Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3312 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bananamana
    bananamanaTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 8:13 am55 stars
    This book is AMAZING!!!!! it's basically a girl's life and she gets braces............ its like real life sometimes theres hard days or weeks but it all turns out somehow and in this case it all turned out with her braces and she had a good rest of a teenager life..
    • waddlesgmes
      waddlesgmesSaturday, October 19, 2019 at 7:52 am55 stars
      OH MY GOD. Sorry, I LOVE this book. I can connect to this book because i have to get braces next month. 5 out of 5 stars book.
      • riley_108
        riley_108Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:18 pm44 stars
        The reason i rated this book a 4 star rating is because this book is cool and very interesting. I would think if somebody fell on concrete and their two front teeth fell out you would be embarrassed. You would be even more embarrassed it you had to were a head gear and explain what happen to you for all of your friends. I can relate because I had to were braces but not a headgear and it was pretty embarrassing to go to school the next day with braces on and even more embarrassing for people who have were a headgear on.
        • 22trans
          22transThursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm44 stars
          The reason why I would recommend this book is because you can relate to it easily. It's a book about the main character that fell and broke her two front teeth and had gotten braces. She was very embarrassed about wearing headgear as most would be.
          • reiley628576
            reiley628576Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 2:54 pm44 stars
            This book is a really good book if you dell insecure about something.This book is about a girl who fell and knocked her two front teeth out.She was really scare she was going to gt made fun of.In the end she was not afraid anymore.I can kind of relate to this because I chipped my tooth but it is all fixed now and everything is better.I really think you should read the book Smile.
            • koolcousins
              koolcousinsSunday, October 6, 2019 at 3:05 pm55 stars
              this is the best book ever!!!
              • carebear0518
                carebear0518Thursday, October 3, 2019 at 9:43 am
                It was such a great book I don't know how I was so lucky to get it☺
                • person Monday, September 30, 2019 at 7:15 am
                  one of the best books I have ever read
                  • ReneeSunday, September 29, 2019 at 11:07 am
                    Wow what a great book!!!
                    • 13iamgroot
                      13iamgrootSaturday, September 28, 2019 at 4:22 pm44 stars
                      My friends were talking about Raina Telgemeier's books and were shocked to hear that I hadn't read any of them! My friend brought "Smile" and told me to read it. I thought that I wouldn't like it since it was a graphic novel, but it was my turn to be shocked! I really loved this book because it was very easy to relate to. I loved that it was a true story about the author, Raina, and that she didn't leave the embarrassing parts out of the book. Throughout the course of this novel, Raina travels through serious dental drama, friends who don't respect her, and school (as always.) She learns that life is better when you smile and stand up for yourself. I am looking forward to reading Telgemeier's other books to see if they are just as good. It is an easy read (I read it twice in one sitting!) but still a fantastic novel to read again and again. I would recommend this to all middle schoolers.