Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1950 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookycat
    bookycatSaturday, February 22, 2020 at 12:11 pm55 stars
    this book is for young readers who love a good plot twist and magic.
    • slyterclaw53
      slyterclaw53Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 9:36 am55 stars
      Harry Potter, a young orphan has been living with his cruel aunt and uncle for nearly 10 years. He has been bullied, and in a way, abused by the world around him. One day a letter arrives for him, addressed formally in emerald ink. "I never get mail!" Harry exclaims. And it was true. His uncle took it from his, and threw it in the fire. Then three letters arrive, and the same thing happens. Over and over again, the letters arrive and are burned. They decide to leave, so that the mysterious sender could not find them...but they do. In fact the break down the door! Harry is whisked away to buy robes, a wand, and even an owl. He arrives at school, and faces a year of friendship, knowledge, risks, and danger, and even a few rounds of sports played on brooms. Harry's journey doesn't end here, oh, certainly not! See him again in book two, Chamber of Secrets!!!
      • clumsypandahi
        clumsypandahiFriday, February 14, 2020 at 10:11 am55 stars
        Published in June 26, 1997, this endless classic will make people from children to adults enjoyed. Even if you have watched the movie adaptation of this book, it will make you smiling when you finish this book and learn more of the Harry Potter universe. And remember... "You're a wizard!"
        • ohiostaterules
          ohiostaterulesThursday, February 13, 2020 at 8:32 am55 stars
          this was a Great book
          • ohiostaterules
            ohiostaterulesThursday, February 13, 2020 at 8:24 am55 stars
            this was a GREAT BOOK about a wizerd named harry potter who lives with his aunt and uncle. His parents are not alive. His aunt and uncle are mean to him. How could things get any worse............................
            • shamblinkatelyn
              shamblinkatelynTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 6:01 pm55 stars
              I decided to read this book because I love magic and seeing that this had what I wanted was great.
              • royalqueen16th
                royalqueen16thTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                I love fantasies. When I saw everyone else was reading this book, I grabbed a copy from my school's library and I gave it a 10/10!
                • hermione531
                  hermione531Monday, February 10, 2020 at 1:22 pm55 stars
                  i think that is really fun, funny and it might teach people to be utterly brave
                  • EvieFriday, February 7, 2020 at 4:18 pm
                    I LOVE harry potter i wish they wrote 100000000 of them!?!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • sg123
                      sg123Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 2:28 pm55 stars
                      This is my all time favorite book! In this book a lot of stuff happens and it is really detailed and interesting. I really recommend it. But after you read it, you should watch the movie which is good but the book is way more detailed while the movie skips some parts.😀