Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.8n/a

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Cinder is back and trying to break out of prison―even though she'll be the Commonwealth's most wanted fugitive if she does―in this second installment from Marissa Meyer.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit's grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn't know about her grandmother, or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother's whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana.

An NPR Best Book of 2013

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on February 4, 2014 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250007216
ISBN-13: 9781250007216
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • corinnethepanda
    corinnethepandaTuesday, May 14, 2019 at 4:52 pm55 stars
    My! How many pages this book has! This book is just fantastic! With a breathtaking mix of romance and adventure, Marissa Meyer spins an amazing tale! Her books are full of colorful and beautifully painted characters. The twists and turns will keep you on your toes! I suggest this book to grades 4th and up and ages 10 and up. Whether you're as furry as Wolf, old as Grandma, or as young as Scarlet, this book is great for you!
    • corinnethepanda
      corinnethepandaFriday, May 10, 2019 at 4:12 am55 stars
      This book is amazing!
      • sweetcheese
        sweetcheeseSaturday, March 9, 2019 at 9:39 pm
        My mom and cousins keep talkin about it, so I want to read it
        • beachbreeze14
          beachbreeze14Tuesday, March 12, 2019 at 6:58 am55 stars
          You should, its a pretty great series!
        • beachbreeze14
          beachbreeze14Saturday, March 9, 2019 at 8:10 am55 starsFeatured
          Marissa Meyer literally has me wrapped around her little finger, and i could not get ahold of this second book in the series, Scarlet, soon enough! In addition to everything going on in Cinder's life, starting with her jailbreak from the Commonwealth prison, the realization of her newfound identity and capabilities, and the aid from a fellow inmate, Carswell Thorne, we now get a look into the life of Scarlet Benoit in Rieux, France. Along with her Grandmother, who raised Scarlet (A.K.A. Little Red Riding Hood) after she ran away from her drunken father as a child, everything was normal on Benoit Farms--that is, until Scarlet's Grandmother went missing! Now, with the help of a seemingly untrustworthy and mysterious (and handsome) street fighter nicknamed Wolf, as well as no help whatsoever from the police, who believe the "crazy missing lady" was simply suicidal, Scarlet is taking matters into her own hands to get her Grandmother back! It is absolutely amazing how Meyer intertwines these two amazingly strong female characters, Cinder and Scarlet, (plus two more later on) together into one great book series!
          • queen_luna
            queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:07 pm55 stars
            This is an incredible book full of plot twists, romance, adventure, and much more! It has great characters and excellent storytelling. It's a perfect blend of fairy tales rewritten in a sci-fi setting that is new and exciting!
            • kittykat101
              kittykat101Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 8:24 am
              I used this book for a school project, and lets just say it was a great book. It wasn't quite so closely intertwined with the fairy tale as Cinder, but it had many elements included. I love how both girls, Scarlet and Cinder were looking for each other, causing things to run more smoothly. Almost had the book overdue to the library because I wanted to keep it! :)
              • septembergirl
                septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:45 pm44 stars
                This is such a great series such a good idea. I didn't really like this one as much as the first one but it was still amazing.
                • victory
                  victoryWednesday, March 28, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
                  this is the best book in the world because it shows you the different ways someone can be racist and that sometimes you need to see past the outside and look into the inside of a person.
                  • bige71148
                    bige71148Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 9:09 am55 stars
                    MY FAVORITE BOOK SERIES!! A MUST have for anyone ages 12 and up! This book series is filled humor, fantasy, adventures, and a hint of romance!
                    • mamabird
                      mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 4:56 pm
                      Fabulous read! I was enthralled in the story