Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2614 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • wiseowlbookworm
    wiseowlbookwormSunday, July 23, 2017 at 6:09 pm55 stars
    This book is about Raina. She knocks out her 2 front teeth. This book tells of her story of her dental chaos. You will love this book. This is a great.
    • happyace
      happyaceSunday, July 23, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
      I really like Raina Telegemiers books. I have read almost all off them. I am really hoping if any more of her books comes out
      • smallpaul12
        smallpaul12Saturday, July 22, 2017 at 1:42 pm
        love this book!!!!
        • ☺☺☺☺swimmerThursday, July 20, 2017 at 3:42 pm
          omg this book is really good I totally recommend this book
          • luna83281
            luna83281Monday, July 17, 2017 at 8:42 pm44 stars
            i loved it! it was a very good slice of life novel.i am so happy for Raina. evan though it was a long,long complicated journey with lots of twist and turns ,and embarrassing experiences;everything turned out all right.for all the people that are thinking about reading it,this what i have to say:go for it! i promise that you that this book will go beyond your expectations.
            • hon99Monday, July 17, 2017 at 5:25 pm
              I love this book I read this 10 times
              • Sas21Monday, July 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm
                This book is amazing! I read a few months ago and it is one of the best books I have read! I would definitely recommend this book.
                • summerstar
                  summerstarMonday, July 17, 2017 at 2:42 pm
                  This book is great! You should really read it if you haven't. Raina is such a great character, especially in this book. You will smile while you read the book smile!
                  • kgautam
                    kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 2:01 pm55 stars
                    smile is one of the greatest autobiographies ever written! Raina Telgemeier is a great storytelleter, and this story flows so smoothly! Smile shows the hardships of life, through a funny but heartwarming book.
                    • howlergirl
                      howlergirlSunday, July 16, 2017 at 8:00 pm55 stars
                      In this book everything starts with a big fall and some teeth problems. In this book many things happen.(including a lot of visits to the dentist.)Some friends are lost, and some friends are made. Many things in Raina's life change and in the end her smile is brand new. I really did love this book and I already did recommend it! My friend read it and now she's in love with the Raina Telgemeier series.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover wrote:

                      oh and witches and magic evil magic
                      Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

                      booklover wrote:

                      this a great book for people who...
                      Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

                      booklover wrote:

                      best book ever
                      The Lemonade War (The Lemonade W...