Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 1, 2001 by HarperCollins UK
ISBN-10: 0007111827
ISBN-13: 9780007111824
275 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sillylily
    sillylilyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
    This book was a really cool book! Jonas was the only person in his city to see color, He was also the only person who wanted to find the secrets that the city keeps from everyone. Read the book to find out what he finds, and who helps him along the way!
    • im-riddikulus
      im-riddikulusTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 12:12 pm55 stars
      This book is so good! I suggest it to grades 4th and up. Ages 11 and up. This book is really sweet and it teaches you to stand up for what you believe in. :)
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderFriday, June 7, 2019 at 7:46 am55 stars
        This is a really interesting book. It is about a town of people in the future who have taken away any diversity, and everything in the community is planned and organized, from jobs to homes to food. No one has pain, and no one has any defects. They are a society that is perfect and remembers nothing of the past. But there is one person, the Giver. He remembers all the past. Rainbows, elephants, snow. Sledding. He is the one, the keeper of all the memories these people have chosen to let go of for the sake of feeling no pain. But one must keep these memories alive, and it's someone else's turn. Jonas is chosen to be the Giver-in-training. The Giver trains Jonas. He shares these raw and real memories of a past everyone has forgotten, memories of pain, like war, or happiness, like soft grass. Jonas slowly takes on the pain of each new memory, feeling each sunburn and gun shot physically. And with each new memory Jonas receives, the Giver loses them. This story is heavy and happy and forlorn and endearing. I would highly recommend it.
        • applebutter
          applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:37 am44 stars
          This is a awesome book! It leave you wondering what is going to happen next. It is a science fiction book and is written really well. This book is really good and I would read it again
          • applebutter
            applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:34 am44 stars
            This is a really good book. it is written to leave you wonder what is going to happen next. It is a science fiction book and is one of my favorites. i personally am not really into science fiction books but this one is really good. I would suggest this book to anyone over 10 because it is a little harsh in some spots but is a reall thriller
            • piggie101
              piggie101Monday, April 29, 2019 at 10:31 am33 stars
              Imagine you were in a utopia and it was perfect but you have no freedom and choices and you didn't know this is this book it is hard to describe without spoiling it.3 stars
              • PolarisWednesday, April 24, 2019 at 7:20 am
                Really addicting has you holding on to the last line.
                • lms
                  lmsMonday, February 25, 2019 at 2:08 pm44 starsFeatured
                  This book was sad for me even though I really liked it. I'm not the first person who you would see cry, which I didn't, but still it was heart breaking. This book shows what people would go through it they lived the perfect and most unmistakable life. There is always going to be a problem or a mistake in the building of this life. There are going to be rules and no one can break them or they... well its a surprise. I love the realistic touch to this book. Lois Lowery really finds a hero trying to fix the conflict. I like how the ending is something I never even thought of in the beginning of this book. This builds off of friendship and courage. Being different in this book would be strange and dangerous, in these years on earth for me I've learned that different is what makes me unique.
                  • HappyTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:32 pm
                    It is the best 💯
                    • heavytoothpaste
                      heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:43 pm55 stars
                      This book is a very good book.