Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 217 pages
Published on April 9, 2009
ISBN-10: 1439582637
ISBN-13: 9781439582633
789 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • AlienWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 12:05 pm
    BEST BOOK OUT OF THE SERIES YET
    • anonymous01
      anonymous01Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 11:18 am55 stars
      best book ever!!!
      • apple97
        apple97Friday, February 23, 2018 at 11:21 am44 stars
        Best book ever! Of course, other than Charlttes web its also a magnificent book, and cant be beaten. Jeff Kinney still deserves credit though.
        • apple97
          apple97Friday, February 23, 2018 at 11:18 am44 stars
          Best book ever!
          • apple97
            apple97Friday, February 23, 2018 at 11:17 am44 stars
            best book EVER!
            • tiger1st123
              tiger1st123Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 11:49 am33 stars
              relly funny just finshed it I got it from my liybrary
              • grade5girl
                grade5girlFriday, February 9, 2018 at 3:26 pm55 stars
                I love this book! When I was younger and saw this series I thought I would not like it. But I read it this year and my goodness this is so awesome! The book was so good, so I decided to watch every movie! I am planning to read all the books this year! Thank you Jeff Kinney for making the first book all middle school kids will love! :)
                • puglife21
                  puglife21Friday, February 9, 2018 at 6:40 am55 stars
                  Good book
                  • puglife21
                    puglife21Friday, February 9, 2018 at 6:39 am55 stars
                    good book :D
                    • 360kid
                      360kidFriday, February 9, 2018 at 6:36 am55 stars
                      to good

                      More TopicsView in 3D