The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2111 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • greekgeek14
    greekgeek14Thursday, March 16, 2017 at 5:03 pm55 stars
    I Love The Hunger Games!!!! I used to pretend to be Katniss. For some strange reason I want the Hunger Games to be real.
    • Stolldyl000Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at 10:06 am
      I like it because it is a great book
      • ladyirene
        ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 4:33 pm55 stars
        5 stars <3 it
        • ladyirene
          ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:05 pm55 stars
          I read this book because I well watched the movies and thought why not read them right? So I fell in TOTAL love of the series and Ugh i love it<3
          • poxif
            poxifWednesday, March 8, 2017 at 2:11 pm55 stars
            This book is great, and my agility would help me survive. i would so volunteer for the games. Katniss is brave,
            • sara123
              sara123Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at 9:03 am
              This is my favorite trilogy and my favorite book in the trilogy.
              • babe Ruth Tuesday, March 7, 2017 at 6:27 am
                This is a good book 📚 that I had a good time reading and the second and third books are good to
                • duckie2085
                  duckie2085Friday, March 3, 2017 at 4:02 pm
                  This book is really interesting and I can see why so many people like it
                  • JohnyTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 12:54 pm
                    Hope you read this book May the odds ever be in your favour
                    • IEM MPATuesday, February 21, 2017 at 8:47 am
                      hate peeta he's too nice like katniss's attitude though.
                      • greekgeek14
                        greekgeek14Thursday, March 16, 2017 at 5:05 pm55 stars
                        CAN feel you there, WAY TO NICE!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...