Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.664422
A humorous look at what it means to FINALLY turn twelve years old.

You can pierce your ears when you're twelve. You can go to the mall with your friends when you're twelve. You can babysit little Timmy next door when you're twelve. You can get a cell phone when you're twelve. Hey, you can even ride in the front passenger-side seat when you're twelve.
When you're twelve, when you're twelve, when you're twelve . . .
My name is Rory Swenson, and I've been waiting to turn twelve my whole life. In exactly 18 hours, 36 minutes, and 52 seconds, it will finally happen.
My life will officially begin.
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on June 1, 2011 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545052432
ISBN-13: 9780545052436
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hp_lover
    hp_loverWednesday, September 30, 2020 at 2:21 pm44 stars
    Pretty good!!!πŸ‘β€
    • amers_24
      amers_24Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 1:42 pm55 stars
      Loved it!!!β€πŸ‘
      • hedgeguin2
        hedgeguin2Saturday, July 11, 2020 at 5:20 pm55 stars
        This book, just like the other books in this series, is soooo good!! Wendy Mass is such a good writer, and she can captivate you to keep on reading and reading! I’m at the part where Rory is getting her new phone, a thing she’s been wanting to do since forever, but she can now get at 12. I can’t wait to keep on reading and finding out what Rory, the main character, does next! :D
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolThursday, June 25, 2020 at 12:29 pm
          this looks interesting!
          • toodorky
            toodorkyMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:30 am55 stars
            This book was so funny and nice! I loved it and would be a weird person not to give this book a five star. Rory has been looking forward to turning 13 for years, and now that it's here, she will be able to be like the other kids her grade has. She will be able to peirce her ears, shave her legs, get a phone, etc. But everything goes wrong at every thing she has hoped for. Rory discovers that just being herself is enough to live by.
            • fantasticreader
              fantasticreaderTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 8:26 am55 stars
              This book is so amazing. I read it 3 times and never got board of it! I love this book because it is so funny and it is part of the willow falls series. Also, it has some plot twists!
              • blossomreader
                blossomreaderFriday, May 1, 2020 at 8:27 am55 stars
                I got this book for my 12th birthday, and it's amazing! It taught me some lessons. When your the only kid at school without a phone, or a way to chat with friends, you feel left out. When you don't get to go to the mall without your parents or wear makeup or even babysit, you really feel like the odd one out. This is just like Rory Swenson, a girl who can't do any of those things. But that's going to change the very next day, because Rory is turning 12, and her parents promised all of those things for her. They were hoping she would forget about it, but nope! Rory is so excited! But what if turning 12 wasn't the best thing for her? Nothing seems to be going her way, and Rory discovers that there's only one way to fix this: be herself. In this installment in the Willoe Falls series, there is magic, there is excitement, and believe it or not, there is birthdays! I really think you would enjoy this book!
                • auntieb
                  auntiebWednesday, January 15, 2020 at 10:40 am55 stars
                  Rory has been waiting for her 12th birthday forever! When she is 12 her parents said she could get a pet, babysit, go on a rollercoaster, etc! And Rory has it all planned out! But.....it doesn't turn out to be as exhilarating as thought it would be. Growing up isn't all it's cracked up to be!
                  • sylvie55555
                    sylvie55555Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
                    This is the second book in the willow falls series written by Wendy Mass. In this book Rory can't wait for birthday. She's finally 12, and she can do all the things she wants to do. But Rory starts to realized that maybe the things she wants are not the things she needs. I highly recommend this book.
                    • sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
                      This is the second book in the willow falls series written by Wendy Mass. In this book Rory can't wait for birthday. She's finally 12, and she can do all the things she wants to do. But Rory starts to realized that maybe the things she wants are not the things she needs. I highly recommend this book.