Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W4.079585
Elizabeth has a new job at an unusual library—a lending library of objects, not books. In a secret room in the basement lies the Grimm Collection. That’s where the librarians lock away powerful items straight out of the Brothers Grimm fairy tales: seven-league boots, a table that produces a feast at the blink of an eye, Snow White’s stepmother’s sinister mirror that talks in riddles.

When the magical objects start to disappear, Elizabeth embarks on a dangerous quest to catch the thief before she can be accused of the crime—or captured by the thief.

Polly Shulman has created a contemporary fantasy with a fascinating setting and premise, starring an ordinary girl whose after-school job is far from ordinary—and leads to a world of excitement, romance and magical intrigue.

Watch a Video

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 8, 2010 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399250964
ISBN-13: 9780399250965
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dopeMonday, March 20, 2017 at 7:36 am
    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOOOOOOOD i got it and gave to my sister
    • Nicole6Tuesday, July 12, 2016 at 1:09 pm
      This book was really good and very interesting. I absolutely loved the connection to all of the fairy tales. If you like fantasy you will love this book and the rest of the series.
      • percy_jackson10
        percy_jackson10Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 2:30 pm55 stars
        I think that the book was sometimes mysterious and others you knew what was going to happen next. It was not a big shocker at the end of the book but had an interesting ending.
        • s55020
          s55020Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 12:52 pm
          Grimm Legacy is a very good book, I recommend this book to fantasy readers like my little brother and mom love fantasy. I recommend this because sometimes I really research about something and it happens to actually show up in my life. For example the lewis and clark trail when we got to the part of the book we were reading where sacagawea showed up. Then that night I went home and found my older brothers sacagawea coin and brought it to school the next day.
          • kakey98
            kakey98Sunday, December 28, 2014 at 8:41 am
            Grimm Legacy is one of the best books that I have ever read. The first time I read it I was in eight grade, so maybe you have to be a little older to appreciate it.
            • historygirl
              historygirlThursday, October 23, 2014 at 4:09 pm33 stars
              From I have read so far it is a really good book but I feel really bad for the girl in the book
              • emmabookworm5
                emmabookworm5Saturday, October 18, 2014 at 11:22 am33 stars
                I though that this book was kind of boring. It was okay, but I'm also not a big fan of fantasy like this.
                • csheen
                  csheenWednesday, June 4, 2014 at 5:04 pm
                  Love it!
                  • so whatSaturday, November 30, 2013 at 9:40 am
                    love this book soooooooo much!!! :P
                    • currenteventv
                      currenteventvSunday, October 20, 2013 at 8:46 am55 stars
                      read it 3 times! Love 2 read, read this book!