Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.274262
Ben Ripley enrolls in ski school, where the slopes, and the stakes, get really steep in this follow-up to the Edgar Award-nominated Spy School, Spy Camp, and Evil Spy School.

Thirteen-year-old Ben Ripley is not exactly the best student spy school has ever seen--he keeps flunking Advanced Self Preservation. But outside of class, Ben is pretty great at staying alive. His enemies have kidnapped him, shot at him, locked him in a room with a ticking time bomb, and even tried to blow him up with missiles. And he's survived every time.

After all that unexpected success, the CIA has decided to activate Ben for real.

The Mission: Become friends with Jessica Shang, the daughter of a suspected Chinese crime boss, and find out all of her father's secrets. Jessica wants to go to ski school in the Rocky Mountains, so a select few spy school students are going skiing too--under cover, of course.

Ben might not be able to handle a weapon (or a pair of skis), but he can make friends easy peasy. That is, until his best friend from home drops in on the trip and jeopardizes the entire mission...
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on October 11, 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481445626
ISBN-13: 9781481445627
25 Book Reviews
  • reapuu
    reapuuMonday, May 24, 2021 at 1:53 am44 stars
    Awesome mystery and suspense as usual in the Spy School series. Thumbs up to Stuart Gibbs for that. The whole plot and story line plus the character’s traits made me laugh from start to end. Ben is really smart with numbers but is totally rubbish at fighting (no offense, Ben!) and Erica is beautiful, and amazingly athletic and knows pretty much every sport, except... skiing? The CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) usually sends Ben, Erica and the gang to exciting yet life risking adventures to defeat SPYDER, an evil organization that always has a master plan to take over the world and blame it on someone else. But this time, they’re targeting a Chinese billionaire named Leo Shang. The objective is to get close to Jessica Shang, Leo’s daughter. Ben is friendly so if he becomes friends with Jessica, he may become closer to finding out Leo’s plan to... cause destruction. But everything goes wrong when Mike’s best friend who is CONVINCED that Ben is a normal human but catches him acting very weirdly... almost like an agent? I’m not gonna say any more though, read Spy Ski School if you want to find out more!
    • toono
      toonoSunday, March 21, 2021 at 10:23 am44 stars
      Don’t get me wrong this book is AMAZING and you DO have to read it (along with every other book in the series) but, the Spy School series is a bit repetitive and it usually goes something like this: an evil group of people try to do something bad Ben going into the seen as bait, usually without realizing. There is an obstacle the have to get around, nobody can figure out there plan but Ben figures it at at the last minute. The world is saved! Although this is the mane gists I totally recommend.
      • zoe2
        zoe2Monday, January 4, 2021 at 1:12 pm55 stars
        This is a awesome book. I totally recommend it.
        • zoe2
          zoe2Monday, January 4, 2021 at 1:05 pm55 stars
          love this book.❤📘
          • jb9
            jb9Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:35 am44 stars
            This is such a great book and book series and you should really read this book and this series. 2020
            • blossomreader
              blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:20 pm44 stars
              This book was, one that I really enjoyed, but it's one of those books that have so many spoilers, so I'm just going to say this: I loved this book so much. I have always loved spy novels, and this one was so good! Ben has to mae friends with a rich girl in order to find out what her dad's planning to do, and Ben has to stop him. Can he? I hope you guys like this book!
              • starsabove
                starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:17 pm55 stars
                In this wonderful installment of Spy School, Ben goes to the mountains to ski. However, this is not the typical vacation. It is also a secret spy mission! His target ends up being a cute girl and his best friend just happens to vacation at the same place.
                • galactic0
                  galactic0Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 10:53 am55 stars
                  This book is the 4th book in the series. I have read most of them. It's my second favorite in the entire series (next to Spy Camp) and has lots of action and drama. I hope others will enjoy this book as much as I did.
                  • pondla
                    pondlaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:30 pm
                    I really want to read this book
                    • sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 8:40 pm55 stars
                      This is the fourth book in the Spy School series written by Stuart Gibbs. In this book, Ben Ripley is looking forward to winter break- it will be a nice break after he missed his summer break for Spy Camp last year. But when he finds out he is going on a spy mission into the ski mountains, he isn't so bummed. After all, it will be just like going on a ski vacation with all of his friends... right? But a spy mission is not always easy, and Ben needs to be prepared for the worst. Read the book to find out more! Happy Reading!