Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 217 pages
Published on April 9, 2009
ISBN-10: 1439582637
ISBN-13: 9781439582633
760 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • fireninja7789
    fireninja7789Saturday, November 11, 2017 at 3:21 pm55 stars
    i have not even read it yet and i want to read it
    • alanna_smith
      alanna_smithWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:59 am55 stars
      I really love this book. And i hope that you will someday will love this book too
      • gekixejago
        gekixejagoMonday, November 6, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
        Jeff Kinney is an amazing person. He's good good enough to even go on the news. Its like he can make thousands of Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. This book was really good.
        • soruvimutu
          soruvimutuThursday, November 2, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
          i loved this book so much it was really fun because every page made me laugh
          • dosebopoty
            dosebopotyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:50 am55 stars
            I think its a good balance of weirdness and realistic fiction
            • sponge123
              sponge123Monday, October 23, 2017 at 4:17 pm55 stars
              It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. ... In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride.
              • anthonynguyen
                anthonynguyenWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 7:56 pm55 stars
                also it's a good book
                • anthonynguyen
                  anthonynguyenWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 7:55 pm55 stars
                  i like diary of the wimpy kid
                  • horse4us
                    horse4usWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 3:12 pm
                    i so want to read this
                    • mirsoftball8
                      mirsoftball8Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at 1:10 pm44 stars
                      This book is very funny! Its about a middle schooler named Greg Heffley and how he lives his lifestyle. Greg has two brothers. His older brother Rodrick is in a rock band called Loded Diaper. His younger brother Manny, is who Greg thinks is treated better than he was at his age. Rodrick likes to tease and scare Greg, while Manny gets all the attention. Greg also has a friend named Rowley who enjoys things a second grader would enjoy. I fell in love with this series and I have read all the books. I recommend this book for anyone who likes comedy. Make sure to join Greg in a series of adventure!

                      More TopicsView in 3D