Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Hardcover, 10 pages
ISBN-10: 0001361287
ISBN-13: 9780001361287
149 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hiya kidozzzzTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 10:23 am
    soz meant to put "its a great book"would recommend it
    • buddydepug
      buddydepugSunday, November 24, 2019 at 2:47 pm55 stars
      This is definitely one of my favorites. I say you should totally read it.
      • bookwave
        bookwaveWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 5:46 am55 stars
        This is a great book I just picked up and read. I really like the adventure, the thrills, the intrigue, and the poems. It has a lot of poems and songs in it. I really liked and I would read again.
        • amkilic
          amkilicFriday, July 12, 2019 at 11:09 am
          I decided to read this book because my teacher recommended it to me and told me it was the best book she ever read.
          • granger4life
            granger4lifeThursday, June 13, 2019 at 2:34 pm55 stars
            i loved this book
            • eowyn
              eowynThursday, June 6, 2019 at 11:09 am55 stars
              I love it !!!!! after you are done try lord of the rings.A little harder to read.
              • freewayjada5
                freewayjada5Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:07 am22 stars
                my mom read this book when she was a kid so I decided to read it. it's about a 50-year-old hobbit called Bilbo Baggins one day Gandolf the wizzard scratched a sign Bilbo's door and the next day a swarm of bearded gnomes comes to his house one at a time. if you want to know why then read the book.
                • #potterheadMonday, March 4, 2019 at 2:54 pm
                  I love the Ranger’s Apprentice series too, but my fav series of all time is definitely Harry Potter. This book was good, but I thought it was a little too detailed and confusing for me.
                  • #potterheadMonday, March 4, 2019 at 2:51 pm
                    I know that everyone says that anyone who likes Harry Potter will like the hobbit, but I am a huge Harry Potter fan, and this was not one of my favorite books. A little to detailed and time consuming for me.
                    • JKNJB4Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 9:40 am
                      It's a story about a hobbit and dwarfs and a wizard. They go over the mountain and through the woods to get gold and treasures back from a dragon. They face many dangers such as goblins, orcs, giant spiders, trolls, and a dragon. If you like the Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings you should read this one. It was a great book. My favorite part was the giant spiders! I liked the adventures and the creatures!🐦All the characters are so fun to follow in the book! It is a great reading circle group book!! A mix of adventure and fun!