Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2270 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Fiona Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 8:36 pm
    I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!!!!! This is my favorite book out of the series.
    • Reader/reviewerWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 2:36 pm
      Is this book appropriate for forth graders?
      • gabriana77
        gabriana77Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 8:01 pm55 stars
        I don't think this book is okay for fourth graders. My little sister is in fourth grade, and i wouldn't dare let her read it! she would get very scared and i'm afraid she wouldn't really understand it.
      • pdogwar1821
        pdogwar1821Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:09 am55 stars
        this is the best movie ever this a the kind of book kids need to read and adults
        • gabriana77
          gabriana77Monday, December 3, 2018 at 9:11 pm55 stars
          Can't stop reading!!!!!!!!! Best book ever! I recommend this book for kids 12 and older, there is a lot of violence. Yet it is still a good book and will give you a better understanding of the movies.
          • reader_reviews Monday, December 3, 2018 at 4:48 pm
            Can't put this book down! Love it so much! Each chapter ends with a cliffhanger so it's impossible to not read it in a week! Can't stop thinking about it. And the movies only make it better!
            • FortniteCool193Monday, December 3, 2018 at 12:22 pm
              I love the movie but this is way better im not going to give it full rating because I like the mocking jay better but yeah I reccomed this to people who like triolgy and stuff and action but yeah its good
              • OliviaThursday, November 29, 2018 at 5:45 pm
                i loved this book soooooooooo much i'm obsessed i read all three in one week i would give this book one million out of 5
                • readingrainbowThursday, November 29, 2018 at 12:19 pm
                  Love love love, this book everything about it, couldn't put it down! So interesting and full of action and adventure. I recommend this book for 12 and over only as it can be violent, scary, and maybe a little hard to understand for younger kids. Suzanne Collins is a brilliant writer and for sure my favorite! I_Make_Reviews, yes there is a Maze Runner series and I know you will love the book just as good as the movie!
                  • I_Make_ReviewsWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 11:37 am
                    This book is one of my favorites so far in my reading life. These kind of books are just amazing because of the descriptive words and how my mind races at times when the main character is a risk. Before i found out about this series, i was in love with harry potter, but this is hunger games so i'll stop with the harry potter, and the first book blew my mind all the way to china. It was so amazing, i could not put down these books. I love these books and if possible make a maze runner series. if there is one, plz tell me i LOVED the movie. - By I_Make_Reviews
                    • Gale HawthorneWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 10:26 am
                      It is the best book EVER! If you read Divergent, The Maze Runner, or Slated, you will LOVE it! But, I do have to admit, the book may not be appropriate for kids under 12.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                      12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                      12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                      percyj
                      percyj wrote:

                      Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      One of my favorite books. I coul...
                      The Other Side of Dark

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins