The companion to Raina Telgemeier's #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir, SMILE.

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
918 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • EmmiFriday, March 17, 2017 at 6:25 am
    I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH because they aways fight and its funny
    • mickey-chen
      mickey-chenWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 11:24 am55 stars
      This book is amazing! I love how the story is a comic chapter book, and that it explains a period in life the author has experienced.
      • ltdeady
        ltdeadySaturday, March 11, 2017 at 6:15 pm55 stars
        This is a relly great book. This book relly tought me to love reading.
        • a md Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 4:17 pm
          its a good book
          • cakerealms
            cakerealmsThursday, March 9, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
            This is a very good comic book and has good illustrations and words!!! Mark this 5 stars it is so cool.
            • borntoswim19
              borntoswim19Monday, March 6, 2017 at 6:37 pm
              I really loved this book!
              • alya
                alyaSunday, March 5, 2017 at 9:08 am55 stars
                this book is amazing for girls! It keeps you on the edge of your seat and it makes you want to keep reading more about Raina. I strongly recommend this book.
                • dsudh001
                  dsudh001Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 7:11 pm
                  It's a really good book about sisters' rough relationships and how they have to accept each other. It's a beautiful book that you can read multiple times!
                  • vollyballa
                    vollyballaThursday, March 2, 2017 at 8:30 am
                    i like this book i have head it about a million times and it is still a good book
                    • emmaplays2546
                      emmaplays2546Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 9:21 am55 stars
                      Raina and Amara are basically me and my sister. The comparison is so similar.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...