The Girl from Felony Bay (Felony Bay Mysteries)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 5 - 10n/an/an/a

The last year has been rougher than sandpaper for Abbey Force and her dad. He’s in a coma after his accident a year back, wherein he was framed for a terrible crime he didn’t commit. And their home, Reward Plantation, an idyllic spot on the eastern coast of South Carolina, had to be sold to pay off his debt to society. Abbey is stuck living with her uncle Charlie, who, even in the few hours a day when he’s sober, ain’t exactly your ideal parental role model.

But it turns out the new family that moved into Abbey’s old house has a daughter named Bee. And she’s just as curious about all the No Trespassing signs and holes being dug out by Felony Bay, in the corner of what used to be Abbey’s home. It appears someone’s been poking around a mystery that dates all the way back to the Civil War—and it just might be the same someone who framed Abbey’s dad.

Fresh, funny, and heartwarming, Girl from Felony Bay is the perfect book for fans of Rebecca Stead’s Liar & Spy and Sheila Turnage’s Three Times Lucky.

Paperback, 400 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Walden Pond Press
ISBN-10: 0062104470
ISBN-13: 9780062104472
2 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AliceTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 12:50 pm
    really good book
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolSunday, April 2, 2017 at 11:13 am55 starsFeatured
      ''The last year has been rougher than sandpaper for Abbey Force and her dad.''- Abbey usually enjoyed summer vacation. On the last day of school, she was exactly like the other kids. Talking excitedly like the other kids. But she wasn't excited at all. Not after what happened to her dad. He was accused of a crime he didn't commit. They say he stole expensive jewelry. He was lying on the floor, and some of it was in his house. Now, he's in the hospital in a coma. He's been sleeping for 9 months. They had to sell the Reward plantation to pay the debt. And Abbey's pony. Now Abbey lives with Aunt Ruth and Uncle Charlie. She doesn't like either of them. A typical day would be chores, avoiding Uncle Charlie, and being called ''Squib'' by Uncle Charlie. She was walking past Reward when she spotted her pony. The new girl living there caught her, and she apologized. But her name was Bee Force. They had the same last name. It turns out she's just as curious as Abbey about all the ''No Trespassing'' signs on the land Bee's dad bought. So they become best friends. But why had they put those signs on the land Bee's dad bought? And why were they digging holes? This book is so descriptive and emotional! The author really put effort into it, and I would definitely rate it 5/5. I recommend it to mystery lovers.