Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.540620
“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

From the bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and co-author with James Patterson of I Funny, House of Robots, and Treasure Hunters, comes a hilarious illustrated series about all the wacky things that happen when you live in a motel!


Eleven-year-old P. T. Wilkie may be the greatest storyteller alive. But he knows one thing for a fact: the Wonderland Motel is the best place a kid could ever live! All-you-can-eat poolside ice cream! A snack machine in the living room! A frog slide! A giant rampaging alligator! (Okay, that last one may or may not be made up.) There’s only one thing the Wonderland doesn’t have, though—customers. And if the Wonderland doesn’t get them soon, P.T. and his friend Gloria may have to say goodbye to their beloved motel forever.

They need to think BIG. They need to think BOLD. They need an OUTRAGEOUS plan. Luckily for them, Gloria is a business GENIUS, and OUTRAGEOUS is practically P.T.’s middle name. With Gloria’s smarts and P.T.’s world-famous stories and schemes, there’s got to be a way to save the Wonderland!

BONUS: Includes fun extras like P. T. Wilkie’s outrageous (and sometimes useful) things you learn living in a motel. Installment 1: How to say “Help! The toilet is clogged!” in over twenty languages!

Here's What People are saying about Welcome to Wonderland!

“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars! Kids who check into this madcap motel will want to stay forever!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

"So funny I fell off my bed!"--Izzy B., age 10

"Classic Grabenstein. The mystery should satisfy Grabenstein’s “Mr. Lemoncello” followers, and the humor and visuals will appeal to fans of his collaborations with James Patterson. This new series should be a hit."—School Library Journal

“A delight. P.T. is a hoot and a half. A funny, madcap dash. Grabenstein . . . threads in a mystery that blooms in the last act and that puts this particular read over the top."—Kirkus Reviews

“Charm galore. Easy and breezy, this well-paced novel . . . belongs in the hands of any readers wanting their bad guys bad, their good guys great, and a little of Wonderland’s promised fun in the sun.”The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0553536052
ISBN-13: 9780553536058
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ShanayaMonday, June 18, 2018 at 1:18 am
    This is amazing. I wish to go to wonderland .
    • iikitty
      iikittySunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:55 am55 stars
      "Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel" is, in short, Hilarious with a capital H! By the author of the Mr. Lemoncello series (which I love!), Jacky Ha-ha (which is the best!) and iFunny series (one of the best series ever!), Chris Gaberstein does it again! A hilarious graphic novel/ novel (is a novel but has graphic novel-like pictures), this book is about P.T Wilkie, who has an amazing motel filled with great things. But has no customers, and Gloria, his friend, and him help to make it the best motel ever
      • extrememsb
        extrememsbFriday, June 15, 2018 at 6:28 pm44 starsFeatured
        Ever stayed at a motel. If you have or haven't then, you should go to the Wonderland motel. This is the worlds wackiest motel! The main characters are P.T. Wilkie, Gloria, grandpa, and mom. One day a person comes from the bank and says that they have to pay a $100,000 balloon payment. Now you see, the Wonderland hasn't been getting a lot of customers. Luckily, Gloria is like a business women. She knows like everything about business. They make a lot of program such as the frog show and the treasure hunt which is available to the public. You would have to pay for certain things. A long time ago(1737) Then Sneemer brothers stole a $2,000,000,000 worth diamond. This person named Sheila Boom Boom Bailey hid it in the wonderland motel. P.T. eavesdrops what the brothers say . Thin they search for the diamonds at this zoo. This book was really awesome. This felt like a different type of an adventure book. I rate this book four out of five stars. This book is recommended to anyone. I feel like this book has an interest level of grades three and up. This is one of my favorite books!! I hope you enjoy this book!
        • auntieb
          auntiebThursday, June 14, 2018 at 11:03 am55 stars
          I really love Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel it makes you want to dive right in with P.T Wilkie and his grandfather and sing along to the frog karaoke and to dig for pirate's treasure! I also love love loved the Illustrations!! Such a well done book will be reading the sequels soon!
          • auntieb
            auntiebThursday, June 14, 2018 at 10:28 am55 stars
            I think Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel is a super fun imaginative book I love how P.T Wilkie and his grandfather are both so funny! This book has a great sense of humor I would highly suggest it I will be reading the 2nd and 3rd book very soon!
            • nybook2018
              nybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:39 pm
              Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel is one of the funniest books I have personally read and enjoyed. I have listened to it at least 10 times!
              • tybook2018
                tybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:36 am
                This book is the book my older brother read me and he always read the grandpa and p.t.'s accent really funny and always laughed when he read it!
                • eybook2018
                  eybook2018Monday, June 11, 2018 at 3:06 pm44 stars
                  This book is great in how the characters interact with what happens. And P.T and his grandpa is very funny. I wish that i could live in a motel.
                  • eybook2018
                    eybook2018Monday, June 11, 2018 at 2:39 pm44 stars
                    I like this book because P.t and his grandpa cracked me up! And i really like the series!
                    • awesomessb
                      awesomessbSaturday, June 9, 2018 at 11:01 am44 stars
                      The amusement park in Florida before Disney World is Walt Wilkie's Wonder World. It opened a year before Disney World in 1970. However, ever since then, The Wonderland has barely been able to stay open. That means to Grandpa's and P.T.'s dissatisfaction, they will never make it big like the Hiltons. However, they still hope to snatch the title of "Hottest Family Attraction in the Sunshine State" from Disney. With P.T.'s mom being the only real grown-up in the family, she is disappointed when Grandpa and P.T. give out free ice cream. To P.T., the Wonderland Motel is the best place a kid could live. Things start to go downhill when P.T.'s mom finds out that Grandpa took out a one hundred thousand dollar balloon payment a couple of years ago without telling anyone. Now they have to pay it back. P.T.'s mom thinks their only option is to sell the attraction, but P.T. is not ready to give up yet. They learn soon that they can make money by entertaining guests, but now P.T. meets a genius friend, Gloria, who will help him. Together they create a treasure map, and solve a mystery. I enjoyed this book. It was an interesting idea, the perfect place for a kid to live. There were bad guys and riddles. This is a great read for ages 7 and up!

                      More TopicsView in 3D