Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.761829

Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series.

In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062392174
ISBN-13: 9780062392176
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:29 pm55 stars
    As the selection goes on, Eadlyn Schreave still is having trouble finding someone. However, she soon realizes she has feelings for the translator of one of the contestants. On the day of her wedding day, Eadlyn decides her heart belongs with Eikko, her translator. She asks her dad what to do, and he tells her to just break the rules. I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who enjoyed the other Selection books, the Hunger Games series, or enjoy reading dystopian and utopian novels.
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 6:30 pm55 stars
      The final book in the legendary "The Selection" quintet by Kiera Cass ends readers' Illéan adventures with a bang. Eadlyn Schreave is down to the core contenders for her first-ever female-held Selection process. Henri, Kile, Fox, and the other Elite men all capture her heart against her better judgment. This is exactly what Eadlyn has never felt: true love. She has seen it all around her - Ahren and Camille, her mother and father - but even to the country on a whole, Eadlyn seems cold and unfeeling. In a fantastic final installment to the series, Eadlyn realizes that humbleness is more important than being intelligent, and that perhaps her choices aren't as limited as she thought they were.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolThursday, May 28, 2020 at 12:21 pm55 stars
        As the selection goes on, Eadlyn Schreave still is having trouble finding someone. However, she soon realizes she has feelings for the translator of one of the contestants. On the day of her wedding day, Eadlyn decides her heart belongs with Eikko, her translator. She asks her dad what to do, and he tells her to just break the rules. I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who enjoyed the other Selection books, the Hunger Games series, or enjoy reading dystopian and utopian novels.
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 12:21 pm44 stars
          This is the place where Eadlyn discovered true happiness, marrying who she wanted to, not who she was obligated to as a queen. She learns to love her people, and her husband too. This is the final book of the selection, and possibly my favourite.
          • fondilicious
            fondiliciousFriday, April 26, 2019 at 8:27 am55 stars
            It was so captivating i read it every second I could! It also has so many sweet moments where Eadyln finally softens her heart! It's beautiful.
            • devenitycrystal
              devenitycrystalMonday, June 18, 2018 at 10:31 am55 stars
              I LOVED THIS SERIES!! If you like romance and royalty books, this could bot have been a better book for you! It has amazing settings and storylines, so I most definitely recommend these series. I love these books and you should check out The Siren by Kiera Cass as well. (Order- The Elite, The Selection, The One, the Heir, and the Crown)
              • lollipoplily
                lollipoplilyTuesday, February 7, 2017 at 5:35 pm44 starsFeatured
                The crown is a cool way to end The Section Series. Eadlyn is to have the thrown when her parents retire, but their people don't really agree with them, so her parents tell her something she can do. Eadlyn ends up hosting her own Selection only not wanting to find a friend, or a husband. She is only doing it for her parents and to win over her people. Surprisingly she does find some interests from some of the boys and does not like it. And she also has to prepare for becoming Queen. On top of it all her twin brother Ahren goes to France to marry the princess, or how he says it soul mate. Only he doesn't tell anybody. Eadlyn's mother shocked by the news has a heart attack. The king becomes depressed and never leaves her side. Now Eadlyn has a Selection to run and a country. Without her brother she seems helpless, but realizes that she does need a soul mate, only the one she loves isn't a selected. How will her people feel about her if she choses him? Confused she knows she has to make a choice, but how? When she ends up telling her dad this she finds out a lot about his selection and him and his side of the family that she didn't know about. But it is not just him she learns his selection from. When she started the selection her mom told her some stuff too. Finally she knows what to do and doesn't care what anybody else thinks. What will she do? Read the book to find out! If you like the other Selection books I highly recommend this book.
                • candyexpress
                  candyexpressSaturday, December 10, 2016 at 6:15 am
                  The Crown is the fifth and final book of the series, The Selection. The previous four books were amazing, and I admire Kierra Cass's work so much due to this series. When I finally got ahold of this book, I was literally jumping up and down. Unsurprisingly, I had the bar set high for this book because the other four had completely knocked it out of the ball park. I had a feeling that this one would do so too. So, when I read the book, I must say I was impressed by the way Kierra Cass put in some twists of information that one would never expect. The way the story unravels shows that Kierra Cass puts a lot of attention into planning out her books. A down side was that I found the book too rushed. I feel like the author could've developed everything a bit more slower by adding more much-needed details. It was lacking a bit of the usual excitement, and the romance that appeared in the previous four books, was not evident in this book. Overall, this book was a nice read, but it was rather disappointing compared to the other four.
                  • bluehorse3
                    bluehorse3Tuesday, July 5, 2016 at 7:48 am55 stars
                    As I'm reading this, I'm realizing just how good the plot is and the character are! I definitely recommend the whole series to people!
                    • emalaya26
                      Mrs. HarperThursday, May 26, 2016 at 5:51 am55 stars
                      The Crown has everything you love about "The Selection" series. In this final book Eadlyn is finally coming into her own and learning what wearing a crown truly means.