Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3375 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • colcrazycousins
    colcrazycousinsTuesday, February 25, 2020 at 3:29 pm55 stars
    BEST. BOOK. EVER. I love all the Raina T books but this one is a favorite. I have had 4 teeth pulled out and I am getting spacers soon. I love it because of the comics in it, and much more. I think it should get 100 out of 100 stars or even more. To all of you that are reading this, Have an AMAZING day!!!
    • 1elitearaiza
      1elitearaizaSunday, February 23, 2020 at 4:04 pm
      This is a book that i can connect to because it kinda reminds me of my childhood which brought a smile my face i would love to tell everyone of how a great book this is.
      • slyterclaw53
        slyterclaw53Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 4:41 am44 stars
        I can relate to this story, considering I have a mouth full of braces, and my dad underwent two surgeries and had braces for 8 years.
        • bsc
          bscWednesday, February 19, 2020 at 8:07 pm55 stars
          Had teeth drama before? Raina goes through lots of different things with her teeth, including braces. I had/will again have braces and they are soooo uncomfortable at first. Loved this book
          • gervaisgirl
            gervaisgirlTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 5:29 pm55 stars
            I really loved this book because I also have braces. They're a little uncomfortable, but It's not bad when I get used to it.
            • despacecat
              despacecatThursday, February 13, 2020 at 7:57 am44 stars
              Much humor, but not too appropriate for ages 7 and lower. It's a very good book for older though! Great Job Raina Telgemeier! Love your books!
              • Mayflower7Tuesday, February 4, 2020 at 5:04 pm
                i read it many times! its great!
                • woodhshaw
                  woodhshawMonday, February 10, 2020 at 8:40 am55 stars
                  cool, that is great.
                • bookfan2008
                  bookfan2008Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                  amazing book! Its my favorite book out of all the Raina teligimier
                  • amisha640
                    amisha640Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 9:37 am55 stars
                    this is about rainas childhood how she lost her two front teeth found out her "freinds" were fake and were using her theres more but i dont wanna spoil
                    • memergirl11
                      memergirl11Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 5:47 am55 stars
                      I have read this book probably more than 6 times but I really love it raina's stories are very inspiring and are great for all ages <3