Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 1, 2001 by HarperCollins UK
ISBN-10: 0007111827
ISBN-13: 9780007111824
302 Book Reviews
  • waterdroplet
    waterdropletSaturday, July 17, 2021 at 11:41 am44 stars
    So Jonas is a boy who lives in a town with no colors and no music. It is the same thing everyday. Then the day that all of the eleven year olds get their jobs. During that ceremony they skip over him which means that he will be killed. At the end they come forward and say that he will become the new Giver. They are in charge of keeping all of the memories including the ones of pain and suffering. His father then decides that he has to kill a baby because it cries at night. So he runs away. Does he make it to his destination? I recommend this book for kids 10+ because that age group will probably understand better.
    • rebeccafrosting
      rebeccafrostingMonday, July 5, 2021 at 8:39 pm44 stars
      Jonas, the receiver -of-memory, has 4 things that a Receiver needs. The Giver has a terrible memory about the last receiver. Jonas goes on a journey to a place where everyone could get memories. However, It s hard to go…
      • animereina2021
        animereina2021Sunday, July 4, 2021 at 6:32 pm55 stars
        The Giver is unlike any book I have ever read before. A boy named Jonas starts discovering the dark side of his world as he becomes assigned with an important task. I would recommend this to adolescents only because it might be a little inappropriate for younger readers.
        • volleyballgirl8
          volleyballgirl8Monday, May 3, 2021 at 1:51 pm55 stars
          The Giver is such a great book! the story is so vivid and you cannot put the book down once you start it. The characters are so great and the emotion the author pours into the book is so imaginative! Please read!
          • bsc
            bscWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 5:09 pm55 stars
            Where Jonas lives, color is gone from the world and the world has a specific line up of how things run. When you turn 9, you get your first bicycle. When you turn 10, you get an adult hairstyle. When you turn 11, you get new clothes. When you turn 12, you get your purpose for life: your job. Some are birthers, some care for the newborns, some help the elder, and so on. But Jonas gets a very special job. He gets to be the next Giver. The old giver is training Jonas- how to act, what to do and such. The Giver is also giving Jonas memories and feelings. Feelings like sledding or getting hurt, Jonas feels that his eyes have been opened for the first time. Setting out to fix the past, Jonas will make you cry and smile. The Giver is a wonderful new look at life and everyone should read it. Happy reading!
            • eviejobs764
              eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 4:35 pm11 star
              When I was in fifth grade my teacher decided that we will read the giver. We read the first four chapters and when we were done my teacher told us to put the giver on our desk. We did and she collected them. I ask why she took the books from us and she said the book is inappropriate. It has violence and mentions blood and innocent people like babies getting killed because their different. It talks about bodies too. I don't think this book is good for kids.
              • thesleepywriter
                thesleepywriterTuesday, March 23, 2021 at 3:12 pm55 stars
                have you ever been lied to? how did you feel? angry? scared? stunned? well a 12 year old boy felt all three, his name is jonas. jonas is a big deal around his commuity. he was choosen, bit that doesn't allways mean good. join jonas and find out what his commuity had hidden from him.f
                • mockingjay11
                  mockingjay11Tuesday, March 23, 2021 at 2:25 pm55 stars
                  I love the Giver! The book is sad and touching and really helps you understand how good things can come out of horrible places. The characters are amazing as well and the story is clear and easy too follow! Please read!
                  • wanmeideta
                    wanmeidetaSunday, January 10, 2021 at 5:37 pm55 stars
                    BEFORE I START: SPOILER ALERT ok, I honestly LOVE this book, it is so cool, i have never came across a book that talks about the utopian world, it really teaches us a good amount of information about this type of world. i did a bit of reaserch about the utopian world, aparently there are different types of utopian worlds. this book doesn't really have a villan or a hero because it ends on a cliff hanger :( but if you've seen the movie, then you can say the movie did a REALLY good job of taking the information from the book and making it into a 1hour 32min movie. Being honest though i like the movie a bit better than the book. In the book the setting is a "old" "town" if you can call it a town. but in the movie the setting is on a HUGE island in the sky-ish thing. so in conclution this book is awsome and you should read it.... WAIT let me say that last sentence again. THE GIVER IS A GREAT BOOK AND YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!!
                    • chromatic1
                      chromatic1Monday, January 4, 2021 at 5:45 pm55 stars
                      Very interesting a whole new perspective