Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
1227 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • goldenstar8
    goldenstar8Friday, March 13, 2020 at 5:47 pm
    Road trip! Raina and her family are going on a rode trip to Colorado to see their cousins there is thunder and lightning Raina finds a snake there. They encounter a lot of conflicts and get separated but at the they always fix it.
    • riley_108
      riley_108Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 9:26 pm55 stars
      I gave this book a 5 star rating, because it was very interesting, funny,and cute. This story is about a girl named Raina, she really wanted to be a big sister. Her mom found out she was having a baby and Raina was so exited the she was finally going to be a big sister. When her mom had the baby Raina was so happy and exited her name was Amara , but when she held Amara she broke down into tears. Every time Raina held Amara or played with her she would cry. So the parents gave most of there attention to baby Amara, ,but Raina got really jealous. I made a connection with this book because I have 5 sisters and we fight all the time and if my little sister get the attention my other sister gets jealous.Read this book to find out what happens next.
      • 22mreyes
        22mreyesThursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:48 pm44 stars
        It is about a long summer road trip taken from San Francisco to Colorado by her family and explores the relationship between Raina and her younger sister, Amara. I can compare because I have a brother and a sister. I give this a 4 star because this book made me laugh at how we are similar.
        • moomooaugust31
          moomooaugust31Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at 12:19 pm
          It is a great book! it is like me and my sisters!
          • chargersfan976
            chargersfan976Monday, March 2, 2020 at 11:31 am55 stars
            I love this book, because it is based on a true story.
            • claritymiss
              claritymissSaturday, February 22, 2020 at 11:12 am55 stars
              I love this book!! which is not a surprise because i like all her books, but this one is more relatable than the others because i know how it feels to be trapped in a car with annoying siblings!
              • gervaisgirl
                gervaisgirlTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 5:27 pm55 stars
                I loved this! Soooooo funny, and it reminded me of me and my brother's relationship- Always fighting, but me always love each other.
                • CuteTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 2:17 pm
                  I have read one of the authors books, it was great. And I think it was this book, I love writing books and stories, on my chrome book. I love this book, Wright like if you agree.
                  • KathrynMonday, February 17, 2020 at 11:48 am
                    It good I love this book I love books
                    • Kathryn schlichMonday, February 17, 2020 at 11:39 am
                      I hadn't seen it before but my friends read it before I keep telling them that I wanted that book.