Read the third book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is soon to be a major motion picture starring Dylan O’Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Thomas Brodie Sangster, Will Poulter, and Aml Ameen and hits theaters September 19, 2014!

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” —Seventeen.com

“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“Breathless, cinematic action.” Publishers Weekly

“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” Kirkus Reviews

“Exclamation-worthy.” Romantic Times

“Gripping reading.” Booklist


From the Hardcover edition.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0385738781
ISBN-13: 9780385738781
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • georgiagirl
    georgiagirlFriday, July 14, 2017 at 4:08 pm
    This book is very good but Newt shouldnt have died. When he did die I was extremly sad! I think Teresa deserved to die because she was a little bit messed up
    • riacho
      riachoWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 7:49 am
      very sad ending. Teresa dies when Brenda should have.
      • 42mineturtles
        42mineturtlesFriday, February 26, 2016 at 2:34 pm55 stars
        I loved the Death Cure. It was a suspense filling novel and like the first book it was impossible to put down once I'd started reading.
        • charlesh20
          charlesh20Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:01 am55 starsFeatured
          The Book The Death Cure from the Maze Runner Series by James Dashner is the last book of the Maze Runner Series. The Wicked have start to run to find the cure. They want to restore the survivor's memories and complete the final cure for the flare. Just like before, WICKED keep hurting Thomas and his friend they hold the key to the final experiment. When WICKED wants to wipe out the memories from them, Thomas came out with a plan of escape from WICKED and at last Thomas and the Right Arms work together to bring down the WICKED. This book, or even series is so real and cool that, when you finish the first book then you want to read the next ones. Their is a feeling of mysteries to find out what is the endings. Well written story, I think the most awesome part is where Thomas escape from the WICKED and this part is making me so nervous and want to find out the answer. I would recommend this book to the age around 12-17 years old because they are some vocabs in the book that is advance word and some might not understand what that means and it also contain some violence parts. I would give this book a 5 star because I like the endings of THE MAZE RUNNER SERIES, and I like the way how the story line goes.
          • seanw
            seanwThursday, January 28, 2016 at 7:40 am
            After they run out of the Maze the continues to move on to a place where Thomas expects to now know the truth, but instead it just got more complicated then he think. I like how the author add more difficult problem in the story instead of clarifying the truth to the reader he made the problem more difficult which make the readers think about it.
            • megank
              megankMonday, January 25, 2016 at 6:07 pm55 starsFeatured
              The Death Cure is the final book in the maze runner series and it is a must read! The book continues the story where Thomas feels even more betrayed and hurt by everyone, causing all the Gladers and the rest of the group to rebel and leave WCKD. As Thomas, Jorge, Brenda, and Minho try to search for the Right Arm, the rest of the world is crumbling and everyone they know are beginning to fall apart and die. One of my favorite scenes in this book is when Newt begs Thomas for his death because he didn't want to be an insane crank. Although Thomas refuses to kill him at first, he eventually ends Newt's life and make amends. I love this scene because there are tons of emotions of how he loses his friend, the guilt, and how miserable and confused Thomas is. I really like Teresa because she's brave, mysterious, and has always cared for Thomas since she first met him. Before the Immunes escape, she saved Thomas life and died in his place, stating that she is sorry and she only cared for him. Overall, I think this book is just amazing and is full of adventures, emotions, and lessons about friendship.
              • jacpay
                jacpayThursday, October 27, 2016 at 8:10 am
                i really liked your book review
                • tobthi1617
                  tobthi1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 8:05 am
                  Great review, I also loved the book
                • jasonhsu324
                  jasonhsu324Tuesday, December 8, 2015 at 7:49 pm55 stars
                  This book talked about this guy called thomas who is in some kind of dessert with his friends and then a lot people die and after that a lot of people joins him again and then die again then join again then die again then join again then die again, yeah that pretty much it and it a good book.
                  • Sir DOGE :)Monday, December 7, 2015 at 12:47 pm
                    much book read, wow , such story
                    • oliverc
                      olivercSunday, December 6, 2015 at 11:27 pm44 stars
                      This book is about a group of people escaping the “trial”, and trying to fight back WICKED. The main characters in this book are Thomas and Teresa. Thomas is Teresa’s boyfriend, and he shows bravery when leading everyone out of the trial. Teresa is Thomas’s girlfriend. She also shows bravery when working together with Thomas. Thomas and Teresa can talk in their minds. The intense part of this book is when Teresa is in danger, and Thomas can’t save her. I felt very anxious when no one can help Teresa, and she is about to die. I will recommend this book to my friends because the content of this book is very well written, and you won’t feel like something is not making sense.
                      • may_c
                        may_cThursday, December 3, 2015 at 10:59 am
                        In this book, the boys already complete the second challenge the Scorch Trials. To me, this book isn't as interesting as the other two books, I got a little bored halfway through the book, I think if I can change the story, I'll make the boys actually trying to help save the cure of the flare, but not join WCKD. In this book, they are just basically running away from everything and want to go back and destroy WCKD. And I think the ending is very interesting, it's kind of a sad ending. I would recommend this book to other people who enjoys reading the first two books.

                        Recent Kids Book Reviews

                        savage4lifebruh

                        Rodrick is a real bad in this bo...
                        Diary of a Wimpy Kid Rodrick Rules

                        Malaya wrote:

                        I really like this book I read a...
                        Ghosts

                        book bug wrote:

                        this book is great. full of adve...
                        Holes

                        googoo wrote:

                        AMAZING
                        Holes