The False Prince (The Ascendance Series, Book 1)

Book 1 of 4 in the The Ascendance Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.176938
In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner's motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword's point -- he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage's rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner's sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on April 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545284139
ISBN-13: 9780545284134
76 Book Reviews
  • m0ns3r3n3rgy420
    m0ns3r3n3rgy420Saturday, April 10, 2021 at 6:36 pm55 stars
    It makes you want to continue reading it, its not to fast or too slow. The plot twist towards the end makes you go like WHAT very well worded too. I like how Sage/Jaron has a sharp tounge, Tobias is definetly my favourite character
    • mara_love
      mara_loveWednesday, January 27, 2021 at 6:18 am55 stars
      If this is one of your favorite books you should definitely follow me and I will always follow you back and if I don't you can just go ahead and unfollow me.
      • menaz_ace
        menaz_aceTuesday, January 26, 2021 at 12:32 pm55 stars
        This is my favorite book series by my favorite author I recommend it to everyone
        • blackking
          blackkingWednesday, December 16, 2020 at 8:44 am55 stars
          This is a really really really good book! It is so adventurous and very very awesome! I hope everyone reads this amazing book.
          • doreengreen
            doreengreenMonday, November 16, 2020 at 3:37 pm
            I've heard really good things about this series. The main character sounds super exciting and I think it's so cool that the main character gets attacked by pirates. Looking forward to reading this!
            • Moon BeamMonday, November 16, 2020 at 3:34 pm
              I love this book! It has so much content and it's fit in to the book in such a satisfying way! Some books are really kinda boring but this one pulls you in right away and doesn't let you out until your done! And even then it leaves an imprint so that you remember it always! It is defiantly a five star book!
              • noiwantthecandy
                noiwantthecandyFriday, November 6, 2020 at 5:27 am55 stars
                I love the plot twist at the end, and at first they made it sound normal. then they gave an explanation. I love the characters (not Conner though.), the settings, the characters, the book, the characters, oh and did I mention the CHARACTERS?
                • 96
                  96Friday, September 25, 2020 at 9:54 am44 stars
                  This book got me to keep reading even when i didnt wanna! The book has so much detail about how the 3 boys who got selected, Its really fun and it has good plots and Grammar. I give it a 4 because I havent been able to find a 2nd part and its what i really want but the book itself is great!
                  • noiwantthecandy
                    noiwantthecandyFriday, November 6, 2020 at 5:28 am55 stars
                    The 2nd part is called the runaway king. I haven't read it yet but it MUST be good.
                  • nac
                    nacWednesday, June 17, 2020 at 11:30 am55 stars
                    Three orphan boys are selected to secretly be trained to be an imposter for the prince of a kingdom that is falling apart. One of those boys, Sage, is focused on survival, not training- until he realizes that if he does not become the false prince- he dies. This book was full of action and adventure, and it kept me turning the pages as secrets and alliances were revealed. Five stars for this book!
                    • pandarule6
                      pandarule6Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 7:26 pm55 stars
                      Favorite book of all time!