Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.8n/a

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Cinder is back and trying to break out of prison―even though she'll be the Commonwealth's most wanted fugitive if she does―in this second installment from Marissa Meyer.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit's grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn't know about her grandmother, or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother's whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana.

An NPR Best Book of 2013

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on February 4, 2014 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250007216
ISBN-13: 9781250007216
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sweetcheese
    sweetcheeseSaturday, March 9, 2019 at 9:39 pm
    My mom and cousins keep talkin about it, so I want to read it
    • beachbreeze14
      beachbreeze14Tuesday, March 12, 2019 at 6:58 am55 stars
      You should, its a pretty great series!
    • beachbreeze14
      beachbreeze14Saturday, March 9, 2019 at 8:10 am55 starsFeatured
      Marissa Meyer literally has me wrapped around her little finger, and i could not get ahold of this second book in the series, Scarlet, soon enough! In addition to everything going on in Cinder's life, starting with her jailbreak from the Commonwealth prison, the realization of her newfound identity and capabilities, and the aid from a fellow inmate, Carswell Thorne, we now get a look into the life of Scarlet Benoit in Rieux, France. Along with her Grandmother, who raised Scarlet (A.K.A. Little Red Riding Hood) after she ran away from her drunken father as a child, everything was normal on Benoit Farms--that is, until Scarlet's Grandmother went missing! Now, with the help of a seemingly untrustworthy and mysterious (and handsome) street fighter nicknamed Wolf, as well as no help whatsoever from the police, who believe the "crazy missing lady" was simply suicidal, Scarlet is taking matters into her own hands to get her Grandmother back! It is absolutely amazing how Meyer intertwines these two amazingly strong female characters, Cinder and Scarlet, (plus two more later on) together into one great book series!
      • queen_luna
        queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:07 pm55 stars
        This is an incredible book full of plot twists, romance, adventure, and much more! It has great characters and excellent storytelling. It's a perfect blend of fairy tales rewritten in a sci-fi setting that is new and exciting!
        • kittykat101
          kittykat101Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 8:24 am
          I used this book for a school project, and lets just say it was a great book. It wasn't quite so closely intertwined with the fairy tale as Cinder, but it had many elements included. I love how both girls, Scarlet and Cinder were looking for each other, causing things to run more smoothly. Almost had the book overdue to the library because I wanted to keep it! :)
          • septembergirl
            septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:45 pm44 stars
            This is such a great series such a good idea. I didn't really like this one as much as the first one but it was still amazing.
            • victory
              victoryWednesday, March 28, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
              this is the best book in the world because it shows you the different ways someone can be racist and that sometimes you need to see past the outside and look into the inside of a person.
              • bige71148
                bige71148Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 9:09 am55 stars
                MY FAVORITE BOOK SERIES!! A MUST have for anyone ages 12 and up! This book series is filled humor, fantasy, adventures, and a hint of romance!
                • mamabird
                  mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 4:56 pm
                  Fabulous read! I was enthralled in the story
                  • fantomsky26
                    fantomsky26Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 4:11 pm55 stars
                    It was an amazing book that barley followed the story line of Red Riding Hood. My favorite part was the forbidden romance between two forbidden lovers (Wolf and Scarlet). Their adventure was also very good nad the friendship between Scarlet and Cinder is incredible.
                    • maxride
                      maxrideSaturday, October 22, 2016 at 11:51 am
                      I love little red riding hood, again, its one of my all-time favorites. I've heard that this series is really good, though. But does anyone know which book comes first in the series? I thought that it was Scarlet but I'm not sure. Anyone who has read the series please tell me what order I should read them in. Also, is Stars Above important to the series?

                      Our Apps and Plugins