Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on April 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316003956
ISBN-13: 9780316003957
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gr8_reads11
    gr8_reads11Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 7:12 am55 stars
    this was super incredible arrows and mazes, tests and riddles and missions and spys i really TRULY loved the book i say it could not have been any better if you love mystery quizzing books like the magic tree house series i think you'll LOVE this one πŸ˜‰πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ“•
    • ochaco_uraraka
      ochaco_urarakaTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 12:27 am55 stars
      This book was really great. Clever characters, Tricks and Turns, and Secrecy and Stealth, this book was a true beauty! Filled with Puzzles and Riddles, a group of children get together when they pass a mysterious test. They meet terrible and kind characters along the way, and one of those fellows that landed in the good side was Mr. Benedict, the benefactor of that event. He asked them to do something none of them had ever done in their lives: Becoming Agents. Some were less enthusiastic as others, but they soon realize they could not imagine a world where they were not together. Can they put their minds together and find out what Mr. Curtain is up to? It is up to these four young kids to stop something terrible from happening, and they named themselves after the beloved man who brought them together in the first place: The Mysterious Benedict Society.
      • joohyuun
        joohyuunWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm55 stars
        I decided to read this book because a lot of my friends encouraged me to try out the book. Since so many friends made me read it, I decided to check it out thinking it would be a normal book that I read every day. However, when reached the end of the page of the book, I realized that I was wrong and It was the most terrific book I ever read. I think people should try the book because it's a really good book for people who love adventurous and mysterious books.
        • hiSaturday, February 9, 2019 at 6:04 pm
          awesome
          • hiSaturday, February 9, 2019 at 6:04 pm
            This book was the best book ever.
            • gilboi
              gilboiFriday, February 8, 2019 at 10:59 am55 stars
              It is THE most amazing spy series out there!
              • rrrrrrSaturday, January 26, 2019 at 4:36 pm
                this book is awesome
                • gamer527
                  gamer527Monday, January 14, 2019 at 4:27 pm
                  I read this book In two weeks and it is 500 pages. it is an amazing book and I really recommend it to anybody who loves adventure books.
                  • shootingstars
                    shootingstarsWednesday, January 9, 2019 at 7:37 am55 stars
                    I love this book! It’s filled with mysteries and clues and will keep you up all night!
                    • miniongirlSunday, December 30, 2018 at 12:02 pm
                      I'm gonna read this book really soon