The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2091 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • poxif
    poxifWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 1:57 pm55 stars
    I am currently reading Catching fire on my kindle, but the first book is crazy. I have not seen any of the movies yet, but this book cannot be missed. If you rate this book below 3, something is wrong with you.
    • boonie
      boonieMonday, November 28, 2016 at 1:36 pm55 stars
      I've saw the first two movies. When I was done watching it I thought about reading the books. So I did and I will say I loved them. I recommend these mainly if you love romance and action
      • dabbingmcgoinks
        dabbingmcgoinksTuesday, November 8, 2016 at 5:07 pm
        Dude this book is the best!!!
        • pigs
          pigsTuesday, November 1, 2016 at 12:14 pm44 stars
          I read it because my mmom was reading the series
          • thatcrazygirl
            thatcrazygirlThursday, October 20, 2016 at 8:24 am
            I love this book so much I'm in 6th grade and read it so good it shows how america is going down this road.
            • thatcrazygirl
              thatcrazygirlThursday, October 20, 2016 at 8:23 am
              I love this book so much
              • EnsignAdanoWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 6:32 pm
                In a futuristic North America lies Panem, a nation comprising of twelve districts surrounding the Capitol. After a failed rebellion by the districts, the harsh, draconian Capitol keeps the districts in line by annually sending one boy and one girl, between the ages of twelve and eighteen, to the Hunger Games, a televised fight to the death. Winning means fame, fortune, and benefits your entire district. Losing, inevitably, means death. Katniss Everdeen, a sixteen-year-old girl from District Twelve, lives alone with her mother and twelve-year-old sister Primrose, and must use her excellent hunting skills (given to her by her father, who died in a mine accident five years ago) to find food in order to survive. On reaping day, when the twenty-four tributes from each district are collected, her sister Prim is chosen, most likely facing death – and Katniss, due to her devotion for her sister, volunteers to take her place. Along with Peeta Mallark, the male tribute from her district with which she has something of a history and a romantic relationship that may be more than staged, Katniss must put her survival skills to the test as she faces 23 other tributes from different districts, witness people’s death at the hands of others, and constantly fight to keep her own life and that of the ones she loves. “The Hunger Games,” the first in a trilogy by Suzanne Collins, is a PHENOMENAL dystopian novel, and one of the very best books that I have ever read. It is an unforgettable, extraordinary novel that I will never forget reading and am sure to re-read many times. Although I would not recommend it to younger readers, because of the bloody and violent nature of the book – I was kept from reading it for a long time – I would DEFINITELY recommend it to any young adult or adult, both girls and boys, who love dystopia or are simply looking for an unforgettable read.
                • strangerthings9
                  strangerthings9Monday, October 17, 2016 at 2:24 pm55 stars
                  even though it is like the movie i fell the charters fell different. Don't get me wrong the movie was good but i really like the book more.The movies are a lot more violent then the books.I loved this book an whoever was watched the movie should read the book.
                  • lilmouselemur
                    lilmouselemurMonday, October 17, 2016 at 1:39 pm33 stars
                    It was DEFINITELY VIOLENT, DEFINITELY SCARY, AND DEFINITLY NOT A BOOK FOR THE 5TH GRADER I WAS WHEN I First READ THIS. Nevertheless, not a bad read. I can't say it wasn't violent, but I guess You should know this is NOT a children's book. Definitely has a clear and well described setting (s) but the characters were a bit unclear at times. I rate this 3.5 Beware THIS IS NOT A KID BOOK. That's it, the rest would spoil!
                    • ZeBookNerdsThursday, October 13, 2016 at 5:30 pm
                      I love this book and the series :P

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callaway2005

                      Wild River by: P.J. Peterson. In...
                      Wild River

                      s916532
                      s916532 wrote:

                      I love Descendants,but I only sa...
                      Descendants: Junior Novel

                      emmam14
                      emmam14 wrote:

                      Boost is an amazing book about a...
                      Boost

                      heyhey432 wrote:

                      i love this book it's freakin aw...
                      Freakling