Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.761829

Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series.

In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062392174
ISBN-13: 9780062392176
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fondilicious
    fondiliciousFriday, April 26, 2019 at 8:27 am55 stars
    It was so captivating i read it every second I could! It also has so many sweet moments where Eadyln finally softens her heart! It's beautiful.
    • devenitycrystal
      devenitycrystalMonday, June 18, 2018 at 10:31 am55 stars
      I LOVED THIS SERIES!! If you like romance and royalty books, this could bot have been a better book for you! It has amazing settings and storylines, so I most definitely recommend these series. I love these books and you should check out The Siren by Kiera Cass as well. (Order- The Elite, The Selection, The One, the Heir, and the Crown)
      • lollipoplily
        lollipoplilyTuesday, February 7, 2017 at 5:35 pm44 starsFeatured
        The crown is a cool way to end The Section Series. Eadlyn is to have the thrown when her parents retire, but their people don't really agree with them, so her parents tell her something she can do. Eadlyn ends up hosting her own Selection only not wanting to find a friend, or a husband. She is only doing it for her parents and to win over her people. Surprisingly she does find some interests from some of the boys and does not like it. And she also has to prepare for becoming Queen. On top of it all her twin brother Ahren goes to France to marry the princess, or how he says it soul mate. Only he doesn't tell anybody. Eadlyn's mother shocked by the news has a heart attack. The king becomes depressed and never leaves her side. Now Eadlyn has a Selection to run and a country. Without her brother she seems helpless, but realizes that she does need a soul mate, only the one she loves isn't a selected. How will her people feel about her if she choses him? Confused she knows she has to make a choice, but how? When she ends up telling her dad this she finds out a lot about his selection and him and his side of the family that she didn't know about. But it is not just him she learns his selection from. When she started the selection her mom told her some stuff too. Finally she knows what to do and doesn't care what anybody else thinks. What will she do? Read the book to find out! If you like the other Selection books I highly recommend this book.
        • candyexpress
          candyexpressSaturday, December 10, 2016 at 6:15 am
          The Crown is the fifth and final book of the series, The Selection. The previous four books were amazing, and I admire Kierra Cass's work so much due to this series. When I finally got ahold of this book, I was literally jumping up and down. Unsurprisingly, I had the bar set high for this book because the other four had completely knocked it out of the ball park. I had a feeling that this one would do so too. So, when I read the book, I must say I was impressed by the way Kierra Cass put in some twists of information that one would never expect. The way the story unravels shows that Kierra Cass puts a lot of attention into planning out her books. A down side was that I found the book too rushed. I feel like the author could've developed everything a bit more slower by adding more much-needed details. It was lacking a bit of the usual excitement, and the romance that appeared in the previous four books, was not evident in this book. Overall, this book was a nice read, but it was rather disappointing compared to the other four.
          • bluehorse3
            bluehorse3Tuesday, July 5, 2016 at 7:48 am55 stars
            As I'm reading this, I'm realizing just how good the plot is and the character are! I definitely recommend the whole series to people!
            • emalaya26
              Mrs. HarperThursday, May 26, 2016 at 5:51 am55 stars
              The Crown has everything you love about "The Selection" series. In this final book Eadlyn is finally coming into her own and learning what wearing a crown truly means.
              • supermoo47
                supermoo47Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 11:04 am55 stars
                i am only half way done this book but i am loving it so far! It is the perfect ending to the slection series so far! I can't stop reading this book! 5 stars (so far)
                • mixed_girl
                  mixed_girlFriday, May 6, 2016 at 2:47 pm55 stars
                  I can´t wait to read this most amazing book!!
                  • sanj75
                    sanj75Sunday, April 24, 2016 at 4:31 pm55 stars
                    Release Date: May 3 2016
                    • anjee7
                      anjee7Saturday, April 9, 2016 at 12:44 pm55 stars
                      I can't wait for this book to come out! It is the 5th installment in The Selection series and I can't explain much without giving any spoilers but if you're interested in princesses and castles and a whole lot of competition, this book is awesome. No, it's not like Disney princesses. This is the real deal here... (Recommended ages 13+) THE SERIES: 1. The Selection 2. The Elite 3. The One 4. The Heir 5. The Crown (It comes out in May of this year!!!)