Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.347985
Jack's mom is gone, leaving him all alone on a campsite in Maine. Can he find his way back to Boston before the authorities realize what happened?

Ever since Jack can remember, his mom has been unpredictable, sometimes loving and fun, other times caught in a whirlwind of energy and "spinning" wildly until it's over. But Jack never thought his mom would take off during the night and leave him at a campground in Acadia National Park, with no way to reach her and barely enough money for food. Any other kid would report his mom gone, but Jack knows by now that he needs to figure things out for himself - starting with how to get from the backwoods of Maine to his home in Boston before Social Services catches on. With nothing but a small toy elephant to keep him company, Jack begins the long journey south, a journey that will test his wits and his loyalties - and his trust that he may be part of a larger herd after all.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on March 8, 2011 by Candlewick Press
ISBN-10: 0763641553
ISBN-13: 9780763641559
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MirihawkSaturday, July 8, 2017 at 8:34 am
    This is the book that started- REALLY started- my interest in new books. I have always read the same books over and over again. When I found this I realized not to judge a book by its cover (literally) SUMMARY: (no spoilers, you find this out in the first 5 pages) A mother abandons her child when they are camping in Maine, The boy has no source of communication, and he sets off to home. Twist: HE doesn't tell anyone his mother is missing because he'd be taken away and put in a foster home. An amazing book full of twists, like a police chase and a suspicious girl...
    • cherry_pop
      cherry_popSunday, November 13, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
      this book is full of twists and turns and plenty of action! you will be on the edge of your seat and wont want to put it down. I've recently read this book and think its really cool. what started as a camping trip turned out to be an elephant chase. I recommend this book to ages 10 and up, just because there are a few hard words and situations to understand. this is certainly one of my favorite books ever!
      • makgag1617
        makgag1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 8:21 am
        I liked malnju's comment because you told about the story and just saying oh "I loved this book", and thats it, you told a little about the book and thats why I liked it and now I want to read this book.
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesSaturday, October 15, 2016 at 3:03 pm
          This book was really good and it was interesting reading about how Jack survived on his own, unfotunatly the story got repeatative and that made it a little boring but i still enjoyed it throughly.
          • joamarie
            joamarieThursday, May 19, 2016 at 12:44 pm44 stars
            This was a really good book. It reminded me of Runaway by Wendelin Van Draanen, but with a boy main character.
            • cupcakegirl98
              cupcakegirl98Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at 12:50 pm55 stars
              I LOVE this book sooooooooooooooooooo much! Especially the quotes at the beginning of each chapter.
              • alee1
                alee1Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 6:43 pm55 stars
                This book tells αbout α boy full of confidence and is αdventurous! This book teαches you that you mαy stαrt out smαll but you'll end big αnd forget αll your feαrs! Totαlly recommend this book!
                • malnju
                  malnjuTuesday, December 15, 2015 at 5:20 pm
                  Have you ever been on a long walk that never ends? Have you ever walked from Acadia national park to York Maine before? Well that happened to Jack in Small as an Elephant by Jennifer Richard Jacobson. Jack goes on a camping trip with his mother to Acadia National Park. He wakes up the next morning and his mother is gone. He didn't know what to do at first. But he went on a journey by himself. Some people knew and they tried to help him but he ran away by the time they tired to him.i really recommend this to children 10 and up. I think it is a really good book and it has a lot of sad moments and good moments, but over all it was a really good book I would give the book a five star rating.
                  • melpell1617
                    melpell1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 5:02 pm
                    your review makes me want to read the book. i think your review tells a good amount of information
                    • norsla1617
                      norsla1617Wednesday, October 26, 2016 at 12:37 pm
                      This book is really good. I thought you're review explained it really well.
                    • bracon
                      braconTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 11:12 am
                      This sounds like a great book I've read small as an elephant and loved it
                      • sammci
                        sammciTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 11:07 am
                        This book is so AMAZING! There is so many great details in it, it's sad but everything gets better.