Peril has been loyal to Queen Scarlet, who used her fatal firescales to kill countless dragons in the SkyWing arena. Now, Peril is loyal to Clay, the only dragonet who has ever been her friend. So when Scarlet threatens Jade Mountain Academy, Peril sets off to find her former queen, stop her, and save the day, no matter what it takes.

There's just one problem: a strangely persistent SeaWing, Turtle, insists on coming along, too. Turtle is worried about his friends, who left to search for Scarlet and haven't returned. Peril is worried that she might accidentally burn Turtle -- or burn him on purpose, for being so annoying -- and frustrated that she keeps saying and doing the wrong things. She can't escape her firescales, and she can't escape her reputation as the deadliest dragon in Pyrrhia.

So when she's offered a chance to trade everything for a second chance, Peril has to decide who she's really loyal to . . . and whether her own scales might actually be worth saving.



Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 27, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545685451
ISBN-13: 9780545685450
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • IvanTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 9:46 am
    Wings of Fire:Escaping Peril. By: Tui T. Sutherland Published: December 30, 2014 This book talks about a dragon afraid of her own scales. Peril can kill other dragons just by touching them. In this book you will find out what happens after she leaves Jade Mountain and goes on her own journey. I liked the book because I liked the mystery that the book holds. I also like it because I love dragons. I think grades 4-8 would find interest in this book. Although I would recommend this book for people that like fantasy and dragons.
    • BBrennaTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 11:18 am
      I can't wait till I can read it! It looks so cool! I love peril!!!!!!
      • piglover_geek7
        piglover_geek7Monday, August 28, 2017 at 7:06 pm55 stars
        I decided to read this book because at the time I was into fantasy books and magic. I really like the genres too.
        • gladdisiator
          gladdisiatorFriday, May 5, 2017 at 3:42 pm55 stars
          Written in the perspective from a returning character, the 8th book has a lot of twists and turns. Peril, leads a scary new book to be read, and also leads to many plot twists.
          • magnacharge1600
            magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 4:38 pm55 stars
            This book is a good book. Well, I think it is. For me, I did not read it and did not have any interest in this book until I picked it up. And trust me, it is not very tempting.
            • kell-bell
              kell-bellSaturday, February 11, 2017 at 10:36 am55 stars
              Awesome book! I love Peril.
              • firethunder
                firethunderMonday, January 9, 2017 at 7:20 am
                I love this book wish it could be a movie
                • gameio1111
                  gameio1111Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 4:27 pm
                  I read #1,2,3,4,5,6,7 and now I want to read this
                  • temmiewing
                    temmiewingTuesday, October 25, 2016 at 5:09 pm55 stars
                    IT SICK !!!!! (as in awesome sick)
                    • Ricloud2Monday, October 17, 2016 at 7:56 am
                      I didn't know there was an eighth book.

                      More TopicsView in 3D