Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.839497
Meet Daisy Bauer and her sometimes best friend, Graham, who are determined to break Daisy's dad out of prison in this hilarious middle-grade debut.
No one believes her, but Daisy Bauer knows her dad has been wrongfully imprisoned and that it's up to her to break him out of jail (aka Club Fed). She has a plan that she's calling the Graham Cracker Plot because it was all Graham's idea. She just needs a miniature horse, a getaway truck, and a penny from 1919—the idea coin.

This funny, nail-biter of a novel is about friendship and admitting you're wrong. Debut novelist Shelley Tougas balances humor and warmth against themes of family, broken trust, and unconditional love against all odds.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Roaring Brook Press
ISBN-10: 1596439882
ISBN-13: 9781596439887
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • readingdiva
    readingdivaThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:32 am55 stars
    i loved this book, it is about a girl named Daisy and her friend,Graham(who everyone calls graham cracker) and they run away to break Daisy's dad out of prison. it's a grate book and i totally recommend it.
    • rae1607
      rae1607Friday, May 18, 2018 at 7:54 am44 stars
      I really enjoyed it and it was about a girl named Daisy who tried to break her father out of prison, she is not alone in this, she has her friend Graham, his mom's cousin Ashley, and a friendly pup fred.
      • chickennoodles4Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:36 am
        where does she live?? im really confused
        • blazingtiger24
          blazingtiger24Tuesday, December 8, 2015 at 3:46 pm33 stars
          Well, I think that The Graham Cracker Plot has Big - Time adventure, and I also think that it's pretty sarcastic, weird, and funny. Additionally, I think that their "plot" is kind of cool. But overall, I think that The Graham Cracker Plot is a book anyone could enjoy reading (even grownups)!
          • penguin313
            penguin313Sunday, January 11, 2015 at 8:32 am55 stars
            I won this book from IDOGO. In a bunch of letters, a girl named Daisy describes what happens when she and her friend Graham go on a quest to break her dad out of prison.
            • candyexpress
              candyexpressTuesday, November 25, 2014 at 1:34 pm55 stars
              I love it! The plot has plenty of twists and turns! With the touch of a great sense of humor,it makes a wonderful book.
              • greenlanturn21
                greenlanturn21Monday, September 22, 2014 at 10:29 amFeatured
                This book was great.I loved how they made it where her parents were never really married.The way they made Graham a kid who beleves in magic.The way he used the idea coin was crazy.I liked how it was Graham's idea coin's fault and not her own mind.It was great the way the author made it to where she wasn't with her mom when she came up with the idea.I will not spoil the end because it was a great book and I recommend it.
                • jjbee1979
                  jjbee1979Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 4:00 pm
                  I liked this book because it was funny and they went on a fun adventure. I thought that Graham was crazy and that the idea coin was really weird. If you like adventure books you should read this one.
                  • avaniyapalFriday, September 19, 2014 at 3:46 pm
                    its a very,very,very great book
                    • ttThursday, September 18, 2014 at 11:37 am
                      good book