The companion to Raina Telgemeier's #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir, SMILE.

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
907 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jenny12345678
    jenny12345678Thursday, February 23, 2017 at 6:32 pm
    I read this book a while ago. It is actually very interesting for me to read because I have also really wanted a sister. After reading this book, I have realized that I am probably better off an only child. It was funny to read the parts where Raina tries to play with her baby sister. In the book, Raina's family goes to Colorado to visit her cousins. On the car, she listens to music on her Walkman. When they arrive, Raina tries to find her cousin that used to play with her when they were little, but finds that she was shopping. At night, she sleeps with her teddy bear and her cousins make fun of her, since they thought that she was too old for it, including her favorite cousin. Raina ends up trying to look older by puting on make-up and tries to fit in with her cousins. I would recommend this to people who liked the first book, Smlie and people who like reading graphic novels. I really enjoyed reading it and it was fun to learn about Raina.
    • bunnyareawesome
      bunnyareawesomeThursday, February 23, 2017 at 4:05 pm
      i love it its so like my brother ad me.
      • Jayawesome12Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 9:57 am
        I love this book
        • TheadoraWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 9:56 am
          Book was good but not to good. I could not stop reading but it was a ok book.
          • paygelchamberla
            paygelchamberlaWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 8:40 am
            my sister has this book and i love it so much i steal it from her to read it. i have read SISTERS 40 times
            • sugarsweets8155
              sugarsweets8155Sunday, February 12, 2017 at 10:31 am55 starsFeatured
              This book is actually a true story about the author,Raina Telgemeier. Raina (the author), Amara(her little sister),Will(their little little brother ) and Mom are going on a road trip to Colorado to visit their Mom's side of the family . Their Dad ,however is going on a plane because there's no room in their Mom's car. Raina secretly packed colored pencils because Amara wants to borrow them for the trip to draw. Raina also brings her walkman, a music radio thing that you can listen anytime. She got it at Christmas when she was about 10 or 11 years old. She now listens to it on the car(in the story),but sometimes her walkman runs out of batteries. My favorite part is when Raina and her family goes the the national monument of dinosaurs gift shop to buy souvenirs AND when they stop at the gas station to buy snacks. I recommend this book for kids 6 and up( who have brothers or sisters)because it shows compassion between you and your siblings( in the very back of the book. I really like it and couldn't stop (I almost stayed up all night reading this).
              • samisam
                samisamSunday, February 12, 2017 at 8:56 am55 stars
                i loved all the detail this book had with their words and how it a comic so that it is easier and faster to read since it is up to 600 pages and most pages are only pictures.
                • lanabug
                  lanabugWednesday, February 8, 2017 at 2:26 pm55 stars
                  because i love her books i have read ghosts sisters smile and drama. Raina rules
                  • ayyan
                    ayyanWednesday, February 1, 2017 at 3:41 pm
                    I have not red this book but I am going to check it out at the library
                    • cocodancer
                      cocodancerWednesday, February 1, 2017 at 1:06 pm55 stars
                      WOW this book is one of my fav's its shows how tuff sisters can be

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      joe wrote:

                      i really love the feel and the ...
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      it was veryyyyyyyyyyy cool
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      i really like it
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      wobblepenguin12

                      i dont think its for grades 9-12...
                      Boy in the Striped Pyjamas