Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on March 13, 2007 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440420474
ISBN-13: 9780440420477
166 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • veronica drinkMonday, November 5, 2018 at 8:57 am
    nice
    • veronica drinkMonday, November 5, 2018 at 8:57 am
      this book is so dum who ever made this book was a dum ditto brain
      • girlforgreen
        girlforgreenWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 1:10 pm55 stars
        I mean to say this politely, veronica drink, but I absolutely do not agree with you. I think that this is a sweet book. I really enjoyed it. Why didn't you like it?
      • armcginn
        armcginnWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 4:28 pm55 stars
        Join the Penderwicks on A summer adventure full of fun, excitement and joy! I think this book is a fun and easy book to read!
        • waterlily1255
          waterlily1255Saturday, August 25, 2018 at 5:55 pm33 stars
          I loved this book because of its array of characters. The Penderwicks are a highly infamous classic that everyone needs to read at some point in their life!!
          • jso6
            jso6Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 10:44 am44 stars
            The Penderwick sisters go to an estate called Arundel. Arundel's owner, Mrs. Tifton, does not like the sisters, but her son becomes friends with them. They work together to solve some mysteries. I liked this book, because it was interesting.
            • jaden07
              jaden07Monday, August 6, 2018 at 5:47 am
              this was an boring book. this was definitely not my favorite. it seemed like a boring classic . i dont recommend this book. im sorry for the negative review, i usually like all books.
              • mSaturday, August 4, 2018 at 7:02 am
                I think the books get better as you go along, so if you thought it was just okay, YOU NEED TO READ THE WHOLE SERIES. YOU WILL THANK ME FOR IT :D
                • wizardginnyl
                  wizardginnylMonday, August 27, 2018 at 9:38 am
                  I do not agree that you need to read the whole series if you do not like sadness because in penderwicks in spring batty is sad sometimes.
                • jwarne
                  jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:20 am
                  I got a little lost reading this book. I think because it's so big? I want to read it again, but we have books out at the library right now so I have to wait. This book is one I want to try again, because everybody says it's so good.
                  • bailey2005
                    bailey2005Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 9:25 am44 stars
                    This is such a funny book! I has started reading it, but I was too busy to finish it. Usually when there are alot of main characters it is confusing, but this made so much sense! I love how all the siblings had those meetings.
                    • toriburn
                      toriburnTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 11:00 am33 stars
                      The Penderwicks was about four sisters, Rosalind, Sky, Jane, and Batty. For their summer, they rent a house and meet two boys named Cagney and Jeffrey. they have some interesting adventures together, but then Jeffrey must go to military school and the sisters try to save him. Funny and well written, i dub 'the three stars.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins