Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 217 pages
Published on April 9, 2009
ISBN-10: 1439582637
ISBN-13: 9781439582633
832 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kajswns22udin3iMonday, December 10, 2018 at 7:20 am
    Do you guys play roblox? BECAUSE ITS AWESOME!!!!!
    • Bordyn Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 7:33 am
      I love books like this!
      • Heath SnyderThursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:09 am
        Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Name of Book) Jeff Kinney (Author) 2004 (Date of Book) This book is about this kid named Greg where he talks about his life in a diary. He is in middle school, and his friend’s name is Rowley. Greg’s life is actually the author’s life, and that is really cool. He is 13, and he is brilliant and “smart”. But he gets in trouble A LOT. He also has some personal things he has to deal with like dealing with his brothers and sisters. This book is really exciting. This is the first book of a 13 book series. I would recommend this book to people who like humorous books and chapter books. I would rate this book 10/10 because it’s hilarious and full of drama. The reading level is 4-10 grades.
        • FortniteCool193Monday, December 3, 2018 at 12:19 pm
          Greg Heflty may be not to inteligent be he is thinkable(spoiler) But I cant belive Rowley ate the cheese so i reccomend this to people who like funny humorus things
          • Snoop Sunday, December 2, 2018 at 1:59 am
            Thank you Jeff Jeff Kinney
            • marinette1991
              marinette1991Wednesday, November 28, 2018 at 3:24 pm55 stars
              I really think that everyone should read this book. You will be amazed by the balance of pictures and words. I recommend this book to every kid in the world.
              • Fortnite FoxyWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 6:43 am
                best book and quiz ever
                • lensyleviolet
                  lensylevioletFriday, November 23, 2018 at 4:24 pm44 stars
                  I like Diary of a wimpy kid because it’s interesting to read. And I recommend it to every kid.
                  • roblox2
                    roblox2Monday, November 5, 2018 at 8:04 am11 star
                    i have it on my fire but i didn't finish
                    • shoddyrobin66
                      shoddyrobin66Friday, November 2, 2018 at 12:55 pm55 stars
                      It is Basically a diary but it's about an wimpy kid instead of a Regular kid or teen are adult.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins