Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2752 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • tenten
    tentenThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:16 pm55 stars
    I LOVE THIS BOOK SOOOOOOOO MUCH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • candycane948
      candycane948Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 11:49 am55 stars
      I love this book!!!!!!!!!
      • thelittlejoker
        thelittlejokerTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 10:34 am55 stars
        how can i put 10 stars on this <3
        • moonlilyTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 10:25 am
          Smile was published in 2010 By:Raina Telgemeier Smile is about a girl her name was Raina her and her friends were having a race and she tripped and her teeth got knocked out. And some boy trouble came. I loved this book so much. I think 3rd and up should read this book or if you enjoy drama and if you are a girl.
          • gotemytexa
            gotemytexaMonday, November 13, 2017 at 11:12 am55 stars
            It is such a good balance between happy and wordiness I really loved this book!
            • kitten15
              kitten15Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 12:07 pm
              This book sounds awesome I would love to read it!
              • bejuwubudi
                bejuwubudiThursday, November 9, 2017 at 8:33 am
                I love Smile so much it makes me read so much more and to love other books by this author. I know I am going to read this book many more times again. ITS SO AMAZING!!!
                • lovebug101
                  lovebug101Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 4:27 am44 stars
                  Love this book!!! I read it once and I fell in love. This story is sad but you will want to read the rest or the series!
                  • gagivykofy
                    gagivykofyMonday, November 6, 2017 at 11:18 am55 stars
                    Raina's journey is crazy. You start reading this book when Raina starts middle school and ends when she is a high school freshman. She has boy drama dental drama and to top it all of friend drama a true story called life.
                    • cutecat6
                      cutecat6Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 7:16 pm55 stars
                      You know having braces hurts. But for Raina, well, it hurts A LOT. I'm going to have braces soon, probably this year or next year. I'm already wearing headgear at night ( not yet ). Anyways, Raina gone to a lot of dontists ( I don't care if I spelled it wrong ). When I read this book, it made me feel sorry for her. Oh and she got her two front teeth from tripping. When she tripped, her mouth hit the ground and it was so bloody! Her front teeth were missing. One of them was on the ground the other, well, it was pushed in her gums.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                      If I Stay

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...