Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3J2.11621

Poor Dick and Sally. It's cold and wet and they're stuck in the house with nothing to do . . . until a giant cat in a hat shows up, transforming the dull day into a madcap adventure and almost wrecking the place in the process! Written by Dr. Seuss in 1957 in response to the concern that "pallid primers [with] abnormally courteous, unnaturally clean boys and girls' were leading to growing illiteracy among children, The Cat in the Hat (the first Random House Beginner Book) changed the way our children learn how to read.

Hardcover, 64 pages
ISBN-10: 0001711016
ISBN-13: 9780001711013
63 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • adino123
    adino123Tuesday, August 18, 2020 at 4:40 pm44 stars
    This is one of my favorite books. I love Dr. Seuss. I really like this story, especially Thing one and Thing Two. They are trouble makers.
    • lenaplayzgames
      lenaplayzgamesWednesday, May 6, 2020 at 7:04 am55 stars
      I luv this book a oringal i read it when i wake up cuz it gets me in a good mood!! #Shoutout to Dr. Seus!!!1
      • adamsgabb000
        adamsgabb000Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at 5:57 am
        I love to read the cat in the hat cause it’s awesome.
        • sunsetskies
          sunsetskiesThursday, February 13, 2020 at 8:00 am33 stars
          I like this book but, you know this is for younger kids if you like you might even read it to one.
          • JAyedenThursday, September 5, 2019 at 9:45 am
            great book would reccomend
            • adino123
              adino123Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 11:41 am44 stars
              I love all of Dr. Seuss' books. This one is my favorite. The cat in the hat is always making trouble for the kids, but he always cleans up his mess.
              • lilshay123
                lilshay123Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 9:23 pm55 stars
                my school library has a bunch of cat in the hat books maybe all of the cat in the hat books i don't know
                • lilshay123
                  lilshay123Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 8:45 pm55 stars
                  my school library has a bunch of cat in a hat
                  • AlexTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 7:39 am
                    I LOVE IT!!!!!
                    • zzayumi
                      zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                      This is a very good book! :D It is a fun book, and I think little kids will enjoy this book. This book is about The Cat in the Hat, who loves to play games.