Upside-Down Magic (Upside-Down Magic #1)

Book 1 of 4 in the Upside-Down Magic Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.726913
From New York Times bestselling authors Sarah Mlynowski, Lauren Myracle, and Emily Jenkins comes a new, offbeat series about a group of misfits who set out to prove that life on the other side of ordinary has its charms.

It’s never easy when your magic goes wonky.

For Nory, this means that instead of being able to turn into a dragon or a kitten, she turns into both of them at the same timeβ€”a dritten.

For Elliott, the simple act of conjuring fire from his fingertips turns into a fully frozen failure.

For Andres, wonky magic means he’s always floating in the air, bouncing off the walls, or sitting on the ceiling.

For Bax, a bad moment of magic will turn him into a . . . actually, he’d rather not talk about that.

Nory, Elliott, Andres, and Bax are just four of the students in Dunwiddle Magic School’s Upside-Down Magic class. In their classroom, lessons are unconventional, students are unpredictable, and magic has a tendency to turn wonky at the worst possible moments. Because it’s always amazing, the trouble a little wonky magic can cause . . .

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545800463
ISBN-13: 9780545800464
76 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • Savage😜😜😜Thursday, October 19, 2017 at 1:22 pm
    Love it!!!πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹
    • rebel4life15
      rebel4life15Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 7:55 am44 stars
      Really Good, I wish I was and Upside Down Fluxer. I like the Dritten.
      • Adrianna21Wednesday, December 7, 2016 at 10:57 am
        This is a very cool book to erad you will wont to read it over and over πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŒπŸ˜—πŸ˜—πŸ˜•πŸ˜• πŸ˜˜πŸ˜‚πŸ‘ŒπŸ½βœŒπŸ»οΈπŸ™πŸΌπŸ‘†πŸΎπŸ‘ŠπŸΎ
        • Dog breathWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 10:48 am
          This is amazing Ialso love cats but this book is more important.I got this at the library
          • melpell1617
            melpell1617Wednesday, December 7, 2016 at 6:47 am55 starsFeatured
            Imagine you had magic abilities. The different kinds of magics in this book include flying, becoming an animal, going invisible, talking to animals, and making fire. The authors of Upside Down Magic are Sarah Mlynowski, Lauren Myracle and Emily Jenkins. The setting of this book is Dunwittle Middle School and Nory’s Aunt Margo’s house. It takes place in present day. Nory is the protagonist, She can turn into different animals until her magic started to go wonky. Nory is a native american with poofy hair. The antagonist is mostly her power because she tries really hard to be normal when her magic goes wonky. One conflicted is Nory ends up goes away with her aunt that she barely knows. Norys aunt lives in a small town in a small house. They always eat pizza after school. Conflicted two is one of her friends are in danger and could be lost for ever. The turning point of the second conflict is Nory helps her friend by using her magic. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes stores on magic.
            • babyaphmau
              babyaphmauWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 12:01 pm55 stars
              READ IT PLEEEEEEEEES :-)
              • babyaphmau
                babyaphmauWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                i love this book because it make me feal that at my house that i have a real kittn
                • smiley6
                  smiley6Saturday, October 8, 2016 at 5:21 pm
                  This book is awesome and creative ! It is about a group of magical misfits that are made fun of and bullied . They have to go to special magic classes.
                  • skycraft360
                    skycraft360Friday, September 30, 2016 at 7:25 am
                    Please read this book to see what good it is
                    • lionel123
                      lionel123Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 9:12 pm55 stars
                      I like how they have a goal then they realized that it was better to not accomplish their goal. I like how it is all about magic.I like how the animals mix when she tries to turn into a kitten. I like how it has made up words like bitten and skunkaphant and dritten.