Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on April 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316003956
ISBN-13: 9780316003957
122 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gamer527
    gamer527Monday, January 14, 2019 at 4:27 pm
    I read this book In two weeks and it is 500 pages. it is an amazing book and I really recommend it to anybody who loves adventure books.
    • shootingstars
      shootingstarsWednesday, January 9, 2019 at 7:37 am55 stars
      I love this book! It’s filled with mysteries and clues and will keep you up all night!
      • miniongirlSunday, December 30, 2018 at 12:02 pm
        I'm gonna read this book really soon
        • okMonday, November 26, 2018 at 11:42 am
          this book is pretty good
          • ezernaad
            ezernaadSunday, October 21, 2018 at 2:36 pm55 stars
            Awesome book with a great way of getting the message to you
            • I_love-booksThursday, October 18, 2018 at 9:23 pm
              So I honestly really enjoyed this book it had engaging characters and a great plot. I just think that the blurb on the back cod maybe make it seem like the whole book isn't some kids taking tests.
              • itzleaderl0l
                itzleaderl0lWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:08 am55 stars
                I decided to read this book because it seemed like a mystery, and so it was. It was a very climactic book. It was very enjoyable.
                • penguinsarecool
                  penguinsarecoolTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 7:58 am44 starsFeatured
                  This book is phenomenal. There is so many unexpected turns and twists and Its just so refreshing. Everything can be anything here and it is the best. It has me thinking and trying to figure out what happend and what's happening. It is sad, happy, and funny all at the same time. The characters are so relatable with issues. Overall I love this book and I heavily recommend it.
                  • Mr. SpockThursday, May 10, 2018 at 7:58 am
                    My favorite part of the book was the first few chapters when the children were testing. I ind this to be an amazing book in a series of amazing books. I have read all of them (including the prequel) at least 10 times!
                    • pottergirl
                      pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
                      Seriously??? I just started reading this yesterday and it's AMAZING. (I'm already halfway through it) Also I'm new here so, Hey everybody!

                      Our Apps and Plugins