Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Hardcover, 10 pages
ISBN-10: 0001361287
ISBN-13: 9780001361287
155 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Poppy dog Thursday, July 23, 2020 at 11:45 am
    The hobbit is a really cool story
    • glitcher075
      glitcher075Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 2:54 pm55 stars
      THIS IS AN INCREDIBLE BOOK! it's even better than Harry Potter!
      • Anickin SkywalkTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 6:18 pm
        How old do you have to be to read the hobbit I am on the 4th Harry Potter book.
        • maddie720
          maddie720Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 12:31 pm55 stars
          I am on the 5th harry potter book and I am reading the hobbit and I am ten so yeah ten is an appropriate age.
          • glitcher075
            glitcher075Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 2:53 pm55 stars
            I would think ten years old?
          • roxanne3
            roxanne3Friday, May 8, 2020 at 11:31 am22 stars
            I am reading this book for my class, and it is definitely not my favorite, but I think a big part of that is because we are reading 1 chapter per week, and I usually read much faster than that so it is hard to keep track of the story. So far, it is pretty exciting, with Bilbo and his friends sneaking into the great dragon Smaug's lair to steal some treasure. I hope that in the end, they all turn out OK and find Gandalf!!!
            • hiya kidozzzzTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 10:23 am
              soz meant to put "its a great book"would recommend it
              • buddydepug
                buddydepugSunday, November 24, 2019 at 2:47 pm55 stars
                This is definitely one of my favorites. I say you should totally read it.
                • bookwave
                  bookwaveWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 5:46 am55 stars
                  This is a great book I just picked up and read. I really like the adventure, the thrills, the intrigue, and the poems. It has a lot of poems and songs in it. I really liked and I would read again.
                  • amkilic
                    amkilicFriday, July 12, 2019 at 11:09 am
                    I decided to read this book because my teacher recommended it to me and told me it was the best book she ever read.
                    • granger4life
                      granger4lifeThursday, June 13, 2019 at 2:34 pm55 stars
                      i loved this book
                      • eowyn
                        eowynThursday, June 6, 2019 at 11:09 am55 stars
                        I love it !!!!! after you are done try lord of the rings.A little harder to read.