Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Hardcover, 10 pages
ISBN-10: 0001361287
ISBN-13: 9780001361287
146 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • amkilic
    amkilicFriday, July 12, 2019 at 11:09 am
    I decided to read this book because my teacher recommended it to me and told me it was the best book she ever read.
    • granger4life
      granger4lifeThursday, June 13, 2019 at 2:34 pm55 stars
      i loved this book
      • eowyn
        eowynThursday, June 6, 2019 at 11:09 am55 stars
        I love it !!!!! after you are done try lord of the rings.A little harder to read.
        • freewayjada5
          freewayjada5Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:07 am22 stars
          my mom read this book when she was a kid so I decided to read it. it's about a 50-year-old hobbit called Bilbo Baggins one day Gandolf the wizzard scratched a sign Bilbo's door and the next day a swarm of bearded gnomes comes to his house one at a time. if you want to know why then read the book.
          • #potterheadMonday, March 4, 2019 at 2:54 pm
            I love the Ranger’s Apprentice series too, but my fav series of all time is definitely Harry Potter. This book was good, but I thought it was a little too detailed and confusing for me.
            • #potterheadMonday, March 4, 2019 at 2:51 pm
              I know that everyone says that anyone who likes Harry Potter will like the hobbit, but I am a huge Harry Potter fan, and this was not one of my favorite books. A little to detailed and time consuming for me.
              • JKNJB4Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 9:40 am
                It's a story about a hobbit and dwarfs and a wizard. They go over the mountain and through the woods to get gold and treasures back from a dragon. They face many dangers such as goblins, orcs, giant spiders, trolls, and a dragon. If you like the Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings you should read this one. It was a great book. My favorite part was the giant spiders! I liked the adventures and the creatures!🐦All the characters are so fun to follow in the book! It is a great reading circle group book!! A mix of adventure and fun!
                • JKNJB4Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 9:22 am
                  This book was awesome! Some places confusing. We loved the spiders and adventures! Overall it was AMAZING and THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • cap5000
                    cap5000Monday, January 14, 2019 at 5:27 pm55 stars
                    love all the lord of the ring and hobbit
                    • blox_watch
                      blox_watchSunday, December 23, 2018 at 6:14 am44 stars
                      l will now read the trilogy The Lord of the rings. It was a good book!