Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on March 13, 2007 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440420474
ISBN-13: 9780440420477
150 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • dolphin8
    dolphin8Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 3:23 pm44 stars
    so far in this book it was relay cool . Fire went on in the hotel because they left the oven on the fixed it though. When they were on there trip they go lost but found the hotel still.
    • Puppygirl Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 2:34 pm
      I have never heard of it before but i could try it.
      • sports_star
        sports_starWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 10:42 am33 stars
        It's just alright..
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 9:02 am44 stars
          So the penderwicks ,Rosalind,skye,Jane and batty in this summer instead of going to a cottage they wanted to go to they go to a place called Arundel they discover magic in the gardens ,treasures and a boy called Jeffrey Tifton son of the owner but they had wonder adventures and a fun summer everyone should read this I recommend this to all ages I rate it 4 stars there isn't a dull spot in the book!😘😝😃😍-,pizzagirl7
          • belle252
            belle252Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 2:45 pm33 stars
            so far this book is pretty good i feel like some of the family is getting more attention and that makes me really want to know what the other people are thinking about the Penderwicks but I would definitley continue reading.
            • auntieb
              auntiebFriday, July 6, 2018 at 3:10 pm55 stars
              The Penderwicks is an amazing story of friendship and all sorts of fun adventures!!! I absolutely love this story and all the characters! The author has just done an amazing job making all the characters so charming! Read this book!
              • pinklife
                pinklifeThursday, July 5, 2018 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                I have never read it before but it sounds interesting
                • kenziegirl2008
                  kenziegirl2008Thursday, July 5, 2018 at 11:49 am
                  Rosalind, Batty, Skye, and Jane the four penderwick sisters are going on a trip to Arundel to stay in a cottage in the Berkshire mountains. The sisters soon make friends with the son of the owner of Arundel, but it is hard to get along with his mother. Read the book to find out what the Penderwick sisters do next!!
                  • lotusdance
                    lotusdanceThursday, July 5, 2018 at 7:15 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing! The book is about four sisters and their adventures while on vacation. It has a little bit of romance and of course suspense.
                    • katiebug37
                      katiebug37Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 2:18 pm44 stars
                      My cousins and I read this book together and we all thought that it was a really interesting book. There were some boring parts when it seemed like not much happened, but I really liked the book as a hole.

                      More TopicsView in 3D