Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6Z+5.1118933

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak, author of I Am the Messenger, has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

Hardcover, 592 pages
ISBN-10: 037032921X
ISBN-13: 9780370329215
105 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • squirrelflight
    squirrelflightTuesday, September 8, 2020 at 11:27 am44 stars
    This was NOT what I expected. Since I normally don’t read books like this, I wasn’t sure whether I would like this, but The Book Thief simply astounded me with its heartwarming characters and amazing plot. I would definitely recommend this book, because I loved the figurative language that made me feel like I was in the story. Summary: It’s 1939. Germany and many other European countries have been invaded by Adolf Hitler, and a young girl named Liesel Meminger lives in the midst of it all. After her brother died and her mother became too sick to take care of her, she has been taken away to live with foster parents who are nothing like her real family. But Liesel finds joy in the one thing that she loves deeply; books. She steals them from different places, and even though her reading skills aren’t great, she finds many stories that interest her. When her foster family hides a Jewish man named Max in their basement, Liesel finds out that she and Max have a lot more in common than they thought—and the color of your eyes or skin doesn’t determine who you are. In a beautifully woven tale of friendship and fun, Markus Zusak celebrates the triumphs of helping others. Overall, I liked this book, and rate it 4/5 stars.
    • soso17970
      soso17970Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 11:20 am44 stars
      This book was honestly incredible. I don’t usually enjoy read historic fiction books, and this one i had to read for school, but now it’s one of my favorite books. The Book Theif is set in Nazi Germeny and is about a young girl that finds power in words. That story itself is already extremely interesting, but what takes this book to another level is the writing and narrator. If you do not know, the narrator for this book is Death himself. This just offers such a different perspective because it’s not only Linsel (the main character)’s story, it’s a story of the whole war, and the whole world. Markus Zusak is also just an amazing writing, everything was written so well and although I don’t enjoy annotating (school book club book remember), I honestly really needed it to understand this deep book. Definitely recommend this if your in to historic fiction, or want a refreshing narrator!
      • olympus
        olympusThursday, May 21, 2020 at 11:57 am55 stars
        “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak is an interesting novel. Liesl is an orphan living with her foster parents in Germany. When a boy named Max enters Liesel’s life running from the Nazis, An inspiring part happens. This is when she and Max are together where they are is a warm and cozy place. When they are apart the cellar is dark and gloomy, in Max's perspective. This is inspiring because it shows the importance of being together in hard times. I’ve learned that just because you've lost everything to people, in this case the Nazis, doesn’t mean someone else can’t refill your life. I connect with this book on a small scale because I've made big mistakes and someone’s come along and fixed my mistake. Like, when I broke my grandfather's bird house, he came home and told me that he’d fix it for me. Therefore; this is an inspiring novel to me. The main character, Liesl, in The Book Thief changes a lot over the book. This is true because when Liesel enters the story she is nervous and scared, like when she was terrified to take the book on the ground in front of her when her brother is being buried by her friends. She becomes braver and more risky when she finishes her first book and wants more. Then when she builds up the courage to go to the mayor's house when she's invited she marvels at the library. Later in the town square she steals a book caled The Shoulder Shrug from a Nazi book burning. This shows that she wants more books and is willing to take a huge risk to get them. Many years later WWII ends this allows her to access the books she wants and allows her to calm down her life. She has a family and dies calmly of old age, ending the book. She started out as a nervous little girl and ends as a calm old woman, the book thief Liesl therefore; changes a lot.
        • lemonmilk
          lemonmilkWednesday, June 26, 2019 at 12:10 pm55 stars
          By far, this is the best book I have ever read. The way Markus Zusak creates his characters is astounding. Death as a narrator adds depth and emotion to the story that is not found in many other books. Zusak made each character’s story unique in its own way, crafting differing quirks and personality traits for each character. He also chose a great setting for a story, a time where the world was torn in war. The Book Thief has many pages where it made me want to read and read forever. Zusak has added so much emotion to this book, wether it be happiness, thankfulness, sadness, or anger. I think this novel is for kids aged 12+ (10+ for mature readers), because there is some light cussing, but no words that are very bad. I love this book, and I think it will be a classic for years to come.
          • sassylettuce32Friday, May 17, 2019 at 8:25 am
            Such a good book! I couldn't stop reading it!
            • mrgrasshopper
              mrgrasshopperMonday, April 15, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
              One of the best books I've ever read. I've always adored Markus Zusak's novels, they are perfectly written. Though, it is way above my league; not my grade at all. 9-12 grade, as I am only a fourth grade grasshopper. Total recommend it to the more advanced readers out there, especially if history is your thing (like me, haha).
              • hiTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 11:35 am
                This was good
                • misaalana
                  misaalanaTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 3:31 pm55 stars
                  Best book EVER!!! Thrilling, heartbreaking, FANTASTIC!!
                  • lightninggirl
                    lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 11:23 am55 stars
                    Very well written! I recommend it for readers.
                    • gabriana77
                      gabriana77Saturday, January 5, 2019 at 12:58 pm55 stars
                      I love this book, and the movie they are both so great!