Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2244 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ginevraweasley
    ginevraweasleyFriday, August 3, 2018 at 2:34 pm55 starsFeatured
    Katniss Everdeen of District 12, lives with her mother and her younger sister, Primrose (Prim for short). Every year there is the annual Hunger Games, a game that is broadcasting live on the TV. The Hunger Games has spilled a lot of blood in its history. Prim gets chosen to participate in The Hunger Games, but 16 year old Katniss decides to take 12 year old Prim’s place in The Hunger Games and succeeds in doing so. Then Katniss has to learn how to survive and sometimes kill. Towards the end, Katniss fights in The Hunger Games alongside with Peeta Mellark (Also of District 12). Do they survive? Do they win The Hunger Games? The Hunger Games is such an outstanding book! It’s so fun to feel as if you are with the characters! Suzzane Collins does such an amazing job with describing the characters and slipping your feet in the their shoes! Katniss Everdeen is so brave, resilient, and resourceful! I highly recommend this book if you want a taste of adventure and suspense. At the end of Catching Fire (the second book) there is such a crazy cliffhanger!! And then you move on to Mockingjay (the third and final book)and you can’t put it down!!!!!!!!
    • toriburn
      toriburnTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 11:07 am55 stars
      OMG!!! i couldn't put it down! i totally bing-read the whole series! best book ever
      • katniss122
        katniss122Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 3:42 pm55 starsFeatured
        I throughly enjoyed this book! Once you get into you can't put it down! The story takes place in the nation of Panem which lies on what used to be known as North America. The story begins with a 16 year old girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in the poorest part of Panem known as District 12 where there is a constant struggle to survive. Katniss works hard to keep her widowed mother and young sister Prim afloat. Then the unthinkable happens. Every year a girl and boy tribute from each disrtict are chosen to be in the "Hunger Games" and every year only one person comes out of the arena alive and it is all on Live TV. This year 16 year old Katniss and 12 year old Prim are both eligable to compete. When young Prim is called to be the female tribute of district 12 Katniss immedietly steps up in place of her sister who she could not bear seeing die. Know Katniss must face the brutal games with only a slim chance of survival and she must make chocies about life, love and survivial. This fast paced hard to put down novel is amazing and I highly suggest it to any teen who is looking for a great read.
        • firell
          firellMonday, July 9, 2018 at 4:52 am55 stars
          No wonder people call it "A classic"!!! It's an awesome book! It's a bit scary though. The main character is Katniss Everdeen. The cool thing about this book is that it is placed in the future. In the book they say that the land they live in was once North America but there was a huge war that destroyed a lot of the continent. Then the victors of the war ( or the Capitol) divided the land into 13 districts. District 13 got destroyed by the Capitol because they where protesting against this so they got blown up. Because the Capitol wanted the continent Panem to be peaceful, they decided to punish each of the districts for the war by forcing each district to send one boy and girl to fight against the 22 other tributes. Until one remained. They called it the Hunger Games. If you like sci fi books and adventure books you would like it.
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 11:49 am44 stars
            I mean it when I say this book deserves recognition, and honestly, I'd rather people were reading this and following a heroine as independent as Katniss, rather than a simp like Bella or Bethany. The Hunger Games is high-quality YA, intelligently written, and despite its flaws it's worthy of success.
            • camkayekitten
              camkayekittenFriday, June 22, 2018 at 11:23 am55 stars
              I got this book at a thrift store, because I was bored. Once I started to read however, I could not put it down and finished it on the Saturday I got it! I think it's wonderful Katniss Everdeen loved her sister prim so much she sacrificed her life for her! I have always loved dystopian, and would most defiantly recommend!
              • olliebob
                olliebobFriday, June 15, 2018 at 9:01 pm55 stars
                The Hunger Games is an interestingly written book about a dystopian nation called Panem, built where North America used to lie. I finished this book in two days, because I had so much trouble putting it down! I couldn't help but stay up past midnight devouring this book. In Panem, there are 12 districts surrounding The Capitol. There used to be 13, until an uprising. Well, The Capitol couldn't have that, could they? So they defeated District 13 and all that was left was the smoldering remains. To remind the districts just how powerful they are, they created the Hunger Games. Two kids between the ages of 12 and 18, a boy and a girl, from each district, is chosen to compete in the Games. This year, it's Primrose Everdeen. Katniss jumps to save her sweet little sister and puts herself in Prim's place. She is deposited into the Games along with a boy named Peeta. For reasons a bit difficult to explain, They're only chance to survive is to pretend to be in love. They know they can both live because the rules have been changed this year. There can be two winners, if they are from the same district. Finally, they are the only two left, when the rules are suddenly changed again. There must only be one survivor. In a last ditch effort, Katniss and Peeta attemp suicide together, leaving no victor. They are both allowed to live because of this. Because the defied the government, they are now targets. Katniss still pretends to be in love with Peeta. The only problem is, Peeta doesn't have to pretend. Katniss isn't even sure she's pretending either. This first installment in The Hunger Games series is thrilling, action-packed, and interesting. I would reccommend it to ages 14 and up, but that may be because my family is very careful about making sure things are age-appropriate. I might even go 13+, but you get the idea. It's not for little kids! Suzanne Collins, bravo! It's a great book I would definitely recommend!
                • icequeen1121
                  icequeen1121Wednesday, June 6, 2018 at 9:23 am55 stars
                  its one of the best books i've ever read. but, a lot of people are not allowed to read it for the violence. like my sister for example. one day she asked what it was and i gave her the stupidest anwer ever. that a bunch of hungry people go and play games for food. so when you talk abou this book you should really be careful who you talk to about it
                  • hockey102
                    hockey102Tuesday, May 29, 2018 at 12:29 pm55 stars
                    This book is one of the most interesting books i've ever read
                    • snibborj
                      snibborjFriday, May 25, 2018 at 11:42 pm55 stars
                      This book is so good that you cant put it down without finishing it first. The bond between katniss and her sister is so strong that she risks her life in the hunger games for her. The actual games are so intense to read and keeps you on edge. You just want katniss to survive the games. So thrilling and emotional!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ilikebunnies

                      So far this is a good book. i li...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...

                      ilikebunnies

                      This is a good book and I like a...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...

                      Karenpopo wrote:

                      It was really nice book. I crie...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      snicker9
                      snicker9 wrote:

                      Grumbolt is a mismatched stuffed...
                      Toy Academy: Some Assembly Requi...

                      Our Apps and Plugins