Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2344 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • starkk_22
    starkk_22Friday, January 10, 2020 at 8:25 am55 stars
    This book is set in the future where the world is taken over by the capitol. Each year the hold something called the Hunger Games. When Katniss Everdeen's sister gets called up she takes her place. This book was so good my favorite of the three.
    • meowzle
      meowzleMonday, December 30, 2019 at 11:24 pm55 stars
      I love this book! its a thriller and kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole time! Absolutley AMAZING!
      • lalah2
        lalah2Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 5:53 pm55 stars
        I didn't like these books. I loved them. I was captivated by every word and could not look up from the book, even to get out of the car...LOL! I hope everyone is able to read these books and fall into this story. I never wanted the story to end.
        • tulegabu-157615959653
          tulegabu-157615959653Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:57 am55 stars
          I really liked this book. The attention to detail was great, and I recommend it for anyone who is into this type of genre, or anyone really.
          • genos
            genosSunday, December 8, 2019 at 11:25 am55 stars
            This series is a great series about a made up world with 12 districts and is controlled by the capitol, you read as Katniss and her friends try to overcome the capitol, or die trying.....
            • ticktok2
              ticktok2Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 8:48 am55 stars
              its a good seires because it made me feel grown up.(not that i arnt.
              • martinmcfly
                martinmcflySunday, October 27, 2019 at 3:32 pm55 stars
                The book is about a teenage girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in District 12 in a fictionary world. She struggles for her survival in dystopia. Every year, as a penalizing for the failed rebelion by District 13, the 12 districts are forced to pay tributes to the merciless Capitol regime.
                • 27norqmuh
                  27norqmuhTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 11:55 am55 stars
                  This book is really good.
                  • elle_0724
                    elle_0724Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:12 am55 stars
                    This book is really good! I love how strong and fierce Katniss is, and I love that she loves her sister so much, that she volunteered for her! I love how it tells you exactly how Katniss survived and what she had to do. This is one of my favorite book series ever and I would definitely recommend it! That is why this book is so amazing!
                    • proudgryffindor
                      proudgryffindorWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 6:52 pm55 stars
                      I love this book soooooo much 10/10 would recomend