Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1326 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • xx_imhidden_xx
    xx_imhidden_xxMonday, April 22, 2019 at 12:40 pm55 stars
    This is a book that got me into reading alot personally I think others should read it.Also may i add Percy Jackson has got me through school alot.I would get bullied then i would go read these books and feel beter.
    • Percy FanSunday, April 7, 2019 at 8:04 pm
      Percy Jackson is the best book I have ever read! This lead me to reading all the books! I highly recommend this to everybody!!!
      • Princess πŸ‘ΈπŸ§šFriday, April 5, 2019 at 12:17 pm
        This is so interesting ilove it
        • tcw_teeclo
          tcw_teecloTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 3:53 pm44 stars
          Percy Jackson (or if you want to be all official and stuff: Percyus Jackson, son of Poseidon, the god of the sea) Is constantly struggling to not let his temper get the best of him. He struggles with not getting kicked out of schools (he's been kicked out of 6). He struggles with ADHD (like me xD) and dyslexia. But all that changes when he takes a crazy drive in a mustang to camp Half-Blood. He learns there to fight with swords, and (accidentally) learns how to get rid of bullies like Ares the god of war's kids with toilet water. He seems like a normal camper, staying in the god of travel's cabin like every other undetermined Half-Blood. But then on the night of the capture the flag game, He beats up a group of campers from the Ares cabin and his real father Poseidon claims him. Then he feels like the center of attention for a few minutes. Until he is sent to his cabin and realizes that Poseidon doesn't have any other children and feels like a mistake. He goes on to receive a quest with Annabeth and Grover, his best friends. On the quest he almost gets killed... um... 12345... at least 7 times. But eventually completes his quest and delivers Zeus his master bolt and basically prevents World War III.
          • sadiekane
            sadiekaneThursday, March 28, 2019 at 9:17 am55 stars
            I love this book I have read almost every Rick Riordan book
            • hdfyhdhwabdgjh,Friday, March 22, 2019 at 9:15 am
              the book is awesome because it has a lot of crime and with his sword riptide and he is the chosen one and he is the best character in the book and in the pond it shows that he is the sea god kid and he is with his friends and he go in to the underworld that he so the war will end the would but that percy saved the world and that the orackal and the orake is true and he give back the master bolt and a friend was bad and he got his mother back.
              • dogFriday, March 22, 2019 at 9:08 am
                this book was really cool
                • book oneFriday, March 22, 2019 at 7:25 am
                  it is book one
                  • #heroeofOlympusThursday, March 21, 2019 at 4:51 pm
                    I read your books a million times they are all so great and I love the Percy Jackson series the heroes of Olympus series and Kane chronicle series and I also like Magnus chase I agree that there all connected!
                    • love_books
                      love_booksWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
                      Love it so much. I read the whole series, Hero's of Olympus series, and the Trials of Apollo series. There all connected i love it. *Read the Kane chronicles too there somewhat connected to. ❀