Smile

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2395 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • HANNAH JENNINGSTuesday, March 21, 2017 at 10:12 am
    I have this BOOK💖❤
    • HANNAH JENNINGSTuesday, March 21, 2017 at 10:05 am
      Smile is great BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! and SO GOOD
      • cute_cookie
        cute_cookieThursday, March 16, 2017 at 9:53 am
        This book is great everyone should read this book!!!!!!!!!! This book was so funny and incredible I have read this book 5 times. Such an amazing book.
        • wilsokei000
          wilsokei000Monday, March 13, 2017 at 5:18 pm33 stars
          i'm not so into graphic novels but this was a cool book I totally recommend it to girls and boys because it is really popular in my grade!
          • ltdeady
            ltdeadySaturday, March 11, 2017 at 6:13 pm55 stars
            This is a relly great book this book was the book that goot me into all the other Tegelmeir books.
            • tcreamy123
              tcreamy123Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 1:13 pm
              I LOVE this book! I think it is a book just like Dork Diaries. It is a real book that you can relate to and it is on of those books that keep you reading!
              • ?Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 6:44 am
                I can relate to this book because it was hard when I got braces and I didn't know what my friends would say. I really enjoyed this book, I thought it was interesting and hilarious at times. Rihanna had ruined her mouth in one fall. She has to fix them so her friends won't make fun of her and so she doesn't get embarrassed.
                • UnknownWednesday, March 8, 2017 at 6:28 am
                  I really enjoyed the book smile is a very good book and was very interesting and funny. It was about Raina who took a fall and lost and broke some of her teeth and ruined some of her mouth. Now she has to do all these things to fix them. I really enjoyed it because of all the drama with friends and all her teeth
                  • hannah_kwonnMonday, March 6, 2017 at 6:19 pm
                    Smile, by Raina Telegmeier, is one of my all time favorite graphic novels. It shows the heart of a teenager, with problems (some indepth and some not so much), and lets the readers know how Raina dealt with them. The graphic novel also portrays the meaning of peer pressure, and having the right friends--even if they might seem nerdy or "uncool." The novel showed how someone found their "call", like in Raina's case, art (and The Little Mermaid) and how Raina reached her goals in some surprising ways. Smile displays how to be positive, even through annoying siblings, fights, dental problems, and some friends who turned out to be not-so-fun-to-be-with.
                    • tortoise
                      tortoiseTuesday, March 7, 2017 at 11:18 pm55 stars
                      I agree. I am trying to save enough money to get all of Raina Telgemeler's books. My favourite one is Ghosts, but I also like Drama.
                    • mayaawsome07
                      mayaawsome07Saturday, March 4, 2017 at 8:06 am
                      I loved this book and i couldn't believe that everything in this book actually happened to her

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...