Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361434
Peril has been loyal to Queen Scarlet, who used her fatal firescales to kill countless dragons in the SkyWing arena. Now, Peril is loyal to Clay, the only dragonet who has ever been her friend. So when Scarlet threatens Jade Mountain Academy, Peril sets off to find her former queen, stop her, and save the day, no matter what it takes.

There's just one problem: a strangely persistent SeaWing, Turtle, insists on coming along, too. Turtle is worried about his friends, who left to search for Scarlet and haven't returned. Peril is worried that she might accidentally burn Turtle -- or burn him on purpose, for being so annoying -- and frustrated that she keeps saying and doing the wrong things. She can't escape her firescales, and she can't escape her reputation as the deadliest dragon in Pyrrhia.

So when she's offered a chance to trade everything for a second chance, Peril has to decide who she's really loyal to . . . and whether her own scales might actually be worth saving.



Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 27, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545685451
ISBN-13: 9780545685450
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wingsoffiregeekThursday, May 10, 2018 at 8:09 pm
    i love this book is is the best book in the world and the cover is the best
    • wolfdog
      wolfdogTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
      Very nice, I really do like Peril and her fire scales, it's weird how she only has fire scales out of ALL the Skywings in the kingdom, and she could be the only one with fire scales in the entire 7 tribes. [SPOILER for those who have not read book 10 ending] I personally think she could have had an animus enchant her with fire scales... or.. [official spoiler] she could be a direct descendant from the lost continent dragons. NEW DRAGONS ARE COMING!!! I saw the book #11 cover, an insect-looking dragon was there. They looked a lot like Moonwatcher. Basically, they looked like a shiny rainwing mixed in with insect antennaes. And they looked like a nightwing too.
      • tofu22
        tofu22Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:12 pm55 stars
        There is only one word that explains this book and it's seires.... SO AMAZING I HAVE TO READ THE WHOLE SEIRES IN A WEEK!!! I know that it is mutibul words, but it really deservs it. Have a good evening where were you are in the world! ;-)
        • inh8
          inh8Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 5:46 pm55 stars
          I just finished reading thing this book, and I loved it! Although at first, I was kind of suprised when Peril took off the neclace. I mean, she was loyal to EX-queen Scarlet, and the neclace was enchanted to make her forget about Clay and be even MORE loyal to Scarlet. ( Wich i didn't think was even possible! ) It was also shocking to learn that Scarlet had a grandson. I'm ITCHING to read the next book, and I liked this one!
          • IvanTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 9:46 am
            Wings of Fire:Escaping Peril. By: Tui T. Sutherland Published: December 30, 2014 This book talks about a dragon afraid of her own scales. Peril can kill other dragons just by touching them. In this book you will find out what happens after she leaves Jade Mountain and goes on her own journey. I liked the book because I liked the mystery that the book holds. I also like it because I love dragons. I think grades 4-8 would find interest in this book. Although I would recommend this book for people that like fantasy and dragons.
            • BBrennaTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 11:18 am
              I can't wait till I can read it! It looks so cool! I love peril!!!!!!
              • piglover_geek7
                piglover_geek7Monday, August 28, 2017 at 7:06 pm55 stars
                I decided to read this book because at the time I was into fantasy books and magic. I really like the genres too.
                • gladdisiator
                  gladdisiatorFriday, May 5, 2017 at 3:42 pm55 stars
                  Written in the perspective from a returning character, the 8th book has a lot of twists and turns. Peril, leads a scary new book to be read, and also leads to many plot twists.
                  • magnacharge1600
                    magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 4:38 pm55 stars
                    This book is a good book. Well, I think it is. For me, I did not read it and did not have any interest in this book until I picked it up. And trust me, it is not very tempting.
                    • kell-bell
                      kell-bellSaturday, February 11, 2017 at 10:36 am55 stars
                      Awesome book! I love Peril.

                      More TopicsView in 3D