I Survived the Eruption of Mount St. Helens, 1980 (I Survived #14)

Book 14 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.413091
Eleven-year-old Jessie Marlowe has grown up with the beautiful Mount St. Helens always in the background. She's hiked its winding trails, dived into its cold lakes, and fished for trout in its streams. Just looking at Mount St. Helens out her window made Jess feel calm, like it was watching over her somehow. Of course, she knew the mountain was a volcano...but not the active kind, not a volcano that could destroy and kill!

Then Mount St. Helens explodes with unimaginable fury. Jess suddenly finds herself in the middle of the deadliest and most destructive volcanic event in U.S. history. Ash and rock are spewing everywhere. Can Jess escape in time?

The newest book in the I Survived series will take readers into one of the most environmentally devastating events in recent U.S. history.
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545658527
ISBN-13: 9780545658522
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • riveraf
    riverafMonday, September 9, 2019 at 5:58 am44 stars
    The reason why I read this book was because I'm interested in I survived and the words eruption of st. of st. helens, make it an interesting book to read. It tells a story of a girl and two boys who went to st helens and then the mountain erupts it also tells a story of the skeleton woman.
    • reader2009
      reader2009Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 8:57 pm55 stars
      I love this book! I read it over and over again. This is an amazing series and I have read almost all the books. I recommend this book.
      • jizapukizy
        jizapukizyFriday, November 10, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
        it's a story about mighty Mount st. helens and three children that where in the eruption nothing that sad but its one of my favorite books.
        • cougars
          cougarsSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 9:46 am
          I think these books are great because they tech you about the past but make it fun
          • kittykat55
            kittykat55Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 7:29 am55 stars
            It is calm in the beginning then Lauren Tarshis decides to get you worried about the characters well beings, and it also gives you a idea about the scenery, the eruption, and the shack of skeleton woman. Or so they thought, it was just a woman, that explained why Jessie's dad's camera was in her bag. I say it is one of the books ever written by Lauren Tarshis.
            • beastwrestler60
              beastwrestler60Monday, November 7, 2016 at 8:47 am
              This was an awesome book just like all the other books. I love these books and I hope she writes more
              • sparklingirl
                sparklingirlSunday, October 23, 2016 at 10:49 am44 stars
                What I really liked about this book was all the explained events the author put into this story, the thing i didn't like was that the author didn't have her usual wording in which I know her as.
                • soul pancakeFriday, September 30, 2016 at 12:23 pm
                  best series in a book line just perfect.
                  • sparklingirl
                    sparklingirlWednesday, September 21, 2016 at 4:54 pm44 stars
                    IT IS AN AWESOME BOOK YOU SHOULD ALSO GET THE OPPORTUNITY TO READ IT!
                    • beanblob
                      beanblobWednesday, May 25, 2016 at 4:42 pm
                      I have read almost every I Survived book except this one! I have to read this or else i'm going to go crazy!