Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on April 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316003956
ISBN-13: 9780316003957
113 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pottergirl
    pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
    Seriously??? I just started reading this yesterday and it's AMAZING. (I'm already halfway through it) Also I'm new here so, Hey everybody!
    • pottergirl
      pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:21 pm55 stars
      My grandparents gave it to me for Christmas and I thought it would be really boring but it turns out it's a really good book about four gifted children on a mission to save the world...
      • hufflepuff_diva
        hufflepuff_divaTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 stars
        Although when reading it, it can be hard, this book is amazing! It has so many interesting characters and topics, plots and things, that I just can't stop re-reading it! It has adventure and mystery, and I think it would be good for anyone looking for a good book.
        • jasmine_panda
          jasmine_pandaFriday, December 22, 2017 at 10:40 am
          An amazing book! I started it with my class in 4th grade, and I got the book. It is truly amazing!
          • mochi_queen
            mochi_queenMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:28 pm11 star
            When i started this book it looked really good.The blurb on the back looked really exciting so I bought it on my kindle. When I started, the first two chapters, The only thing that the author would talk about is about this kid named Raynie who wanted to take a test. FOR THE FIRST TWO CHAPTERS. I really disliked the book.
            • pottergirl
              pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
              WHAAAAAT!! So what? It wasn't him WANTING to it's him actually taking the test. I will admit, the first two chapters were slow but it gets better. (AMAZING)
            • plum2008
              plum2008Friday, October 6, 2017 at 8:29 am55 stars
              This was the best siries/book I have ever read! It's about four orphans that mr Benedict picked to do a special job to save the world!
              • annette
                annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 2:01 pm44 stars
                This is an amazing book with excitement on every page. It was one of the better mystery novels out there and I especially loved how the author added the mind twisting puzzles in the book so you could figure them out with the characters.
                • lemonade11
                  lemonade11Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 5:11 pm55 stars
                  This book is extremely clever. An ad finds it's way into the newspaper, looking for a gifted child who wants a "special opportunity." Many children take the test in the newspaper ad, but only four young talented kids can go and work for Mr. Nicholas Benedict himself! With cliff-hangers and the constant humor of Constance Contrair, things are bound to get interesting in this action-packed book!
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesWednesday, August 23, 2017 at 1:05 pm55 stars
                    This book is the start to an obsession. It is a great up-all-night-under-the-covers read. the long chapters force the reader to take time out to read this book. and each cliff-hanger at the end of each chapter keeps the reader wanting more! When an ad goes out in the newspaper, four young prodigies enter for a chance of a life-time: to work with the ecentric Nicholas Benedict! The mystery in this book is so captivating and just envolps you into the story. Trenton Lee Stewart's style of writing is beautiful in his own unique way and draws you in. This book is definitatly one to look for!!!
                    • m1lk3y_w4y
                      m1lk3y_w4yMonday, July 31, 2017 at 8:53 am55 stars
                      The Mysterious Benedict Society is a great book for those who seek puzzle-solving books. It starts out with a boy named Reynard Muldoon, otherwise known as Reynie. He sees a mysterious ad in the newspaper that leads him to take a series of tests that are supposed to challenge and choose four talented children to help. Of course, Reynie is one of these children, along with Kate and her bucket, Sticky with his facts, and Constance with her constant whining and complaining. These children are all alone in some way. Reynie is an orphan, Kate is also an orphan (or is she?), Sticky was “replaced” by money, and Constance is also an orphan. These four miraculous children meet Mr. Benedict, who is the one who designed the tests. He tells them why they are here and the problem that is rising. An evil man is using the voice of a child to implant ideas into people’s brains that will eventually lead to him taking over the world with everyone under his control. He uses children and his Whisperer to send these messages out because the voice of a child is easily ignored and people do not recognize it as something important. This evil man, known to the world as Mr. Curtain, runs a gifted student school called the Institute to pick the most gifted minds to send these messages using the Whisperer. He is almost down with his plan, as he has recorded all the messages and is ready to send the messages at full blast. The only person who knows what he is up to is Mr. Benedict, who is going to send the four children to the Institute to spy and stop Mr. Curtain. While inside, the children face problems like meeting jealous people, suspicious people, and more. Also, the children learn that Mr. Benedict has a twin, who is… If you want to find out who his twin is, if Reynie and his friends will stop Mr. Curtain, or if Mr. Curtain successfully takes over the world, you must read the Mysterious Benedict Society. I rate this book 5 stars because of the action and puzzles and recommend this book to anyone wanting a good book. This is a wonderful book and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

                      More TopicsView in 3D