Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1623 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • joker778
    joker778Saturday, August 11, 2018 at 5:41 pm55 stars
    love this book you should totaly read it!!!! I started reading the serise when was in third grade and I loved it.
    • Rainbow unicornSaturday, August 11, 2018 at 10:55 am
      I love Harry Potter book especially this one I love how it’s a mystery action and a whole bunch of other subjects it’s the right book for me
      • jess96
        jess96Friday, August 10, 2018 at 1:57 pm55 stars
        The book is so cool and kept me reading for hours straight.
        • texashawkeye
          texashawkeyeFriday, August 10, 2018 at 6:27 am55 stars
          This book was amazing. Harry Potter starts out with a awful life living with his mean aunt,uncle and cousin. Then he gets told he is a wizard and can go to Hogwarts. When he goes to Hogwarts he has the time of his life. He also encounters the person that killed his parents.
          • ginevraweasley
            ginevraweasleyWednesday, August 8, 2018 at 3:35 pm55 stars
            Harry Potter lives a miserable life at number four Privet Drive with his nosy aunt, mustached uncle, and greedy cousin. One day, Harry gets these mysterious letters addressed to him in green ink. Though, of course the Dursleys (aunt, uncle and cousin) don’t let him get his hands on it, but the letters keep coming. Eventually Harry’s uncle is so fed up, that they leave the house to go to a miserable shack on an island, on the sea. In the middle of the night there is a big BANG, and then a giant named Rubeus Hagrid walks through. Harry soon discovers that his parents were murdered by a dark wizard named Voldemort. Harry finally gets his letter, which is an invitation to go to Hogwarts school of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry is whisked away to Hogwarts and makes many friends there and is happy for once in his life. Harry Potter is safe at Hogwarts, or so he thinks.......
            • curtcapeSunday, August 5, 2018 at 5:09 pm
              Great book
              • smartie546
                smartie546Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 5:57 pm55 stars
                my friends were talking about it and i gave it a try and i loved it so much action i would recomend this book
                • FlamingoFriday, July 27, 2018 at 3:22 pm
                  This book was amazing! J.K Rowling uses many words and details to create the perfect picture in your mind. Its like this all is going on in front of you. I reccomend you to read it. (It helped me with reading faster by the way.)
                  • s123
                    s123Sunday, July 22, 2018 at 8:20 am55 stars
                    this book was amazing the way the author makes the words come to life brings me into the book. You should read it.
                    • wiccanbat666
                      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:14 am55 stars
                      I read this book in elementary school and absolutely loved it. J.K Rowling is one of the authours that inspired me to write. I love all of these books so much.

                      Our Apps and Plugins