss4ever
            katniss4everMonday, April 17, 2017 at 8:39 am55 stars
            fun read everybody from 5th to 8th will love
            • graciecakes
              graciecakesWednesday, April 12, 2017 at 3:08 pm55 stars
              Its AMAZING!!!!!
              • jadeisawesome
                jadeisawesomeWednesday, April 12, 2017 at 9:30 am55 stars
                This is so good because of Peeta and Katniss!
                • jadeisawesomeWednesday, April 12, 2017 at 9:27 am
                  I loved this so much. I ship Peeta and Katniss so hard!!!!! KATNISS AND PEETA FOREVER
                  • sam123d
                    sam123dWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 7:08 pm55 stars
                    This is my absolute favourite book of all time. It is a great story of a teenage girl who practically sacrifices her life for her little sister. It has so much depth and there are so many descriptive words. It is quite violent but it is also very sad and emotional. My absolute favourite book of all time.
                    • bananaman1003
                      bananaman1003Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 8:36 am
                      I WILL WIN THE HUNGERGAMES!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      panda13 wrote:

                      looks awesome o: I want the book...
                      Dragon Captives (The Unwanteds Q...

                      llama wrote:

                      Favorite book series!!!
                      The Hunger Games (The Hunger Gam...

                      TACOS!!! wrote:

                      i'm a tomboy and i want to read...
                      Love Bomb

                      puppylove29

                      I love this book. It is about M...
                      The Misadventures of Max Crumbly...