This smart, romantic, and totally original coming-of-age YA contemporary debut about a Korean-American teen falling in (and out) of love is perfect for fans of The Sun is Also a Star, Eleanor & Park, and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo--his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents' traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes to romance--"Date Korean"--which proves complicated when Frank falls for Brit Means, who is smart, beautiful--and white. Fellow Limbo Joy Song is in a similar predicament, and so they make a pact: they'll pretend to date each other in order to gain their freedom. Frank thinks it's the perfect plan, but in the end, Frank and Joy's fake-dating maneuver leaves him wondering if he ever really understood love--or himself--at all.
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on September 12, 2019 by Penguin
ISBN-10: 0241373433
ISBN-13: 9780241373439
1 Book Review
  • adventure0329
    adventure0329about 1 month55 starsFeatured
    What do you do when your family's expectations for you are different that what you want for yourself? Frank Li is a Korean American teenager living in Southern California. Due to his parent's traditional upbringing, they have a set of cultural expectations for him that don't correspond with modern America. For example, Frank is allowed to date exclusively Korean girls. With an older sister who was disowned for marrying a Black man, Frank doesn't want to defy his parents wishes. . . until he he falls hard for Brit Means. Quirky, intelligent, and beautiful, Brit is Frank's dream girl. Except that Brit is white, making her a non-ideal match for Frank's parents. Desperate not to let Brit slip through his fingers, Frank becomes ensnared in a delicate web of lies. But the longer he's trapped, the harder it is to break out without losing everything. Passionate, hilarious, and unique, "Frankly in Love" will pull you in and never let you go.