Wings of Fire Book Four: The Dark Secret

Book 4 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 6n/a5.566994
The New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire saga soars to the mysterious land of the NightWings, where Starflight must face a terrible choice -- his tribe, or his friends?



In the shadows, trouble is brewing. . .



The mysterious NightWings keep everything hidden, from their home and their queen to their allegiance in the war. Now they've kidnapped their own dragonet of destiny, and Starflight is finally meeting the rest of his tribe -- whether he wants to or not.



The NightWings have also kidnapped several innocent RainWings, now trapped in the dark, barren, miserable place that is the NightWing kingdom. Starflight wants to help the RainWings, but he's busy saving his own scales and trying to find a way back to his friends. The fate of two kingdoms rests in his talons, and with no one to save him, Starflight will have to find a way to be brave . . . before it's too late.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545349265
ISBN-13: 9780545349260
57 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • alphacloudmike
    alphacloudmikeThursday, September 17, 2020 at 12:03 pm55 stars
    Awesome book. Starflight gets kidnapped by the Nightwings for answer of Rainwing planning, he tries to protect himself. Although he has to use his brain, or it will be to late.
    • nimbus_prime
      nimbus_primeMonday, September 7, 2020 at 11:40 am55 starsFeatured
      If you like dragons or fantasy I do recommend this book. Wings of Fire: The Dark Secret is a must-read but I suggest reading the series in order if you haven’t already. I believe the author used this book to give more information about the Nightwings and Rainwings who both were not very involved in the war. This one had me hooked because of how much suspense there is leading to the climax. It felt like a movie, especially at the end. As Starflight was in the NightWing fortress, I was surprised he was able to survive with countless problems especially as Morrowseer was there. One of the most enthralling parts in the book was when Starflight discovered a helpful instrument while he was exploring the fortress with Fatespeaker. The discovery had been very useful while he was on the island. I wondered whether he would share his discovery or keep it hidden but ultimately he did what was best for the RainWings and the other dragonets. Near the ending of the book I was in complete shock when I heard the truth about the dragonet prophecy! It was like a snake had jumped out of the grass! Morrowseer explained the intentions behind dragonet prophecy and which tribe it would benefit. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book!
      • dogo_maniac
        dogo_maniacThursday, July 23, 2020 at 9:35 am55 stars
        It was on of the best in the series
        • squirrelflight
          squirrelflightWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 11:02 am55 stars
          A spectacular book...filled with action, thrill, and a heart-pounding adventure. Nicely written, and a fantastic read! Impossible to put down. When I read Wings of Fire: The Dark Secret, I was fascinated and amazed, and simply could not close the cover of this book!
          • loketoke
            loketokeTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 3:54 am44 stars
            After they find out that the RainWings are disappearing due to the NightWings experimenting with their power, venom. Starflight travels to the Night Kingdom, expecting a wonderful island with lot’s of dragons like him - dragons who love to draw, read scrolls, study history..... Instead he finds a lonely and harsh island with grumpy NightWings and terrified RainWings. He tries to reason with the NightWings to set the RainWings free, but he fails. He also wonders why no one ever communicates with the Queen in person. He later finds out that there is a secret tunnel that only the Queen’s daughter knows about, and visits her mother every day. The reason why the Queen won’t show herself to other dragons is because she was hit by frost breath from an IceWing. She had to stay in a pool of lava at all times. Starflight’s father had been the one who was taking care of Queen Battlewinner (Queen of the NightWings) and was designing a complex machine that the Queen could fit into and don’t need to stay in the pool of lava. Starflight and Fatespeaker (I will talk about her later) provoke Queen Battlewinner and she gets out of her pool of lava and dies. (I won’t tell the whole story since it is very long). Oh yeah, Fatespeaker. She is part of the fake dragonets of Destiny, because the real ones disappeared, some dragons replaced them with fake ones. Later we’ll find out that the prophecy wasn’t even real! :O
            • luna67Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 5:13 pm
              Wings of Fire is like amazing
              • looloo12
                looloo12Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 4:04 pm
                I love this book you guys would read or see this book!!!😄😃😁😁😋😋
                • kailyn6b
                  kailyn6bFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:11 am55 stars
                  This book is about how starlight go through to the night kingdom to try to reason (unsuccessfully) the night wings to let the rain wings go. They refuse and kidnaps him. He then escapes and plan an attack to bring back the rain wings. I loved this book and the layout was really good and I am so happy there are like 13 more of these books.
                  • lpsbrooklyn11
                    lpsbrooklyn11Monday, December 23, 2019 at 7:33 pm55 stars
                    At first when you start reading this book, a lot of people think it's boring. But this book keeps you turning the page as you read it. With so many mysterious things going on, you can make a lot of predictions like, " Why does Queen Battlewinner hide herself? Will any of the dragons get replaced? What is the queen 's secret? " Find out as you read this amazing book!! You can buy some at Costo, a set of the first 8 books. But they might run out so get them quickly!!!!😉 Thank you for following me!!! Tell me what you think of this book when you read it!!!!😉 Bye!!
                    • moonqueen
                      moonqueenSaturday, December 21, 2019 at 7:25 am55 stars
                      The book is amazing! Starflight is my favourite character. The Night Wings live on an island? I didn't expect it.. I had no idea that Starflight had a crush on Sunny. Its so cute. I completely loathe Morrowseer though Blister was actually a good choice. Anyway I loved this book.