Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2197 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • dheb2
    dheb2Wednesday, December 13, 2017 at 8:16 am44 stars
    the book was very, very good, but i liked the movie much better, but the other two books that had movies weren't so good.
    • littywittykitty
      littywittykittyThursday, December 7, 2017 at 1:20 pm55 stars
      It is a great but remember if u love this book and you want to watch the movie that the movie is a lot more grafic if you remember the page of when she was taken full forse of the tracker jacker poison and she went to get the bow and arrows off of glimmers body she had to grab her rib cage, that will look really ba on screen recamed watch 14yrs-Up
      • malakai103
        malakai103Monday, November 27, 2017 at 2:23 pm55 stars
        This book is about a girl named Katniss Everdeen, who lives in the poor District 12. Struggling to keep her family fed and alive, she hunts daily. The Annual Reaping returns to District 12, and those who are chosen will proceed onto the Hunger Games. Katniss's younger sister, Primrose, is chosen. Katniss blindly takes her sister's place, knowing she will probably be killed. Her only chance of survival is to fight- but not before a training session with Haymitch Abernathy, a crazy drunkard. Will she survive the brutal Hunger Games?
        • spagheaddy
          spagheaddyMonday, November 20, 2017 at 6:41 am44 stars
          I really liked this book, mostly because of the characters and the story line. The bravery in Katniss and her story keeps you at the edge of your seat and begging for more.
          • hogwarts65
            hogwarts65Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
            aaa i love hunger games
            • smartguy123
              smartguy123Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 2:11 pm55 stars
              Going to read this and going to be awesome! I love survival games.
              • malakai103
                malakai103Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:13 pm55 stars
                Check out the Dragon King Series. If you like the Hunger Games, you will probably really like this one.
              • malakai103
                malakai103Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                This was the best book series i have ever read in my life! And that's saying something, cuz I read a lot. Katniss is the best!!!
                • s42
                  s42Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 1:37 pm44 stars
                  I quite like this book. I enjoyed it. This book is about a distopian society in which children are sent to kill each other in an arena. The main character is Katniss, and is sent to the Hunger Games after volunteering in the place of her sister. I recommend this book for people who love action and drama, as well as strong emotion in the books.
                  • katniss_12
                    katniss_12Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 5:44 pm55 stars
                    BEST BOOK EVER!!! Look at my name if you don’t believe me! I’m totally obsessed with this book series!!! I even call my friends names from the hunger games characters!! LIKE THIS IF LOVE THIS BOOK!!πŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸ˜›πŸΉπŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›
                    • malakai103
                      malakai103Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:02 pm55 stars
                      I know, right? It's AMAZING. I am pretty much obsessed.
                    • penz
                      penzThursday, November 2, 2017 at 3:54 pm44 stars
                      I am in the middle of the second one and can not wait to start the third one. my favorite one is the first one it has so much detail but not to much. They are my favorite books/series even better then Nancy Drew, Harry Potter, and the Lord of the Rings and the hobbit.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      orangey2011

                      I have not read this book but i ...
                      Super Mario Adventures

                      evelyn21
                      evelyn21 wrote:

                      You should toatally read it!!!!!...
                      Fallout

                      evelyn21
                      evelyn21 wrote:

                      Super good!!!
                      Fallout