The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on May 8, 2007 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061146307
ISBN-13: 9780061146305
204 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 437841
    437841Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 11:39 am55 stars
    I got the whole new book series, and it is good!!
    • piggyfan
      piggyfanMonday, December 7, 2020 at 7:15 am55 stars
      I’m rewriting this review because I had spelling errors and I could do better, Violet, Klaus and Sunny Lived in a big beautiful mansion with there mother and father. One day they decided they were going to the beach. Once they got there they were having a lot of fun until their family friend Mr. Poe told them that there house burnt down and their mother and father died. They had to live with their closest relative Count Olaf. Count Olaf wasn’t even their relative. Throughout the book and series the kids try to get away from count Olaf but he is always after them trying to get their fortune . The kids solve mysteries along the way. If you have watched the Netflix show I recommend this a lot. It has more information than the show. The book has no cusses so it’s family friendly.
      • CupC@keFriday, November 27, 2020 at 9:11 am
        Awesome book! I watched the Netflix series first and something I realized was that the books never ONCE mention the spyglass, just the VFD symbol. That's the only criticizm I have.
        • piggyfan
          piggyfanWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 12:20 pm55 stars
          I read this in second grade. its still one of my favorite series. this ones the bad beginning. I will review everybook by the way. you should red this book because: its the first book, you will need to read this book first to understand what's happening. 2 its just a really good book 3 is that if you don't want to read the rest of the series, you wouldn't have to continue. if you have watched the Netflix version , you be sure to love the books. they have even more events happening. this book is about violet Klaus and sunny (rich kids) mom and dad died in a fire. they have to live with count Olaf, who wants their fortune. he calls them "orphans" and makes them do ridiculous stuff. He follows them everywhere, and won't leave them alone. if you love solving mysteries, I'm sure youll love this book and series.
          • dik_dik
            dik_dikMonday, August 31, 2020 at 5:26 pm55 stars
            amazing series i have read all the books and it is one of the best to read so far 100% recommend it to all.it has tragic scenes happy scenes bad scenes and evil scenes amazing is the best word to describe it.
            • nac
              nacFriday, June 19, 2020 at 7:44 pm55 stars
              Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, are intelligent children, but their story is full of misfortune, and this book is the beginning of their tragic story. It all starts when their parents perish in a terrible fire, leaving them an enormous fortune that the kids will inherit once Violet comes of age. And now they must move in with their new guardian, Count Olaf. Unfortunately Count Olaf is intent on stealing the Baudelaire's fortune, and he has proved that he will stop at nothing to get his hands on it. As his grand scheme unfolds, the Baudelaires are backed into a corner, and it seems as if they have no chance in getting out of Count Olaf's clutches. The Baudelaires will have to use their skills like never before in order to triumph. This book was surprisingly good, and something interesting is that the narrator, Lemony Snicket, is always telling you to not read this book because it is so sad, and that just makes you want to read it even more. I really enjoyed this book and I looked forward to reading the next books in the series.
              • Violet B.Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 4:36 pm
                I love the series of unfortunate events I love the books and t.v series and movie. They are better than harry potter to me! I love them. For sure better than anything I have ever read! These books are my favorite.
                • bookfan2008
                  bookfan2008Monday, June 8, 2020 at 6:23 am55 stars
                  Dear all readers, this is a upgraded review of the review I made down below. Have you read this book? I hope so! And if not, no problem, here is some info about this sad but very good book. This book mostly has unfortunate events. This book is suspeseful and knows how to hook the readers into reading the book farther until the end. This book talks all about the very begining of the very unfortunate life of the bauldaner orphans. One day, when the three siblings, Sunny the youngest who loves to bite things, Klaus the middle child who loves to read, and Violet the oldest who is great at inventing, go to a desserted beach alone. Soon during there trip a nice but weird man named Mr.Poe tells them the horrible news. He says that there parents have died in a horrible fire and are sadly not alive anymore. The bauldaneres are shocked and feel horrible hearing this bad news. Mr Poe also says they have found a far guardian named Count Olaf who agrees to be there legal guardian. The kid have never heard of him and aren't very fond of going. But as I said, this is a unfortunate book with unfortunate events. The very next day the orphans drive over to count olafs house. But Count Olaf isn't at ALL what they thought. Count Olaf is plain HORRIBLE and EVIL. As soon as Mr. Poe leaves his house Count Olaf shows starts showing his evil side. First of all the Bauldaneres have only ONE tiny and I mean tiny bed for all three of them! And also, Count Olaf makes them down the hardest chores for example cut wood and make a full dinner for Count Olaf and his very bad acting crew! The Bauldaneres are having a horrible time with Count Olaf so far as you can see. But basicly only more horrible things happen as they countine to live with him to to tell the truth. I'm not going to give away much more because it would spoil the story. But I hope you decide to read this book because most readers would enjoy this book. And I reccomend this book even more if you love sad, deppresing and unfortunate story's. I give this book 5/5 and I hope you do too. Thank you for reading my review and keep on reading!- bookfan2008
                  • Fan boy7Friday, June 5, 2020 at 9:25 am
                    I love this book!😀
                    • bookfan2008
                      bookfan2008Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 11:06 am55 stars
                      Very good book! It's about three siblings named Violet, Sunny, and klaus. This is book 1. In this book there whole orphan avventure starts off. The 3 siblings are calmly walking to the beach. After a few minutes at the beach Mr. Poe , a nice man comes and tells them horrible news. He says that there parents have died in a fire and there mansion has burned down too. He says that luckily they have found a far guardian named Count olaf. The siblings are very sad. They stay at the poes's house for the night and right the next day they go to the new guardians house. But this guardian isn't at all what they think...