Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.063170
When thirteen-year-old Ronan Truelove’s seemingly ordinary mom snatches him from school, then sets off on a high speed car chase, Ronan is shocked. His quiet, nerdy dad has been kidnapped? And the kidnappers are after him, too?

His mom, he quickly learns, is anything but ordinary. In fact, she’s a member of an ancient order of knights, the Blood Guard, a sword-wielding secret society sworn to protect the Pure—thirty-six noble souls whose safety is crucial if the world as we know it is to survive.

Now all those after-school activities—gymnastics, judo, survival training—she made him take, make sense. For suddenly Ronan is swept up in a sometimes funny, sometimes scary, but always thrilling adventure—dashing from one danger to the next, using his wits to escape the Bend Sinister, a posse of evil doers with strange powers. Falling in with two unlikely companions, Greta, a scrappy, strong-willed girl he’s never much liked and Jack, a devil-may-care teenage pickpocket, Ronan is left with only his wits and his mom’s last words of advice: Trust no one.

That’s a lot for an ordinary kid to deal with. But then again, maybe Ronan’s not ordinary at all.

 

Paperback
Published on March 2, 2017 by SCHOLASTIC CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ISBN-10: 1407137018
ISBN-13: 9781407137018
94 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • leahw
    leahwThursday, October 4, 2018 at 12:53 pm55 starsFeatured
    I recommend this book for people who love to read science fiction, magic, and adventure. You never know what is going to happen next or who is going to turn on the main charters. This book was one of the best I have ever read. I would recommend this book for 8 through 13-year-olds. If you also like the book series like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. I think you will really like it.
    • rrwwnn
      rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 5:58 pm
      I love this book! I would recommend this to all young readers. It's devilishly funny and has lots of action. The main character is running away from people who trying to kill him with a girl he hates and a teenager who pickpockets. All I want to say is: the people who know Ronan's (the main character) first name and has his picture so they can find him is sort of creepy.
      • memoiloveit
        memoiloveitMonday, September 5, 2016 at 4:31 am44 stars
        This book starts out normal, until the author adds more action. I recommend it for anyone because it is a mystery and an adventure at the same time.
        • yaya35223
          yaya35223Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 3:24 pm33 stars
          The Blood Guard was a pretty cool book! I really liked the characters! I liked how all the characters had really cool backstories. This book has a lot of adventure!
          • schoolgirl3616
            schoolgirl3616Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 5:27 am
            If you like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson you are going to LOVE it!
            • anagkan
              anagkanFriday, September 2, 2016 at 6:22 am55 starsFeatured
              In The Blood Guard, Evelyn (Ronan) Truelove finds out that his mother is part of an ancient order of knights bent on protecting the 36 pure. The 36 pure are the people who are the only people who stand between the world being as it is, and god destroying everything and building a new world again. These 36 special people do not know anything about what a pure is, or that they are a pure. But just as every book, there must evildoers. In this book, those people are the Bend Sinister. The sinister in the Bend Sinister is latin for the word left. The group is bent on murdering enough pure to start a new world. Every time a pure is killed, the world is cast into a dark age until the soul is reincarnated, that is the last safeguard. But now the Bend Sinister has a machine called The Eye of the Needle which can suck out a soul and trap it. This means that enough pure souls are trapped the Sinisters will succeed in destroying the current world and bringing a new one. Ronan Truelove who along the way meets Greta Sustermann who he knew from his old school and is also a pure. At the end, he finds out a sickening secret about his father. The first book of the series is amazing. I would reccomend it to anyone who loves fiction.
              • coreycole
                coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:44 am33 stars
                i thought i would like this more but i didnt. my mom says give at least two books in a series a chance because the first can be not good but it can get better. im not into this i barly remember the story at all it was kinda everything and nothing at the same time
                • strawberry1234
                  strawberry1234Tuesday, August 16, 2016 at 3:01 pm44 stars
                  I like this book i am going to read the who;e series if i can . I would recommend this book o anyone. Read this book
                  • mayhem
                    mayhemTuesday, August 9, 2016 at 12:51 am55 stars
                    really good book. i love every single bit of it. i rate this book 5/5 stars. rated for eveyone. noone should not like this book.
                    • wingfeather
                      wingfeatherThursday, July 28, 2016 at 3:02 pm44 stars
                      Ronan's life was normal - until his mom picked him up from school and revealed her awesome fighting skills - and a whole load of secrets. This fast paced book was very entertaining and I would recommend it to anyone ages 9-12.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins