Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2163 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blended
    blendedThursday, January 14, 2021 at 2:39 pm55 stars
    because it involves magic and other fun elements.
    • booksfor3ver
      booksfor3verWednesday, January 13, 2021 at 7:07 am55 stars
      So, my absolute favorite! Aaaaa! So, first, Harry finds out he's a wizard, 'you're a wizard, Harry' and get's sent to Hogwarts!! Then, he meets (CLASSIC MOMENT) Ron and Hermoine on the train there, and boom- the ship starts! They get there, all excited and not all prepped to go. Then, the rest of the adventure starts! I seriously recommend this series to ages 9 and up and love it! Read the series twice!
      • earthling
        earthlingTuesday, January 12, 2021 at 7:10 pm55 stars
        Absolutely loved this book. Harry Potter, a kid whose parents seemingly died in a car crash when he was young, lives with his relatives, the Dursleys, and has a horrible life. Living in a cupboard under the stairs in 4 Privet Drive, constantly getting mistreated by his aunt and uncle, as well as getting bullied by his spoiled cousin Dudley, Harry feels miserable. However, one day, several owls arrive, carrying messages that are for him. A mysterious school, the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, has invited him to attend their school alongside many other kids, where they will learn magic, and Harry's world is turned upside down. I highly recommend this book to others who enjoy fantasy.
        • deathly_hallows
          deathly_hallowsSunday, January 10, 2021 at 5:59 pm55 stars
          idk why it says sorcerer's stone but the copy i have is Philosophers' stone... oh well. i love this book, it's so adicting to read all the harry potter books. i am not very good at writing book reveiws but harry potter and the philosopher's stone in my opinion is THE BEST starter book to a series, I PAY MY RESPECT to J.K Rowling here... my favorite part is when harry roast draco in the train, then hermoine comes in and sasses them. :)
          • poseidoncabin
            poseidoncabinSaturday, January 9, 2021 at 8:37 am55 stars
            loved it! this book follows a boy named Harry Potter who lived with his aunt, uncle and spoiled cousin who treated him terribly. but that is about to change when he gets a shocking letter that will change his life. JK Rowling’s writing is truly magical and I loved every chapter.
            • artsysunflower3
              artsysunflower3Thursday, January 7, 2021 at 10:38 am55 stars
              Just when Harry Potter is a baby, the darkest wizard kills his parents, but somehow he survived. He got a lighting scar on his forehead, but that is it. Professor Albus Dumbledore, headmaster of Hogwarts, and Professor McGonnell bring one year old harry too his Aunt and uncles house. 11 years later...he finds out he is a wizard by Rubeus Hagrid, gamekeeper of Hogwarts and they go to London and go to Diagon alley to get everything Harry needs for school. He then goes to King's cross where he meets the Weasley's. On the train, he meets Ron Weasley, and they become best friends. What will happen next?! Happy reading!! I've finished the whole series!!
              • eeveelutiongurl
                eeveelutiongurlWednesday, January 6, 2021 at 8:06 pm55 stars
                I'm pretty sure a lot of people have finished this book already, but I'm not even halfway thru it
                • honeycat92
                  honeycat92Friday, January 8, 2021 at 9:04 am55 stars
                  I read all of the Harry Potter books
                • go_pottah_1980
                  go_pottah_1980Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:17 pm55 stars
                  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is absolutely the best. I highly recommend.
                  • babyyodafan1
                    babyyodafan1Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 2:31 pm55 stars
                    I got this book from my grandma 3 or so years ago. I stared during spring this year, but I wasn't very interested at first. It was when I slowly started from the beginning and then I just read 6 hours a day non-stop with this book. But be carful when you read this! It's super intense will all sorts of action. But other wise it is very interesting and a fun read.
                    • go_pottah_1980
                      go_pottah_1980Wednesday, January 6, 2021 at 4:42 am55 stars
                      I agree!! I started by reading the first two books, I rented them from the Library, and at first I was like "Nahhh, I'll just read the first two". Then, I'M OBSESSED!!
                    • Pearl Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 11:41 am
                      I love this book so much.