Frank Einstein and the BrainTurbo (Frank Einstein series #3): Book Three

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.316572
"Huge laughs and great science—the kind of smart, funny stuff that makes Jon Scieszka a legend."
—Mac Barnett, author of Battle Bunny and The Terrible Two

"I never thought science could be funny . . . until I read Frank Einstein. It will have kids laughing."
—Jeff Kinney, Diary of a Wimpy Kid

More clever science experiments, funny jokes, and robot hijinks await readers in book three of the New York Times bestselling Frank Einstein chapter book series from the mad scientist team of Jon Scieszka and Brian Biggs. The perfect combination to engage and entertain readers, the series features real science facts with adventure and humor, making these books ideal for STEM education. This latest installment examines the quest to unlock the power behind the science of "the human body."

Kid-genius and inventor Frank Einstein loves figuring out how the world works by creating household contraptions that are part science, part imagination, and definitely unusual. In the series opener, an uneventful experiment in his garage-lab, a lightning storm, and a flash of electricity bring Frank’s inventions—the robots Klink and Klank—to life! Not exactly the ideal lab partners, the wisecracking Klink and the overly expressive Klank nonetheless help Frank attempt to perfect his inventions. In the third book in the series, Frank creates the BrainTurbo to power-boost the human body and help his baseball-pitching pal Janegoodall make the team. But when Klank goes missing, they must first rescue their robot pal and stop T. Edison—Frank’s classmate and archrival—from stealing their latest invention and using it against them!

Integrating real science facts with wacky humor, a silly cast of characters, and science fiction, this uniquely engaging series is an irresistible chemical reaction for middle-grade readers. With easy-to-read language and graphic illustrations on almost every page, this chapter book series is a must for reluctant readers. The Frank Einstein series encourages middle-grade readers to question the way things work and to discover how they, too, can experiment with science. In a starred review, Kirkus Reviews raves, “This buoyant, tongue-in-cheek celebration of the impulse to ‘keep asking questions and finding your own answers’ fires on all cylinders,” while Publishers Weekly says that the series “proves that science can be as fun as it is important and useful.”

Read all the books in the New York Times bestselling Frank Einstein series: Frank Einstein and the Antimatter Motor (Book 1), Frank Einstein and the Electro-Finger (Book 2), Frank Einstein and the BrainTurbo (Book 3), and Frank Einstein and the EvoBlaster Belt (Book 4). Visit frankeinsteinbooks.com for more information.


Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Amulet Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 1419727354
ISBN-13: 9781419727351
21 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • asz
    aszFriday, September 4, 2015 at 8:48 am
    I am intrested because I like science books and it looks cool I would read it alot of times and then let other people read it.
    • bibliophile
      bibliophileMonday, August 31, 2015 at 8:02 pmFeatured
      This book was really interesting and very informal. This book was very short, but straight to the point, which was what I liked. Also this book had many facts that you can learn over a short period of time, due to reading helps you jog your memory and because of all cartoonish drawings which made the book give a little more "life" to it. Also last year my class was studying deeper into anatomy and the human body system, so when the author was talking about the human body system, and I was like it's fate! So i really liked this book because it reviewed some human body parts, also my younger brother decided to read this book, and he enjoyed it and learned new information, so this book can help . Now on to the summary! So this book starts of with Frank Einstein (Doesn't it sound familiar XD), Watson, Janegoodall (chimpanzeeeeeeeees :D), and Frank's two robots Klink and Klank. So there was an incident where Klank needs to be repaired, and while they were trying to figure that out... Frank had an idea where he can create a machine that can benefit everyone... but his enemy, T. Edison (hmmm... *light bulb*) had an idea to create a machine like Frank but to control everyone! *Gasps!* Anyways once T. Edison found out that Frank is creating a machine... which is the key to T. Edison's success...T. Edison plans to steal it! Will T. Edison's plan work and be able to "take over the world" or will he fail? Will Frank be able to cure Klank and also compromise with T. Edison to save his machinery? Well read and find out! I recommend this book for readers who want to learn more about the human body system, gain more knowledge, who wants to read an adventure, and who has creativity. I really liked this book because the author tried to include a lot of people like scientific figures who shaped our advanced world into this short story. Now why should you read this? Well first it's simple so, the concepts are really easy to understand. Second, it has PICTURES!!!! I haven't read a cartoonish illustration book in such a long time, so it brought good memory. And last, you'll learn new knowledge,and you have to chance to impress your science teachers :P... So for any readers especially who loves science, I encourage you to read this book! ENJOY!!! :D!!!
      • felicisowl
        felicisowlTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 7:30 am44 stars
        Do you still want to continue "Read That Book?" Hehehe..
        • bibliophile
          bibliophileSunday, September 20, 2015 at 10:20 pm
          Yessss!!!! Totally!!! I kinda forgot... but lets get back into Read That Book!!!! :D
        • felicisowl
          felicisowlTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 6:20 am44 stars
          Your review was so awesome :D Bubbly as always, Miss Bibliophile :DD I agree, I really liked this book because it had a lot of science-y information and this book took me back to second or third grade with the pictures *sigh*
          • bibliophile
            bibliophileSunday, September 20, 2015 at 10:23 pm
            Thank you!!!! I really liked yours too!!! Yours was informative while perfect :D... IKRRRRR it reminded me of my science teachers from second gradeXD...
          • turtlenicole
            turtlenicoleTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 5:02 am
            I remember when you first started your account XD when you, me and tim0706 used to chat together!
            • bibliophile
              bibliophileSunday, September 20, 2015 at 10:24 pm
              OMG!!! YESSSSS!!!! It was me, you, spineeypeeps, ikyra_marie, tim0706... ahhh... the old times... but very good times!!!! :DDDDD
            • turtlenicole
              turtlenicoleTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 4:58 am
              you're back, bibliophile!
              • bibliophile
                bibliophileSunday, September 20, 2015 at 10:25 pm
                Yayyyyy I'm back I miss DOGO so much too... Also your back too!!!!!! :D
                • turtlenicole
                  turtlenicoleThursday, October 8, 2015 at 6:57 pm
                  yay! and thanks:) I hope tim0796 gets back on dogo though
            • selina
              selinaMonday, August 31, 2015 at 11:30 am55 stars
              This book uses real life people for some reason. Its about two boys named Frank Einstein and Watson, a girl named Janegoodall and two robots named Klink and Klank making this BrainTurbo that turbocharges a human's brain. A boy named T.Edison was in the middle of making his "glass brain " when a baseball smashed the window and destroyed the glass brain. Edison thought it was Frank who did it so wanted to take Frank's BrainTurbo to himself to get revenge. So he tried different ways to get the BrainTurbo. None of them worked until the last way he could think of. At the end Edison gets the BrainTurbo but Klank got it back and put it on his head. Suddenly his head exploded and Frank made a new one for Klank. Klank loved his awesome new head.
              • pipermc11
                pipermc11Friday, August 28, 2015 at 7:29 am44 stars
                This book was such a fun, interesting, and entertaining read, while teaching you about science, and, for this book in particular, the senses. The story follows a boy named Frank Einstein, his sidekick, Watson, his two robots, Klank and Klink, and his arch nemesis, T. Edison, and his ape sidekick. They're both developing a science experiment that's very similar, without the other realizing so. When the two have a run-in, T. Edison realizes that Frank's invention is just what he needs to make his work, and begins to plot a way to steal it. Will Frank Einstein be able to prevent T. Edison from stealing his experiment? The only problem I had with this book was that, since I hadn't read the previous two books, I wasn't sure who some of the characters were, such as Janegoodall. I sure wish these were around to make science more interesting when I was younger!
                • felicisowl
                  felicisowlTuesday, August 25, 2015 at 5:30 pm44 starsFeatured
                  I really liked "Frank Einstein and the Brain Turbo" - it was quirky, it was unexpected, and there was loads of fun for all ages included in this quick read! As an extra bonus for every science fanatic out there, the book has filled to the brim with medical research and facts (you'll probably learn more than a science textbook, in an even more fun way) and wacky, futuristic, even dangerous inventions to keep you on the edge of your seat! But everything begins with the Midville Mud Hens, a local kids baseball team. Unfortunately, Janegoodall, Frank Einstein's friend, can't throw fast enough to make it on the team (she's been practicing all week) and tryouts are tomorrow! And here enters one of her best friends, Frank Einstein, a fourth-grader genius scientist who also has his own lab. Together, Frank, Janegoodall, their friend Watson who is working on his own candy called the da Vinci, and Klink & Klank, two robots of mostly Frank's own invention start thinking, and Frank's brain with gamma brain waves thinks of a hypothesis - if they "boost" the brain, they could possibly get the other systems (circulatory, respiratory, or in Janegoodall's case, muscular) to work faster and better. As Frank Einstein is working on his machine, he starts to think of other ways he could use it positively, like repair some parts of his Grampa Al's memory, for example. However, on the other side of town, Frank Einstein's nemesis T. Edison is working on an invention that can control Midville Park, the United States, and the whole world! He thinks that everyone in the world deserves to be lead by him, as everyone and everything in the world is too stupid to do much better without him - but unfortunately, his evil mastermind plan fails miserably because his invention.. well, to put it simply, fails to work! But once T. Edison sets his eyes on Frank Einstein's incredibly genius Brainturbo (the invention that Frank Einstein had just completed and has great plans for) and suddenly thinks of all the negative ways the machine could be used - as in controlling the world, for example (yup, it's that powerful.) So if it falls in the wrong hands.. it could do anything! Once the BrainTurbo and Klank (Frank Einstein's trusty robot helper and friend) are at the mercy of T. Edison, T. Edison will be impossible - if only he could dispose of the only thing standing in his way, Frank Einstein and his friends. But neither side is willing to give in.. who will win? This book is probably one of my favorite science books ever, because it just has inventions that will have your imagination up and started and it just gives you so many things to think about! I mean, making something that can control the world - it's something you probably can't imagine, even in the far future! I learned a lot of AMAZING science facts that I didn't even know when I was reading this book! I also like how this book touched a little on history, with famous scientists like da Vinci, Einstein, and more mentioned, and also Janegoodall, one of the main characters, surprisingly has almost exactly the same personality as the real Jane Goodall. But.. I hated that the dialogue wasn't witty at all, except for a few jokes which fell mostly flat, and that the characters.. eesh, sorry, but one-sided. This is a common fault, but the book was way too short, and the climax? Even shorter and cheesier, in fact the climax didn't have much connection to the book! At all! But as in all books, some parts are pretty bad and some parts.. well, some parts set my imagination on fire! I'll be sure to read some other books in this series, as this is my first, as this book exceeded my admittedly pretty low expectations! I recommend this to fans of imagination, inventions, scientists, and the Nick & Tesla books.. if I have to describe this book in just three words, I'd say it's "short but sweet.."
                  • felicisowl
                    felicisowlWednesday, August 26, 2015 at 8:51 am44 stars
                    I forgot to thank DOGONews for two reasons (1) They introduced me to the Frank Einstein series, which is in all honesty, a great series, and (2) free bookies :D XD
                  • ocelot
                    ocelotMonday, August 24, 2015 at 3:00 pm55 stars
                    I really enjoyed this read! I think it's a great book to learn more about the human body, because throughout the book, there are many illustrations demonstrating the parts of the human body. Frank Einstein is a kid-genius scientist and inventor, and he wants to help Janegoodall, make the baseball team. He takes notes when she is practicing, and with some help from his friends, (a robot and a person), he develops and builds the BrainTurbo which will help Janegoodall by power-boosting her human body. But just when things are going smoothly, Klank, (a robot) goes missing and they have to find him. They also have to stop Frank's classmate, T. Edison before he steals their invention and uses it against them. I would like to thank DOGObooks for sending me a review copy in exchange for this review.
                    • felicisowl
                      felicisowlWednesday, August 26, 2015 at 11:35 am44 stars
                      And your review was amazing - it covered everything about the book and the "tone" of your review was really nice :)
                    • peakreader
                      peakreaderMonday, August 24, 2015 at 8:44 am22 stars
                      I have really liked some of the other Frank Einstein books in this series, but I think this was my least favorite. The story line and concept of a super baseball cap that enhances brain power and body power seems very cool, but it dragged on. My favorite character was Klink because he was funny, smart and could even tell how fast a baseball was thrown. Later in the story they make the super baseball cap and Edison and Mr. Chimp steal it. That is when the adventures begin. Read the book to find out more.
                      • felicisowl
                        felicisowlWednesday, August 26, 2015 at 8:50 am44 stars
                        That's an interesting review - I love how it shows all aspects of the book :)
                      • maddyp18
                        maddyp18Monday, August 17, 2015 at 9:17 pm44 starsFeatured
                        I liked this book a lot! I think that if you like realistic fiction/fantasy stories you will enjoy this book. I think the message in this story is, ''Try Your Hardest for things.'' My favorite character (or robot I should say), is Klank. Klank is my favorite character because 1. In the end he saves the day, and 2. because he is a really funny robot. Here is a summary of this story… Frank Einstein, Watson, and Janegoodall are all trying to somehow ''improve'' Janegoodall's pitch, with one of Franks inventions, and make Janegoodall make the baseball team. But as soon as they make their invention, T. Edison and his assistant (evil schemers) take it, the kids know that they are in for a lot of trouble. If you want to find out more, read the book!!!!!!
                        • felicisowl
                          felicisowlWednesday, August 26, 2015 at 8:51 am44 stars
                          Your review was very descriptive and it almost felt like I was reading the book again, if that made any sense :)