Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.910272
Based on true events! It's the summer of 1916 and the Jersey shore is being terrorized by a Great White shark. Can 10-year-old Chet and his friends survive a swim in the local creek?

In the summer of 1916, ten year-old Chet Roscow is captivated by the local news: A great white shark has been attacking and killing people up and down the Atlantic coast, not far from Chet's hometown of Springfield, New Jersey.

Then one day, swimming with his friends, Chet sees something in the water ...
Paperback
Published on September 16, 2010 by Scholastic
81 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shayshaygirl25
    shayshaygirl25Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 4:28 am55 stars
    i have read all the i survived books but this one is my favorite one. i read a long time ago but then i got to read it as a book club this year!!!!
    • natalie2345Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 9:12 am
      I realy like how they put the story and the details of it.
      • bookstory13
        bookstory13Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 4:34 am55 stars
        Gotta be honest, this book totally creeped me out for a week. I was afraid to even go near any lakes, ponds, and rivers. You think nothing's going on, and you're just swimming....then BAM--shark attack.
        • alan1000
          alan1000Monday, January 28, 2019 at 4:24 pm55 stars
          It is really good I like sharks๐ŸŸ
          • ariettaki08
            ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:27 pm55 stars
            It was really good, especially if your interested in sharks, like me. I would recommend reading it, and its really interesting when you get further into the book.
            • tcwgaming
              tcwgamingThursday, February 8, 2018 at 12:53 pm55 stars
              amazing book, especially if you like suspense.
              • sparkle14
                sparkle14Thursday, February 8, 2018 at 7:53 pm
                Ummmm...... That looks a bit scary, it looks like the shark is gonna fly from the book and gobble us up!!!..๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ
              • lypetapahu
                lypetapahuTuesday, December 12, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
                i loved this book so much, and i love sharks.
                • iwillmissyouall
                  iwillmissyouallWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 9:09 am55 stars
                  i loved it 5 stars from me
                  • brinsters101
                    brinsters101Monday, May 15, 2017 at 10:58 am55 stars
                    I liked this book because it was cool and fun to read and if you don't like bloodiness then I highly rec amend you don't read this book. Hope you like it.
                    • monstergotcha
                      monstergotchaMonday, May 15, 2017 at 8:34 am
                      IT IS AWESOME!!!
                      • brinsters101
                        brinsters101Monday, May 15, 2017 at 10:59 am55 stars
                        dude you don't just say IT IS AWESOME can you alliterate to this please.