The False Prince (The Ascendance Trilogy, Book 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the Ascendance Trilogy Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.176938
In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner's motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword's point -- he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage's rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner's sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on April 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545284139
ISBN-13: 9780545284134
64 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • reader_red
    reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 8:24 am44 stars
    Sage is an orphan that was is recruited by Conner, a nobleman of the court. In order to survive Sage must work hard to try to be picked to be the long-lost prince. But Sage has a mysterious past.
    • queen_luna
      queen_lunaTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:25 pm55 stars
      I loved this book sooo much! It is an incredible story with so much adventure and mystery. The ending will leave you breathless and wanting more.
      • reader_red
        reader_redFriday, May 25, 2018 at 3:46 pm44 stars
        This was really fun. I really liked the whole series but I had one problem with the first book. I got really upset when the sort of bad guy cruelly killed someone. Other than that this book was great!
        • tia9
          tia9Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
          This is one great book!Sage is a orphan living in an orphanage when Bevin Conner a noble takes him from the orphanage and he is forced to change his way of living and live in a world of lies.A story with twists and turns as you meet new characters and deaths.A relationship here and a fight here.If you like a book full of suspense,suprise,and wonders.If you like Percy Jackson I reccomend this book for you!
          • SCARLET Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 3:23 pm
            LOLOL
            • scarletnews101
              scarletnews101Monday, November 13, 2017 at 5:37 pm
              So far, one person got killed (sorry for the spoiler) and the main character has a really clever mind. Quit like myself (If I do say so)
              • brain2145
                brain2145Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 6:41 pm44 stars
                This was a great book on the whole. Sage is an orphan who fled from Avenia, the neighbouring country next to Carthya. He lives in an orphanage, the only reason he's allowed to stay that he thieves to give to the headmistress. But suddenly his life flips upside down as a rich noble, Bevin Conner takes him away for unknown reasons that he will soon find out. A story that leaves you puzzled a bit with the uncertain friendships and *cough*other*cough*stuff but altogether satisfied at the end.
                • babybunny02
                  babybunny02Saturday, July 9, 2016 at 6:24 pm
                  This is one of my favorite back time-ish books, I can't get enough! I'm amazed that someone would come up with the idea to IMPERSONATE a royal, but everything worked out since Sage was the "winner" of sorts. I've probably read this book 6 or 7 times all the way through, but i still have the parts I love.
                  • flash_kj
                    flash_kjTuesday, July 5, 2016 at 3:21 pm
                    When my mom told me I had to read this for a school project I was thinking," But it's summer I don't feel like reading that right now, it probably has like 500 pages( It only 352 pages as you can see)." But when I actually read the book I loved it! The main character,Sage, sounded a lot like me! I Have been looking in every library for the second book, The Runaway King, but I can't find it! I think I know why! Because the first book was a such an awesome book that people took it as soon as finished with the first. I am exited to read and review Runaway King. Thank you, Jennifer A. Nielsen for making a extremely great book.
                    • cburke
                      cburkeMonday, November 2, 2015 at 9:38 amFeatured
                      I absolutely adore The False Prince. It is now one of my all time favorite books. I loved the setup that the author gave into a very interesting plot. She not only used her choice of dialogue carefully, but she fitted it to the character well. The main character, Sage, is supposed to be a very clever boy with a sharp tongue and quick with his words, and the author represented that very well. She didn't just have dialogue for the sake of dialogue. There were secrets and hidden messages within all of the things Sage said. Unlike what many authors would do with the dialogue of a character like Sage, Nielsen makes you actually think you are listening to Sage. When an author has the talent of creating a character and showing their attributes without boredom or saying them blatantly, there will be a fun and creative story. I love this book because you can tell the author took time into weaving what her character is like and what they do, say, eat, sleep like, etc. It is not a story that can be mimicked in a way that creates the same excitement to want to know what happens next and what the author will do. That sense of curiosity is why most readers including myself love this book. It creates a sense of excitement and enthusiasm for a simple story.