A hilarious, action-packed New York Times bestselling series launches with a story-within-a-story, from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Life is boring when you live in the real world, instead of starring in your own book series. Owen knows that better than anyone, what with the real world’s homework and chores.

But everything changes the day Owen sees the impossible happen—his classmate Bethany climb out of a book in the library. It turns out Bethany’s half-fictional and has been searching every book she can find for her missing father, a fictional character.

Bethany can’t let anyone else learn her secret, so Owen makes her a deal: All she has to do is take him into a book in Owen’s favorite Kiel Gnomenfoot series, and he’ll never say a word. Besides, visiting the book might help Bethany find her father…

…Or it might just destroy the Kiel Gnomenfoot series, reveal Bethany’s secret to the entire world, and force Owen to live out Kiel Gnomenfoot’s final (very final) adventure.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on December 15, 2015 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481409204
ISBN-13: 9781481409209
60 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • FftddggsxvyrFriday, August 11, 2017 at 8:10 am
    This series copied the land of stories.
    • MousieSaturday, June 10, 2017 at 2:45 pm
      Wow! Such a great book! Owen sees Bethany jump out of a book, and it turns out she's have fictional! Owen and Bethany make a deal that Owen will get to go into his favorite book series while Bethany goes to look for her father. Owen thinks it's great at first, but then it turns bad! Read the book and find out what happens. Truly a wonderful adventure for kids to read.
      • olliebob
        olliebobMonday, June 5, 2017 at 7:07 pm55 stars
        I loved this book! Story Theives is about a boy named Owen and how he meets a girl named Bethany. The twist? She's half fictional! She can jump in and out of books. But when they jump into Owens favorite book, things go wrong. Way wrong! The Magister a character in the book jumps out with them! And that's not even the half of it! Owen has to battle robots, and Bethany has to stop the Magister from releasing all the characters from every book, ever written!!! Can they do it?
        • mimi12345678945
          mimi12345678945Monday, January 9, 2017 at 3:06 pm55 stars
          I loved it
          • BbbbbbbbbThursday, December 15, 2016 at 8:19 am
            It is awesome
            • candyWednesday, November 23, 2016 at 6:11 pm
              i love this book so much
              • rrwwnn
                rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 6:15 pm
                Wow!This book was great.It is about a boy named Owen and a girl named Bethany.However, Bethany is half fictional and she was been looking everywhere for her missing father.So when Owen see's Bethany climb out of a book.They go on a great adventure!I recommend!
                • cerulian
                  cerulianThursday, September 22, 2016 at 6:39 pm55 stars
                  I finally got a chance to read this book and it was really quite the ride. You would never expect anyone that you think you know to be someone else. In Story Thieves, Owen goes to school with a girl named Bethany. One day at the library, Owen witnesses Bethany come out a book. It turns out that Bethany was searching for her father because she is not actually from our world, but the story world. She doesn't know which story her father is in, so she has been looking for him in many different books. Owen is fascinated by her ability and makes a deal with her. She must take him into his favorite book, and in exchange he will not tell her secret. Bethany agrees and this also allows her to search for her father. This book may be Owen's favorite from the real world, but in the story world, it just might destroy him and Bethany.
                  • yellow43528
                    yellow43528Tuesday, September 20, 2016 at 5:02 am55 stars
                    I just finished this book and it is amazing. I loved how there were two things going on at once with an interesting cast of characters. I have never read a book like this. The book actually had the author of the book inside the book. I think that was super cool. I can't wait to read the next book in the Story Thieves series.
                    • readwriter
                      readwriterSaturday, September 17, 2016 at 6:34 pm55 stars
                      This wonderful book by James Riley is a great addition to his works. He once again illustrates a story so real you can't help but feel like you're part of the story, following the characters' every steps. It's full of suspense and unpredictable twists and turns that keep you on your toes until the last page is turned. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and hope other readers will too!