Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on April 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316003956
ISBN-13: 9780316003957
116 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • itzleaderl0l
    itzleaderl0lWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:08 am55 stars
    I decided to read this book because it seemed like a mystery, and so it was. It was a very climactic book. It was very enjoyable.
    • penguinsarecool
      penguinsarecoolTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 7:58 am44 starsFeatured
      This book is phenomenal. There is so many unexpected turns and twists and Its just so refreshing. Everything can be anything here and it is the best. It has me thinking and trying to figure out what happend and what's happening. It is sad, happy, and funny all at the same time. The characters are so relatable with issues. Overall I love this book and I heavily recommend it.
      • Mr. SpockThursday, May 10, 2018 at 7:58 am
        My favorite part of the book was the first few chapters when the children were testing. I ind this to be an amazing book in a series of amazing books. I have read all of them (including the prequel) at least 10 times!
        • pottergirl
          pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
          Seriously??? I just started reading this yesterday and it's AMAZING. (I'm already halfway through it) Also I'm new here so, Hey everybody!
          • pottergirl
            pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:21 pm55 stars
            My grandparents gave it to me for Christmas and I thought it would be really boring but it turns out it's a really good book about four gifted children on a mission to save the world...
            • hufflepuff_diva
              hufflepuff_divaTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 stars
              Although when reading it, it can be hard, this book is amazing! It has so many interesting characters and topics, plots and things, that I just can't stop re-reading it! It has adventure and mystery, and I think it would be good for anyone looking for a good book.
              • jasmine_panda
                jasmine_pandaFriday, December 22, 2017 at 10:40 am
                An amazing book! I started it with my class in 4th grade, and I got the book. It is truly amazing!
                • mochi_queen
                  mochi_queenMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:28 pm11 star
                  When i started this book it looked really good.The blurb on the back looked really exciting so I bought it on my kindle. When I started, the first two chapters, The only thing that the author would talk about is about this kid named Raynie who wanted to take a test. FOR THE FIRST TWO CHAPTERS. I really disliked the book.
                  • pottergirl
                    pottergirlTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                    WHAAAAAT!! So what? It wasn't him WANTING to it's him actually taking the test. I will admit, the first two chapters were slow but it gets better. (AMAZING)
                  • plum2008
                    plum2008Friday, October 6, 2017 at 8:29 am55 stars
                    This was the best siries/book I have ever read! It's about four orphans that mr Benedict picked to do a special job to save the world!
                    • annette
                      annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 2:01 pm44 stars
                      This is an amazing book with excitement on every page. It was one of the better mystery novels out there and I especially loved how the author added the mind twisting puzzles in the book so you could figure them out with the characters.

                      More TopicsView in 3D