Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.910272
Based on true events! It's the summer of 1916 and the Jersey shore is being terrorized by a Great White shark. Can 10-year-old Chet and his friends survive a swim in the local creek?

In the summer of 1916, ten year-old Chet Roscow is captivated by the local news: A great white shark has been attacking and killing people up and down the Atlantic coast, not far from Chet's hometown of Springfield, New Jersey.

Then one day, swimming with his friends, Chet sees something in the water ...
Paperback
Published on September 16, 2010 by Scholastic
87 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jayden6924
    jayden6924Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:25 am33 stars
    This book is about Chet Roscow, a boy who lives in Springfield, New Jersey. He sees on the news that there recently has been shark attacks near his hometown on the Atlantic coast. One day Chet was swimming with his friends then he sees something. He takes a moment to think then... SHARK. I connected to this book because it reminded me when I went to the Atlantic coast. I would give this book 3 stars because it wasn't as exciting as I expected it to be.
    • becca7500
      becca7500Friday, January 10, 2020 at 12:05 pm44 stars
      I love sharks and this was a good book.
      • kyle414
        kyle414Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 7:52 pm44 stars
        I give this book a 3 out of 5 if you like sharks this book is for you. This book is about a boy named chet he lives with his uncle jerry. He goes to a diner with his friends Dewey, Sid, and Monty there was an article about a shark attack. Then he goes with his friends to a creek where his friends play a prank on that they got attacked by a shark. So the next day he tries to get them back but there is a shark in the water and his friends just think that he is playing around. What will happen next read more to find out.
        • Icecream129Saturday, October 19, 2019 at 10:22 am
          Scary but interesting
          • shantzj
            shantzjFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:22 pm55 stars
            This was another great book from the series "I Survived,". In the story Chet lives with his uncle Jerry and helps with the diner that his uncle works at. And he was finally was starting to make friends in his new home. While he was eating breakfast he saw Dewey, Sid, and Monty walking in to the diner like they do every day on there way to the tile factory. They showed him a article in the paper about a shark attack. Chet stared to read it as uncle Jerry read over his shoulder. So his friends, asked him to go swim at the creek with them. Chet gladly excepted to go after his shift at the diner. Chet was so exited to hang out with them. When he got to the creek he saw Dewey, Sid, and Monty splashing in the water. After a long time of hanging out there was a shark fin sticking out of the water. Chet was trying to laugh thinking it was a joke, but as it got closer it sped up. Until a splash when over the guys and they were gone. Chet started to scream there names until Monty and Dewey popped out of the water laughing. Sid popped out too. The next day Chet planed to get them back but it went a little to far. They were all mad at Chet. Later Chet found out that there was a shark in the creek. Do they have what it takes to SURVIVE!!!
            • dgsjhxhcxhdTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 12:00 pm
              i can't read it all
              • shayshaygirl25
                shayshaygirl25Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 4:28 am55 stars
                i have read all the i survived books but this one is my favorite one. i read a long time ago but then i got to read it as a book club this year!!!!
                • natalie2345Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 9:12 am
                  I realy like how they put the story and the details of it.
                  • bookstory14
                    bookstory14Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 4:34 am55 stars
                    Gotta be honest, this book totally creeped me out for a week. I was afraid to even go near any lakes, ponds, and rivers. You think nothing's going on, and you're just swimming....then BAM--shark attack.
                    • alan1000
                      alan1000Monday, January 28, 2019 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                      It is really good I like sharks🐟