Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.612262
The bloodiest battle in American history is under way . . .

It's 1863, and Thomas and his little sister, Birdie, have fled the farm where they were born and raised as slaves. Following the North Star, looking for freedom, they soon cross paths with a Union soldier. Everything changes: Corporal Henry Green brings Thomas and Birdie back to his regiment, and suddenly it feels like they've found a new home. Best of all, they don't have to find their way north alone-they're marching with the army.

But then orders come through: The men are called to battle in Pennsylvania. Thomas has made it so far . . . but does he have what it takes to survive Gettysburg?
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on February 1, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545459362
ISBN-13: 9780545459365
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • BookloverTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:01 am
    I love this book. It does give me some tears, but its a good way to understand how things happened back then, and how things changed.
    • horselover2000Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 11:28 am
      I love the book can you please make more
      • froglife
        froglifeWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 10:27 am
        make more
        • froglife
          froglifeWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 10:26 am
          its fine i guess they should make more
          • 25jordan
            25jordanWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 8:46 am
            My teacher taught me about the battle of Getty burg that is why i will like this book.
            • TR0V3 PR0 22Wednesday, May 3, 2017 at 1:45 pm
              i like it and im only at ch4!
              • AhhjkkkWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 2:45 pm
                I love tjis book
                • ShakiraWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 2:44 pm
                  I think this is an awesome book but i'm not trying to be mean this author needs to put more details into this story more info
                  • potterfan319
                    potterfan319Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at 4:28 pm
                    I loved this book, I've read pretty much all of the other I Survived books and this on was one of the best so far!
                    • CamdenMonday, November 21, 2016 at 9:02 am
                      I am reviewing I Survived The Battle Of Gettysburg 1863, By Lauren Tarshis. Thomas is a slave on a farm with a little sister named Birdie. They manage to escape, and find help. I won’t tell you the rest, but I liked the book. It taught me a little bit about slavery and the Civil War. I would recommend this book to people who are 9 and up. If you like history, this is a book for you!

                      Our Apps and Plugins