The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants #1)

Book 1 of 12 in the Captain Underpants Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5P4.35731
This special 8 1/2th Anniversary Edition of the book that started the Captain Underpants craze features a lenticular paper-over-board cover and a top-secret bound-in component for just $9.95.

When Dav Pilkey began drawing pictures of an underwear-clad, wedgie-giving superhero as a second grader, his teacher said, "You'd better start taking life more seriously, because you can't spend the rest of your days making silly books!" Luckily for us, Dav didn't listen, and Captain Underpants was born. Now, kids everywhere can enjoy this special edition of the book that started it all--with an awesome lenticular cover and a super-cool value-added component that's so amazing, so fun, and so top-secret that you'll just have to buy it to find out!
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on September 1, 2005 by The Blue Sky Press
ISBN-10: 0439756685
ISBN-13: 9780439756686
288 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalMonday, August 3, 2020 at 3:24 pm55 stars
    Ever since I was I child, I had laughter and fun because of this wonderful book! It makes me laugh and giggle so much I started crying! I loved the movie better than the book, but I loved it! Someday, when I grow up, my kids are going to love this book, and other kids will love it too!
    • theodd1sout1
      theodd1sout1Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 11:08 am55 stars
      it is a good book because it has a lot of *ahem* you know what humor in it and thats something that children really enjoy and it explains that when you do something- for example : making your school principal a comic book superhero- you really need to think about the consequences.
      • ellenod
        ellenodThursday, May 21, 2020 at 1:07 pm44 stars
        I'ts so funny and that's like my favourite book just because it's funny and on TV.That's craxzy theres even a movie!
        • willthebest
          willthebestThursday, May 14, 2020 at 11:54 am44 stars
          I really liked it because it talks about the problems George and Harold have when they use the hypno ring. After, they make their mean principal turn into Captain Underpants. Many problems go wrong when they turn the principal into Captain Underpants.
          • sachinWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 4:14 pm
            i love this book because it is very funny
            • sjsjSaturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:08 pm
              The first book in this series paves the way for the sequels! It is very enjoyable and has great humor! In the book, two school-age kids named George Beard and Harold Hutchins create a super hero called: (you guessed it) Captain Underpants! Unfortunately, their so-called hero jumps out of a window and starts causing a lot of trouble! Eventually, the Captain gets captured by a villain named Dr. Diaper (who is planning to blow up the moon). Can the duo save him, or will they witness the end of the world (and moon)?
              • sjsj
                sjsjFriday, May 1, 2020 at 8:42 am44 stars
                The first book in this series paves the way for the sequels! It is very enjoyable and has great humor! In the book, two school-age kids named George Beard and Harold Hutchins create a super hero called: (you guessed it) Captain Underpants! Unfortunately, their so-called hero jumps out of a window and starts causing a lot of trouble! Eventually, the Captain gets captured by a villain named Dr. Diaper (who is planning to blow up the moon). Can the duo save him, or will they witness the end of the world (and moon)?
                • flowerWednesday, April 22, 2020 at 8:08 pm
                  loved it
                  • BubMonday, April 20, 2020 at 12:28 pm
                    This book was very funny and had cool graphics. I would totally recommend this book to someone because then they could see for there self that this book is very funny.
                    • ALEJANDRA Tuesday, March 31, 2020 at 3:49 pm
                      This book love May this hippy 🤣🤣🤪😺😺