Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.274262
Ben Ripley enrolls in ski school, where the slopes, and the stakes, get really steep in this follow-up to the Edgar Award-nominated Spy School, Spy Camp, and Evil Spy School.

Thirteen-year-old Ben Ripley is not exactly the best student spy school has ever seen--he keeps flunking Advanced Self Preservation. But outside of class, Ben is pretty great at staying alive. His enemies have kidnapped him, shot at him, locked him in a room with a ticking time bomb, and even tried to blow him up with missiles. And he's survived every time.

After all that unexpected success, the CIA has decided to activate Ben for real.

The Mission: Become friends with Jessica Shang, the daughter of a suspected Chinese crime boss, and find out all of her father's secrets. Jessica wants to go to ski school in the Rocky Mountains, so a select few spy school students are going skiing too--under cover, of course.

Ben might not be able to handle a weapon (or a pair of skis), but he can make friends easy peasy. That is, until his best friend from home drops in on the trip and jeopardizes the entire mission...
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on October 11, 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481445626
ISBN-13: 9781481445627
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:20 pm44 stars
    This book was, one that I really enjoyed, but it's one of those books that have so many spoilers, so I'm just going to say this: I loved this book so much. I have always loved spy novels, and this one was so good! Ben has to mae friends with a rich girl in order to find out what her dad's planning to do, and Ben has to stop him. Can he? I hope you guys like this book!
    • starsabove
      starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:17 pm55 stars
      In this wonderful installment of Spy School, Ben goes to the mountains to ski. However, this is not the typical vacation. It is also a secret spy mission! His target ends up being a cute girl and his best friend just happens to vacation at the same place.
      • galactic0
        galactic0Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 10:53 am55 stars
        This book is the 4th book in the series. I have read most of them. It's my second favorite in the entire series (next to Spy Camp) and has lots of action and drama. I hope others will enjoy this book as much as I did.
        • pondla
          pondlaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:30 pm
          I really want to read this book
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 8:40 pm55 stars
            This is the fourth book in the Spy School series written by Stuart Gibbs. In this book, Ben Ripley is looking forward to winter break- it will be a nice break after he missed his summer break for Spy Camp last year. But when he finds out he is going on a spy mission into the ski mountains, he isn't so bummed. After all, it will be just like going on a ski vacation with all of his friends... right? But a spy mission is not always easy, and Ben needs to be prepared for the worst. Read the book to find out more! Happy Reading!
            • UmaimaSunday, May 17, 2020 at 4:25 am
              Its Funny and hilarious as the new series has a new twist and it seems like an interesting one because of its kind and it has to go to a different level and the fact it has a new film about it has a lot to be said for it has a 7th series in its history that has a
              • extrememsb
                extrememsbFriday, May 15, 2020 at 6:59 am44 stars
                This book is about a dangerous dealer who comes to America to ski. Ben's mission is to get close to his daughter so he can take down the dealer. Along the way, Ben's best friend from normal school crashes the party. He knows nothing about the spy school. Will Ben successfully complete his mission? I liked this book because it connects well with the last book. It was also really fun to read. It is kinda suspenseful to.
                • toodorky
                  toodorkyThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:45 pm55 stars
                  I thought that this book was my favorite in the series so far! Ben is sent to Colorado for a top secret mission. The spy is pretending to be on a ski vacation, but really he needs to be friends with the daughter of criminal mastermind Leo Shang to uncover a deep secret and plot. This book was full of surprises, and I hope that the next book is just as good as this one!
                  • bookfan2008
                    bookfan2008Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 1:43 pm55 stars
                    Wow this book was great! It's about a boy named Ben Ripley. He goes to an undercover spy school to train to be a spy. He's a pretty good spy. Except he is not good at self preservation. He has actually gotten through many hard things at spy school. And in this book the cia at his school decides to send Ben too a highly eleagent ski resort! And he isn't the best at sking. Well here's why he's acutally going tho... He was asked to become a fake friend of Jessica Shang, she's a daughter of a maybe chinese crime boss! He is basicly gonna go skiing undercover! Cool, right?! Read this!
                    • coolweirddork
                      coolweirddorkFriday, May 8, 2020 at 10:55 am44 stars
                      Its a good book