Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.997462
The fifth book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!

The Masked Man has captured all the royal families from the Land of Stories with the help of his army of literature's greatest villains, including the Wicked Witch of the West, the Queen of Hearts, and Captain Hook. With his sinister plan finally in motion, he is eager to destroy the families and take his place as emperor.

Alex and Conner know they are no match against the Masked Man's legion of villains, but they realize that they may be in possession of the greatest weapon of all: their own imaginations! So begins the twins' journey into Conner's very own stories to gather an army of pirates, cyborgs, superheroes, and mummies as they band together for the ultimate fight against the Masked Man.

Meanwhile, an even more dangerous plan is brewing--one that could change the fates of both the fairy-tale world and the Otherworld forever.

Conner's tales come alive in the thrilling fifth adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling Land of Stories series.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on June 13, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031638321X
ISBN-13: 9780316383219
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bean_boy
    bean_boyThursday, April 5, 2018 at 4:01 pm55 starsFeatured
    Chris Colfer's 5th addition in his magical series is my favorite one yet. Filled with laughs and thrills it will keep you reading past your bedtime. I personally love The Land of Stories: An Author's Odyssey because it provides a glimpse into a kids (Connor) imagination and I think others will to. I recommend this book because it's such an enjoyable read and is an awesome continuation of the series and battle between the evil villains and Connor and his friends. The message I got from this book is think outside the box and have hope.Some people wouldn't enjoy the take on travelling into Connor's stories and "reading" about them but I thought Colfer used a unique writing style which made the story really fun to read. I recommend this book for ages 9+ and give it 5/5 stars. Happy readings! bean_boy12
    • bookwormilg
      bookwormilgSunday, February 18, 2018 at 7:56 pm55 stars
      This was a super crazy book, full of adventure, humor, and and it may be one of the best in the Land of Stories series. My favorite of Connner's sotories is his pirate story with Auburn Sally and her crew on the Dolly Llama.
      • ravenclaw35
        ravenclaw35Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
        I must say ... it wasn't boring. After reading about Auburn Sally, I thought I could never like Conner's other stories. " Galaxy Queen" was my favorite of Conner's stories. Now all I want to know is what happened to Froggy!
        • avery1032
          avery1032Monday, January 29, 2018 at 3:39 pm55 stars
          I read the whole series in 2nd grade!!!
          • cookinggirl
            cookinggirlSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 8:13 am55 stars
            This is my 2nd or 3rd favriot book of this series. Alex and Conner travel into Conners books and they finally end the masked man once and for all. The masked mans army is still out and they need more people to help defeat them.
            • sally0221
              sally0221Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 7:26 pm44 stars
              The CRAZIEST of the Land of Stories series!!!!!!! Robots, pirates, hearts, monkeys... Include them all! Let's go on a journey of Conner's TERRIFIC, WILD, AND MAGICAL stories! STARBUST!! I would really give 5 stars (or even 10 STARS!) but i really wanted to save that for a better book. First of all, I think this book is a great start to the FANTASY WORLD and also a great book for even advanced readers! With a quite wide range of genre, i really recommend it to someone who perhaps had dreamed of witches, large flying duck, fairies, fairy tales and folk tales, and M.A.G.I.C.
              • tori3ghoul
                tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 1:51 pm44 stars
                This was my second favorite book in the series, after Book 3. In this one, using the book portal liquid, Conner and Alex travel inside Conner's short stories to gather up a team to beat the Masked Man. Conner's stories are unique, like my own stories I've written are.
                • bluemoonlight
                  bluemoonlightWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:00 pm44 stars
                  I am reading this book right now its awesome!
                  • firedragon68
                    firedragon68Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 3:09 pm
                    I loved the other books of The Land Of Stories!!! There is a new one now!? :)
                    • flag
                      flagFriday, May 5, 2017 at 8:15 am55 stars
                      I read the last book and now I really want to read it

                      More TopicsView in 3D