Smile

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2582 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • railz
    railzSaturday, June 24, 2017 at 6:57 am33 stars
    I like this book because it reminded me about my own life. I have to get braces and I'm a little scared, but in the book she is brave and her smile turns out nice in the end.
    • divadancer101
      divadancer101Saturday, June 24, 2017 at 5:29 am44 stars
      This Graphic novel is about Raina's experience about getting her teeth fixed and going through middle school. There are many twists and turns along the way. Overall it was a good book.
      • m1lk3y_w4y
        m1lk3y_w4yFriday, June 23, 2017 at 3:37 pm55 stars
        Smile is an outstanding graphic novel written by Raina Telgemeier. This book is about Raina, who wants nothing more than being a normal sixth grader. Of course, that is not going to happen. Raina falls one night, and ended up getting her braces, surgery, headgear, and a retainer with fake teeth. She looked like Frankenstein. What could get worse than this? An earthquake, unfriendly friends, unexpected problems, and more. What will Raina do to cope with all these problems? To find out, you have to read Smile, which you will not be able to put down and you will probably find out why this book is titled Smile.
        • rainkit309
          rainkit309Friday, June 23, 2017 at 1:30 pm55 stars
          I love that this book is a true story and it really happened to the author who actually writes a book about it. She has so many embarrassing things happen to her but she keeps on going and this book tells everybody in the world about her experience (even if she was really embarrassed about it).
          • din10
            din10Thursday, June 22, 2017 at 8:52 pm
            this was great
            • sam101307
              sam101307Thursday, June 22, 2017 at 5:07 pm55 stars
              One night a girl a girl was dropping one of her friend off before she went home. She tripped and fell. Her teeth came out and she was bleeding. The mother that was dropping her friend off called her mom and she came as quick as she can. She had to go to the dentist and get braces. Her teeth were crooked and some were lost. She has to deal with having braces.
              • levi0sa
                levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 4:04 pm55 stars
                i loved this book it is about this girl who falls and hurts her teeth and has to get braces i would recommend this book to people have experienced teeth drama.
                • lotusdance
                  lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:41 pm44 stars
                  I like how the author, Raina writes about her going through middle school and braces. I enjoyed being able to relate to the story a bit myself. I would recommend this to people who like comics and might have gone through braces.
                  • lotusdance
                    lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 10:55 am44 stars
                    Smile is about the author, Raina during high school and her teeth problems. After things like braces, Raina feels her teeth will never be normal.
                    • purple_bookworm
                      purple_bookwormThursday, June 22, 2017 at 5:28 am
                      This book, along with its sequel makes an excellent series!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile