Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 217 pages
Published on April 9, 2009
ISBN-10: 1439582637
ISBN-13: 9781439582633
801 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • looop1
    looop1Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:00 am55 stars
    i loved this book, if you read this definitely make sure you read all of the others i wish to read more!
    • love219
      love219Monday, June 4, 2018 at 5:49 pm55 stars
      I liked the book because its about greg who starts middle school and has trouble but figures his way out
      • eaglegamer
        eaglegamerTuesday, May 29, 2018 at 4:03 pm55 stars
        i love this book
        • boredom12
          boredom12Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 6:21 pm
          I would give this book a 5/5 for a good easy read. This is very entertaining and it would be a great comedy, and it ends with a good lesson.
          • FORTNITE_GOD123Friday, May 11, 2018 at 10:43 am
            I was a cool book y'all
            • TACO_MAN!!!Friday, May 11, 2018 at 10:41 am
              i love diary of a wimpy kid i watch the movies too love this book
              • database
                databaseMonday, May 7, 2018 at 4:18 pm55 stars
                The classic, isn't it? This was one of the BEST, possibly the BEST, Diary Of A Wimpy Kid. We get an inside look on Greg's life, and it's a great way to introduce Greg and his misadventures. Nice work, Jeff!
                • i_love_fortnite
                  i_love_fortniteWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 12:23 pm55 stars
                  It's a very good book and I love all of Jeff Kinney's books because they are very funny and fun to read.
                  • emmaavery831
                    emmaavery831Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 12:51 pm
                    I love this!!
                    • coolTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 10:49 am
                      it is a really good book

                      More TopicsView in 3D