Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on April 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316003956
ISBN-13: 9780316003957
118 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ezernaad
    ezernaadSunday, October 21, 2018 at 2:36 pm55 stars
    Awesome book with a great way of getting the message to you
    • I_love-booksThursday, October 18, 2018 at 9:23 pm
      So I honestly really enjoyed this book it had engaging characters and a great plot. I just think that the blurb on the back cod maybe make it seem like the whole book isn't some kids taking tests.
      • itzleaderl0l
        itzleaderl0lWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:08 am55 stars
        I decided to read this book because it seemed like a mystery, and so it was. It was a very climactic book. It was very enjoyable.
        • penguinsarecool
          penguinsarecoolTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 7:58 am44 starsFeatured
          This book is phenomenal. There is so many unexpected turns and twists and Its just so refreshing. Everything can be anything here and it is the best. It has me thinking and trying to figure out what happend and what's happening. It is sad, happy, and funny all at the same time. The characters are so relatable with issues. Overall I love this book and I heavily recommend it.
          • Mr. SpockThursday, May 10, 2018 at 7:58 am
            My favorite part of the book was the first few chapters when the children were testing. I ind this to be an amazing book in a series of amazing books. I have read all of them (including the prequel) at least 10 times!
            • pottergirl
              pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
              Seriously??? I just started reading this yesterday and it's AMAZING. (I'm already halfway through it) Also I'm new here so, Hey everybody!
              • pottergirl
                pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:21 pm55 stars
                My grandparents gave it to me for Christmas and I thought it would be really boring but it turns out it's a really good book about four gifted children on a mission to save the world...
                • hufflepuff_diva
                  hufflepuff_divaTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                  Although when reading it, it can be hard, this book is amazing! It has so many interesting characters and topics, plots and things, that I just can't stop re-reading it! It has adventure and mystery, and I think it would be good for anyone looking for a good book.
                  • jasmine_panda
                    jasmine_pandaFriday, December 22, 2017 at 10:40 am
                    An amazing book! I started it with my class in 4th grade, and I got the book. It is truly amazing!
                    • siameze22
                      siameze22Monday, November 13, 2017 at 5:28 pm11 star
                      When i started this book it looked really good.The blurb on the back looked really exciting so I bought it on my kindle. When I started, the first two chapters, The only thing that the author would talk about is about this kid named Raynie who wanted to take a test. FOR THE FIRST TWO CHAPTERS. I really disliked the book.
                      • pottergirl
                        pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                        WHAAAAAT!! So what? It wasn't him WANTING to it's him actually taking the test. I will admit, the first two chapters were slow but it gets better. (AMAZING)

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins