Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 217 pages
Published on April 9, 2009
ISBN-10: 1439582637
ISBN-13: 9781439582633
890 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • generaldruid511
    generaldruid511Thursday, June 13, 2019 at 11:42 am44 stars
    About a boy named Greg who not behaved about the other kids' behaviors. From the story of the journal to his friend Rowley who was forced to eat cheese that was left on the basketball court for a while. This book is very telling.
    • cyrusmilo
      cyrusmiloMonday, June 10, 2019 at 10:04 pm55 stars
      Where it all starts and still my favorite.
      • catabc
        catabcMonday, June 10, 2019 at 5:56 pm55 stars
        It's really funny Cool
        • wolfiewizard
          wolfiewizardMonday, June 10, 2019 at 2:36 pm55 stars
          This book was FANTASTIC! It was a beginning to the Diary of a wimpy kid series. It was funny, and surprising. It was like you where Greg Heffley. When you read this book, it takes you to the point of view of Greg Heffley on the first days of Middle school. You should read this!
          • sjsj
            sjsjWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 9:34 am44 stars
            I truly loved this book. I like how the cheese touch scares everybody, and it is heard around the whole school. Also, if you have not read this book, read it now!
            • sgoiscool
              sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:41 pm22 stars
              Diary of a Wimpy Kid is an ok book. I don't like one part with the mag. I like the idea of a boy with a diary!
              • jj512
                jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 8:26 am33 stars
                A great book to start off an amazing series. In this book you learn all about Gregory and his brother Rodrick. The pictures are all amazing and Gregory's point of view is SOOOOOO funny! I would read this book first to gain a bit of back round knowledge about the boys. Great job Jeff Kinney!!!!!!
                • brawlstarschamp
                  brawlstarschampSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 4:41 pm55 stars
                  This is an amazing opening to the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series! Though I feel like the newer ones are better. Did think it was HILARIOUS though!
                  • italy125
                    italy125Friday, May 24, 2019 at 11:23 am55 stars
                    It is like about kids that are trying to fit in so it is easy to connect with Greg.
                    • bibliophile3
                      bibliophile3Friday, May 24, 2019 at 4:29 am44 stars
                      .Diary of A Wimpy Kid is about Greg,who is a kid who wants to be popular.Follow Greg and his best friend Rowley as they face the cruel reality that is middle school.Overall I liked it but I don't like the character of Greg,who is a sociopath,and manipulative,which kind of makes him unlikable in my opinion.Greg is also not a good friend to Rowley. Therefore,Greg is unlikable .Rowley,on the other hand is my favorite character.He's just so pure and kind,despite his friend being rather cruel to him.This book was very funny and I would recommend to people who like funny novels.