Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3221 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • toyinFriday, May 17, 2019 at 2:47 pm
    I like this book.This book hope me understand do not make fun of people with braces.
    • kruzingwithk9s
      kruzingwithk9sFriday, May 17, 2019 at 10:54 am55 stars
      Hey, how would you like it if you were going home from girl scouts, tripped, and knocked out one tooth and put the other in? Yea, it would hurt. That's what happened to Raina, follow her as she has dental drama, deals with friends, and after years, can smile.
      • zzayumi
        zzayumiFriday, May 17, 2019 at 3:36 am55 stars
        This book is great! I am almost getting braces, and I lost the fear of getting them! Even though I was scared, now I am not.
        • catface7312
          catface7312Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 7:06 pm55 stars
          This book is a graphic novel. It's about an 11-year-old girl named Raina. One night at girl scouts, Raini fell and knocked out her two teeth. She has to get braces (that's why the cover has a smiley face with braces). When she goes into high school, her supposed friends bully her. She learns valuable lessons along the way. I love this book and I love to reread it all the time.
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:03 pm55 stars
            Smile is a great book for 10 to 15 years olds 😁smile is a book about....one day when Raina and her girl scout friends where coming home from girl scouts and riana raced to the front door with friend and raina ran and grabbed the back of her friends jacket then all the sudden *BAM*raina was laying on the ground with her two front teeth gone .one was in the grass and one was pushed up her gum (ewwww) she had to go through retainers ,braces,boys, but in the end of all worked out great!I really think this is a wonderful book!you should go and read it!!.😁😁smile😁😁
            • ilanos50
              ilanos50Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:34 pm55 stars
              I liked this book because it had really good pictures and an interesting story plot. I also liked it because it was not too long and not too short and you always want to keep reading. I was surprised that the author was Raina and I wonder if it is a true story .
              • corinnethepanda
                corinnethepandaThursday, May 16, 2019 at 2:53 pm55 stars
                Did you use to complain about your braces hurting or your teeth bein sore after the dentist? Well, you won't be complaining anymore! Raina is a middle school girl who severely injures her two front teeth. She has to go through so much and right when she begins middle school! And you thought it was embarrassing to have pimples! This book is a great book for 3rd grade and up. It's a good story and I definitely recommend it!
                • lilylunapotter
                  lilylunapotterThursday, May 16, 2019 at 12:23 pm55 stars
                  After a Girl Scout meeting Raina falls and knocks out her two front teeth. While she struggles with teeth and braces, she has boy drama , friend drama , and finds where she can “smile”. This book you will feel happy, sad and have empathy for the characters. This will the a book that you will “smile”.
                  • sofi_juarez
                    sofi_juarezThursday, May 16, 2019 at 10:31 am55 stars
                    This book is such a nice book!!!! I loved it so much!!!!!! If there was a movie, I would watch it.
                    • aly_spoon675
                      aly_spoon675Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:19 am55 stars
                      Raina is 13.... and without any front teeth. One day as she was running along with her friends she slipped and fell and.... LOST HER TWO FRONT TEETH!!! Raina is horrified as she's now forced to get...braces. A middle schooler's worst nightmare. As Raina frowns her way through sixth grade refusing to show her smile, she deals with drama of friends, family, and most of all her smile. Smile accurately portrays middle school through a sixth graders eyes as well as being extremely relatable to those who are in the same situation!! Smile is an amazing book and as long as you're not too scared to face the realities of middle school, you're going to love it!