Mattie, a shy fifth-grader, wants to hide out at her new school by acting as apprentice to her Uncle Potluck, the custodian, but her plan falls apart when she summons the courage to speak about what matters most and finds a true friend.
Library Binding, 160 pages
Published on November 6, 2012 by Turtleback Books
ISBN-10: 0606266186
ISBN-13: 9780606266185
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zogopuru-154991159530
    zogopuru-154991159530Monday, February 11, 2019 at 11:32 am55 stars
    This is a good book because Mattie is shy but she wants to be friends with Quincy But Mattie is shy and Mattie is sad because she lost Moe in a washing machine and at the end of the story Mattie became a story teller she will write story's and Uncle Pot Luck got hurt because Mattie was stuck in the principal Bonnet's office and Uncle Pot luck was singing and fell and broke his leg and mattie could of saved him because she had a screwdriver.
    • jitajaba-154991159530
      jitajaba-154991159530Monday, February 11, 2019 at 11:27 am44 stars
      I love this book becuze the sroy was moe was sad and fun
      • jyzulujuguraci
        jyzulujuguraciMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:26 am55 stars
        The book was great . I would recommend it to other people because it has a huge twist at the end.
        • nisesoka-154991159527
          nisesoka-154991159527Monday, February 11, 2019 at 11:26 am22 stars
          The book was ok it wasn't my favorite book i might recommend it to people who like story's like this one. The reason i don't like it that much is because this is not the type of books i like.
          • dalyhefukiceti
            dalyhefukicetiMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:25 am55 stars
            This book is very cool and funny because there's a 5th grader and she is shy,because she's been in 4 schools and doesn't have friends. Then at the end she went to a good school, had a good friend, and she is now brave.
            • guxafuhehyvamu
              guxafuhehyvamuMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:24 am44 stars
              I think this is a good book but it still has its pro and cons sides. First I like it because Mattie tell all her feelings to us. Though it has lots of thing that you really have to look threw pack to understand but other then that this is a great book for you should read.
              • safunivyhytupa
                safunivyhytupaMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:23 am11 star
                I enjoyed this book because there may be some people, boy or girl, who feel the same as Mattie. People who are like Mattie, this books give you confidence and lets you know that you can make a difference and try to find a friend. To me the theme is No matter who you are someone cares and fit in.
                • ginedafatetige
                  ginedafatetigeMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:23 am22 stars
                  I kind of liked it the reason I liked it was because it was a kind of good understanding book and when the end came it was a happy ending.The reason I didn't like it was because I couldn't understand some of the parts.
                  • gizyvunyxanimo
                    gizyvunyxanimoMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:23 am44 stars
                    In a 5th grader and I can relate to Mattie because she really thinks about her feelings and really wants someone she can trust. I give this a 5 because it makes you think about your feeling.
                    • toruxisasalacy
                      toruxisasalacyMonday, February 11, 2019 at 11:23 am33 stars
                      i did not like this book because some parts did not make seance and i did not get some parts. i give this story 3 stars because some parts got me excited to see what will happen next.

                      Our Apps and Plugins