Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.997462
The fifth book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!

The Masked Man has captured all the royal families from the Land of Stories with the help of his army of literature's greatest villains, including the Wicked Witch of the West, the Queen of Hearts, and Captain Hook. With his sinister plan finally in motion, he is eager to destroy the families and take his place as emperor.

Alex and Conner know they are no match against the Masked Man's legion of villains, but they realize that they may be in possession of the greatest weapon of all: their own imaginations! So begins the twins' journey into Conner's very own stories to gather an army of pirates, cyborgs, superheroes, and mummies as they band together for the ultimate fight against the Masked Man.

Meanwhile, an even more dangerous plan is brewing--one that could change the fates of both the fairy-tale world and the Otherworld forever.

Conner's tales come alive in the thrilling fifth adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling Land of Stories series.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on June 13, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031638321X
ISBN-13: 9780316383219
47 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jaden07
    jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:47 pm55 stars
    It’s time for new help. We go into Connor short stories we go on daring quests to get help fo the army. We meet superheroes , an explorer with some mummies, out of this world people, etc. then there’s a mix up. Don’t forget Alex and Connor’s Uncle, is still out there
    • ochaco_uraraka
      ochaco_urarakaSunday, April 21, 2019 at 6:35 pm55 starsFeatured
      A terrible misfortune has washed upon the fairy-tale world, and only Conner's short stories can save them. Alex and Conner go on a thrilling adventure while travelling through Conner's stories using the portal potion, and recruiting characters for the army. They even go into an unexpectedly creepy tale, written by one of their classmates. A fantastic story filled with pirates, robots, mummies, and even zombies, there are enough twists and turns to make your heart pound. Grade A.
      • bookstory13
        bookstory13Monday, April 15, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
        The Masked Man has recruited a whole bunch of famous book villains to create the Literary Army! Alex and Conner know only one thing can stop him: their own army of fictional characters! They travel into Conner's novels to recruit his characters! My favorite part was when he tried telling the pirates of Starboardia that he was their creator. They called him crazy and threw him off the boat! LOL! Another of my favorite parts in this book was when Conner tells Alex that she was his Professor Wallet. She was what kept him writing. She was his inspiration. She was his life vest. It's a really touching story and I love it!
        • auntieb
          auntiebWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 1:37 pm44 stars
          This book was very fast paced. But very good. What happens when Alex and Connor travel into Connor's short stories? Lots of adventures, lots of secrets, and lots of discoveries! Dive deep into the mind (and writing) of Connor Bailey!! - I absolutely loved how Connor's characters are based on the fairytale characters but in different ways then what I thought!!
          • I’m on conneit Monday, October 15, 2018 at 10:47 am
            The book is great I love the wishing spell the enchantress and all the others I find them very interesting
            • bossdude6
              bossdude6Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 5:53 pm55 stars
              read the 1 book first !
              • bean_boy
                bean_boyThursday, April 5, 2018 at 4:01 pm55 starsFeatured
                Chris Colfer's 5th addition in his magical series is my favorite one yet. Filled with laughs and thrills it will keep you reading past your bedtime. I personally love The Land of Stories: An Author's Odyssey because it provides a glimpse into a kids (Connor) imagination and I think others will to. I recommend this book because it's such an enjoyable read and is an awesome continuation of the series and battle between the evil villains and Connor and his friends. The message I got from this book is think outside the box and have hope.Some people wouldn't enjoy the take on travelling into Connor's stories and "reading" about them but I thought Colfer used a unique writing style which made the story really fun to read. I recommend this book for ages 9+ and give it 5/5 stars. Happy readings! bean_boy12
                • bookwormilg
                  bookwormilgSunday, February 18, 2018 at 7:56 pm55 stars
                  This was a super crazy book, full of adventure, humor, and and it may be one of the best in the Land of Stories series. My favorite of Connner's sotories is his pirate story with Auburn Sally and her crew on the Dolly Llama.
                  • ravenclaw35
                    ravenclaw35Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
                    I must say ... it wasn't boring. After reading about Auburn Sally, I thought I could never like Conner's other stories. " Galaxy Queen" was my favorite of Conner's stories. Now all I want to know is what happened to Froggy!
                    • cookinggirl
                      cookinggirlSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 8:13 am55 stars
                      This is my 2nd or 3rd favriot book of this series. Alex and Conner travel into Conners books and they finally end the masked man once and for all. The masked mans army is still out and they need more people to help defeat them.