Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6Z+5.1118933

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak, author of I Am the Messenger, has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

Hardcover, 592 pages
ISBN-10: 037032921X
ISBN-13: 9780370329215
98 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lightninggirl
    lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 11:23 am55 stars
    Very well written! I recommend it for readers.
    • gabriana77
      gabriana77Saturday, January 5, 2019 at 12:58 pm55 stars
      I love this book, and the movie they are both so great!
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverMonday, August 20, 2018 at 2:44 pm55 starsFeatured
        The Book Thief is an extremely well written book with elaborate figurative language and descriptive settings. I really enjoyed the metaphors and diction that made reading the book very colorful and unique; it seemed as if all the scenes were vividly painted through words. Taking place in Munich, Germany, the book leads the reader through the life of Liesel Meminger. The book illustrates the hard life that Liesel must live as her family's situation gets worse and worse. She has to battle her personal problems of constant nightmares that haunt her every night, as well as keeping their secret of a Jew living in the basement of their home. Terror and poverty is a constant through her every day life, and she has to endure it. But the book also shows the small joys in her life: how she connects with Max, her foster father's accordion, and Rudy, a loyal friend that is by her side all throughout the book, as well as the books and writing. This book really allows the reader to absorb what is happening, and read about the complexities of each character and their actions/consequences. This is a very powerful and extraordinary book that I recommend everyone to read.
        • carmen1032
          carmen1032Monday, March 12, 2018 at 7:50 am55 stars
          I can't wait to read this book!
          • epringles23
            epringles23Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 3:01 pm
            Sounds so good! Deffinitely on my list of books! Added to my wish list!
            • caramel22
              caramel22Monday, December 4, 2017 at 3:32 pm55 stars
              This book is really sad but the type of narration is really interesting and it makes the story more exciting.
              • smartguy123
                smartguy123Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 2:09 pm
                Sounds attracting and interesting....
                • carloscarrero
                  Mr. CarreroMonday, November 6, 2017 at 12:31 pm44 stars
                  This book is amazing! I love reading it. It is so humane and it explains in simple vocabulary the horrors of the Holocaust. The fact that Death is considered one of the characters and narrator, gives the story a human side that I had not seen before.
                  • pretty_ugly12Wednesday, March 29, 2017 at 8:32 am
                    i love it
                    • julia13
                      julia13Friday, February 24, 2017 at 12:13 pm
                      Oh i wish i could read this book!

                      Our Apps and Plugins