Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3J2.11621

Poor Dick and Sally. It's cold and wet and they're stuck in the house with nothing to do . . . until a giant cat in a hat shows up, transforming the dull day into a madcap adventure and almost wrecking the place in the process! Written by Dr. Seuss in 1957 in response to the concern that "pallid primers [with] abnormally courteous, unnaturally clean boys and girls' were leading to growing illiteracy among children, The Cat in the Hat (the first Random House Beginner Book) changed the way our children learn how to read.

Hardcover, 64 pages
ISBN-10: 0001711016
ISBN-13: 9780001711013
59 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JAyedenThursday, September 5, 2019 at 9:45 am
    great book would reccomend
    • adino123
      adino123Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 11:41 am44 stars
      I love all of Dr. Seuss' books. This one is my favorite. The cat in the hat is always making trouble for the kids, but he always cleans up his mess.
      • lilshay123
        lilshay123Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 9:23 pm55 stars
        my school library has a bunch of cat in the hat books maybe all of the cat in the hat books i don't know
        • lilshay123
          lilshay123Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 8:45 pm55 stars
          my school library has a bunch of cat in a hat
          • AlexTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 7:39 am
            I LOVE IT!!!!!
            • zzayumi
              zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 5:22 pm55 stars
              This is a very good book! :D It is a fun book, and I think little kids will enjoy this book. This book is about The Cat in the Hat, who loves to play games.
              • techlover
                techloverThursday, April 18, 2019 at 5:37 pm55 stars
                this is a good book for a 7 year old... that is my story
                • hewycofe-155381991744
                  hewycofe-155381991744Wednesday, April 10, 2019 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                  i love this book .It is a fun book to read to little kids and when the kid grows up they will still love this book just like right now when I was 6 I love this book and four years later I still love this book about a cat in a hat.
                  • CLAYTuesday, February 26, 2019 at 6:35 am
                    ITS COOOOOL
                    • mildredh
                      mildredhSaturday, April 28, 2018 at 9:14 pm44 stars
                      THE CAT IN THE HAT COMES WITH LITTLE CAT A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,I,J,K,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,X,Y AND Z AND MESS UP THERE HOUSE THE KIDS ARE NOT HAPPY